QCPL Logo


SPECIAL ISSUE

QC : A Saga of Continuing Progress

CHAPTER 1

HISTORICAL VALUE OF QUEZON CITY BEFORE ITS CREATION

     The past of Quezon City is rich in historical value. It was the original cradle of the Philippine Revolution in 1896. Teodoro Agoncillo, historian, recorded in his book The Revolt of the Masses, that it was in Balintawak that Andres Bonifacio and the other Katipunan leaders first gathered after the society was discovered by the Spaniards. They gathered first on August 19 in Balintawak, stayed there for one night and one day. “In the afternoon of August 21,”, the rebels, numbering around 500, left Balintawak and proceeded to the neighboring hamlet of Kangkong where Apolonio Samson, a Katipunan man, gave them food and lodging”, writes Agoncillo. Here, the next morning, the revolutionists, exchanged views on the revolution but did not pass any resolution. It was in Pugadlawin, where they proceeded upon leaving Samson’s place in the afternoon of the 22nd, that the more than 1,000 members of the Katipunan met in the yard of Juan A. Ramos, son of Melchora Aquino, the famed “Mother” of the Katipuneros, in the morning of August 23rd. Considerable discussion arose whether the revolt against the Spanish government should be started on the 29th.
     “Only one man protested against the plan of revolt, and it was Bonifacio’s brother in law, Teodoro Plata. But he was overruled… Bonifacio then announced the decision and, standing on an improvised platform, shouted: “Brothers, it was agreed to continue with the plan of revolt. “My brothers, do you swear to repudiate the government that oppresses us? And the rebels, shouting as one man, replied: “Yes, sir!” “That being the case, Bonifacio added, “Brings out your cedulas and tear them to pieces to symbolize our determination to take up arms!” There with the rustle of papers and in a minute the yard was littered with torn cedulas. Amidst this ceremony, the rebels, with tear-stained eyes, shouted: “Long live the Philippines! Long live Katipunan!”      Among those present were Briccio Brigido Pantas, Francisco and Nicomedes Carreon, patricio Belen, Alejandro Santiago, Ramon Bernardo, Apolonio Samson, Enrique Pacheco, Guillermo Masangkay, Sinforoso San Pedro, Cipriano and Alfonso Pacheco.

THE CRY OF BALINTAWAK

The tearing of Cedula started the revolution against Spain

     The true “Cry of Balintawak” occurred on August 23, 1896.      After the “Cry” some Katipuneros arrived from Manila, informing Bonifacio that the Spanish civil guards were hot on their trail. Bonifacio took immediate command of the situation; he ordered his men to get ready to deploy. The night was dark and there was much confusion. According to Agoncillo, some of the men “thoughtlessly grasped the pots of boiling rice, poured the half-cooked contents into their hats containing cut tobacco leaves, and ate the black mixture of rice and tobacco as they marched toward Pasong Tamo For these men were hungry, tired, sleepy and suffering from cold weather.”
     The Katipuneros arrived at the house of Tandang Sora (Melchora Aquino) on august 24. But on 10 a.m., August 25, the civil guards arrived at the scene while Bonifacio and his men were discussing strategy. Bursts of rifle-fire rent the air. Bonifacio and his men instinctively flung themselves on the ground. Shortly afterwards, Bonifacio ordered them to deploy and encircle the attacking Spaniards, numbering about 40. In the ensuing fight two revolutionists and one civil guard were slain.
     The authentic “Cry of Balintawak” took place, then, on August 23, 1896, when Bonifacio and his men tore their cedulas to symbolize their armed defiance of Spain. The first battle occurred on August 25, 1896, in Pasong Tamo.
     While in Balara, Bonifacio, with his generals, planned the assault in Manila. With him were Andres Soriano, Laureano Gonzales and Romualdo Vivencio. But he did not stay long in Balara; he and his men proceeded to Marikina, then to Hagdang Bato. On August 28, 1896, he issued a proclamation urging his countrymen to take up the nation’s cause. He set the date, august 29, 1896, Saturday, as the day of the general uprising.

FIRST CASUALTY OF THE KATIPUNAN

     One of the first two casualties of the Katipunan was Simplicio Acabo. In an interview made by Isabelo Crisostomo, one of the authors of Quezon City Book, and his writer-friend, one of the revolutionists who survived that fight, Hermogenes Constantino, revealed that Acabo was then only 18 years old. Acabo, according to Constantino (Philippines FREE PRESS, August 20, 1955, page 66), “was an aggressive young man who always wanted to be out in front.” The young victim was buried in a mud hole by Constantino and another man because according to them they had no time to dig a grave for him.
     Constantino also revealed that they were alerted with the arrival of the Guardia Civil’s by the lookout that was perched atop a large tamarind tree. Upon sight of the arriving Spaniards the lookout blew his tambuli or carabao horn.
     In 1954, Mayor Amoranto and officers of the “Katipunan ng mga Alagad ni bonifacio” laid the cornerstone of a monument for Acabo in Barrio Banlat, Tandang sora, where Acabo was presumably felled and buried. On the bronze plaque are these words
     To the memory of the unknown but never to be forgotten patriot who in 1896 in these plains planned with foresight the war of liberation, fought with dash and died heroically, that our country might be freed from oppression, be forever independent, and be respected by the whole world.

Dr. Isabelo T. Crisostomo

NATIVE OF QUEZON CITY

Andres Bonifacio & Melchora Aquino

     Bonifacio was a Manileno, it is true, and the Katipunan was born in Manila as an idea. But the Revolution itself first exploded in Quezon City. The first real cry of Filipinos for freedom occurred in Quezon City. The first heroine of the Revolution, Melchora Aquino, was a native of the city. All this is history.

CHAPTER 2

THE GENESIS OF QUEZON CITY

Alejandro Roces, Sr., Eulogio Rodriguez, Sr. and Manuel L. Quezon, Sr.

     The creation of Quezon City was born of the social justice philosophy of President Quezon. He wished for the laborers or employees not only a little more food in his stomach and a little more clothe on his back, but also a stronger roof over his head and a healthier environment. He envisioned a paradise for workingmen--- dwellings with all the comforts of sanitation and with playgrounds hear-by for children, to be constructed by the government and given in sale or lease to the laborers or employees at cost. One morning while Don Alejandro Roces Sr. was taking breakfast with him in Malacanang, their conversation happened on the subject of government housing project for laborers and employees—a barrio obrero. Don Alejandro told him that for the project there could no better site than the Diliman estate. Quezon saw that before long Manila would be bursting on its seams, and he agreed with his friend that the proper direction of expansion would be to the north and northeast of Manila toward the foot of the mountains of the Sierra Madre. Then and there he authorized don Alejandro Roces Sr. to negotiate for the purchase of a portion of the Diliman Estate of the Tuason.
     Early one day in July, 1939, when the sun came out after a long spell of cloud and rain Quezon strolled along the Diliman area with his friends, including Eulogio Rodriguez, Sr., then secretary of Agriculture and commerce, Alejandro Roces, Jose Paez, and Antonio G. Sison, who was then the dean of the College of Medicine and director of the School of Hygiene and Public Health of the University of the Philippines. Standing on a grassy promontory, not far from where Sampaloc Avenue is now, about 200 feet above sea level, he surveyed the northeastern sweep of Kamuning, and he was so awed and inspired by the incredibly breathtaking view that he exclaimed: “This is where I would like to build a real Filipino metropolis!”
     He pointed to a spot that is now Constitution Hill, south of the Novaliches watershed, overlooking what is now La Mesa Dam. He stared at three plateaus in the area, each one about 300 feet above sea level; all three commanded a spectacular panoramic view of the surrounding scenery. To the east were the San Mateo hills; to the west and northwest, Manila; and to the north, a verdant chain of hills pointing to Ipo where the waterworks still stand today.
     His imagination soared like that of one obsessed by a vision of immeasurable vitality. He spoke to Vicente Fragante, director of the Bureau of Public Works, of his plan to build the metropolis.

“I dream of a capital city that, politically shall be the seat of the national government; aesthetically the showplace of the nation – a place that thousands of people will come and visit as the epitome of culture and spirit of the country; socially, a dignified concentration of human life, aspirations and endeavors and achievements; and economically, as a productive, self-contained community.” — President Manuel L. Quezon In his address before the members of the National Assembly September 18, 1939.

     Quezon remembered that sometime in 1936, the department of public works and communications of the Commonwealth government, under Secretary Mariano Jesus Cuenco, recommended Tagaytay to be the seat of the national government. The Department felt that Manila as a capital was becoming so congested that pursuing the chores of administration was becoming to be difficult and unpleasant. Thus, they recommended the transfers of the capital from Manila to Tagaytay, which Quezon called “the city by the ridge.”
     But Quezon rejected the idea. In a press conference he gave on August 4, 1936, he said: “Tagaytay is a place for tourists and vacationists. And I am going to make it one. I will contact the different government entities concerned to construct the necessary facilities in order to make it a weekend spot for government officials, business, and the middle class.
     Early in the morning of September 27, 1939, President Quezon, accompanied by Yulo, some cabinet members a group of assemblymen, visited Diliman, after enjoying the scenery, they had breakfast in the still unfinished administration building of the University of the Philippines. There he stressed the “necessity of early approval of the charter of the proposed city in Diliman site.”
     The bill creating the new city was fathered by Assemblyman Ramon P. Mitra (Mountain Province, 2nd district). In his bill, the name of the city was Balintawak City.
     The day after Quezon took the assemblymen to Diliman, the National Assembly deliberated for the final time on the Balintawak City bill. For a while, there was a heated argument on the name of the new city. Narciso Ramos of 5th district of Pangasinan and Eugenio Peres, 2nd district of Pangasinan, filed an amendment changing the name Balintawak to Quezon. Someone called up Quezon in Malacanang to ask his opinion on it. He replied: “Why can’t you wait until I’m dad, before you name anything after me
     Just the same, the name Quezon was affixed to the bill. Shortly after one o’clock in the afternoon of September 28, 1939, the National Assembly approved Bill no. 1206, creating Quezon Ctiy, replacing the original measure which was for the establishment of Balintawak City. The change was affected through amendments introduced by the committee on chartered cities. Assemblyman Jose Ozamis of Misamis Occidental also filed an amendment which would give Quezon City officials the minimum compensation allowed by law.
     When bill no. 1206 was sent to Quezon for his approval, he quibbled again over the city’s name. But the members of the National Assembly prevailed upon him, and he relented. Thus, even Louis P. Croft, adviser to President Manuel A. Roxas on land planning, in his report to the Capital Site Committee in 1946, wondered “whether the National Assembly created the city solely to name it in honor of President Quezon or intended it as the same time to be the counterpart in the Philippines of Washington, D.C.”
     One time, early in October 1939, while going through the various government offices in Malacanang, Quezon met Maj. Gen. Douglas MacArthur in the Palace wing, where several American experts on various fields had their offices. MacArthur was then military adviser to Quezon and Field Marshall of the Philippine Army. He was also vice president and treasurer of the Manila Hotel Company. From time to time, Quezon would ask him matters that had nothing to do with the military, for he admired MacArthur’s keen, analytical mind, and he trusted his opinions. This time, Quezon excitedly informed him about the new city he was creating and asked his advice on various matters concerning its administration.
     Since Quezon had already thought of his taking over the mayorship, he asked MacArthur if he knew of anyone who could make a good chief of police. MacArthur turned around, scanned the tables in the office, and he fixed his gaze on a young American soldier, in white suit, poring over some papers at a corner table. “There,” MacArthur told Quezon, pointing to the man in the white suit. “That’s your man. He’ll make a good police chief, because he had some police training in the States.
     Quezon looked at the soldier who was one of MacArthur’s assistants, and then said, “He seems all right. I’ll follow your recommendation.” But when Quezon was appointing him, he was a lieutenant colonel, infantry, U.S. Army, the soldier said: “I’m very honored Sir. But I can’t accept the honor. I promised by wife we’d be going back home after my tour of duty here is over and my T.D. ends in two months, Sorry, Sir.”      Quezon could not do anything about it, of course. But that was how close Quezon City was in having as chief of police a future president of the United States: Dwilight D. Eisenhower.
     Shortly before noon of Thursday, October 12, 1939, Quezon signed the bill in the presence of cabinet officials, assemblymen, and all those whom he had appointed to the different posts in the new city.

FIRST QUEZON CITY OFFICIALS

     Immediately after the signing of the bill on October 12, 1939, Quezon administered the oath of office to the following: Vicente Fragante, Vice Mayor and at the same time City Engineer, and the first City Council composed of Dr. Eusebio Aguilar, City Councilor and City Health Officer, Jose Paez and Alejandro Roces, Sr.. Tomas Morato, a long time friend of Quezon, who was then mayor of Calauag, Tayabas (now Quezon), was appointed Chief of Police. Pio Pedrosa was city treasurer, Emilio Abello, city attorney, Jacob Rosenthal, assessor, Perfecto Palacio, municipal judge, Amado Amador; Judge of the Court of First Instance, Sabino de Leon was assistant chief of police.
     On October 13, 1939, The Tribune reported that Malacanang had announced the night before “The completion of the organization of Quezon City with the appointment of all city officials with the exception of assistant city attorney. The Charter of the city became commonwealth Act no. 502 when it was signed by the President at 11:40, morning of October 12, 1939. The Office of the Mayor was purposely left vacant as President Quezon himself decided to assume the functions corresponding to the Mayor, but Malacanan emphasized he will do so as President without formal appointment of a Mayor as that would place the President under the unique situation of being under the secretary of the interior.
     The appointments of the Quezon City Officials were sent on October 26, 1939 to the commission on appointments of the National Assembly for confirmation; they were acted upon immediately. In the afternoon of November 10, the commission confirmed various ad interim appointments and nominations made by Quezon, including the officials of Quezon City and mayors of several other cities.
     It was later on published on the November 11, 1939 issue of the Official Gazette, volume 37, No.135, which stated in the “CHANGES IN THE SERVICE BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE PHILIPPINES” the ad interim officials as follows:

  Alejandro Roces, Sr., ad interim, member city council, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Eusebio D. Aguilar, ad interim, member, City council, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Jose Paez, ad interim, member, city council, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Vicente Fragante, ad interim, Vice Mayor, October 12, 1939, appointment
  A.D. Williams, ad interim, city secretary, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Pio Pedrosa, ad interim, city treasurer, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Jacob Rosenthal, ad interim, city assessor, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Manuel Diaz, ad interim, city engineer, October 12, 1939,, appointment
  Perfecto Palacio, ad interim, justice of the peace, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Emilio Abello, ad interim, chielf of police, October 12, 1939, appointment
  Tomas B. Morato, ad interim, chief of police, October 12, 1939, appointment

     But on the November 16, 1939 issue of the Official Gazette, volume 37, No. 137, Capt. Tomas B. Morato was appointed ad interim mayor of Quezon City by the President of the Philippines effective October 23, 1939, but his appointment paper as signed by President Quezon on November 10, 1939 showed the affectivity date from October 12, 1939. (A photocopy of the original appointment of Morato is filed in the City Library furnished by his son Tomas Morato Jr.).

FIRST QUEZON CITY ORDINANCE

     On October 27, 1939, the first City ordinance was approved by the first City Council, signed by the first acting City mayor, Vicente Fragante, who was then appointed Vice Mayor, and was attested by the first City Secretary, Alpeus D. Williams.
     Ordinance Numbered 1 is an ordinance “Dividing Quezon City into four districts represented by members of the City Council for the purpose of Administration.” The four districts were Diliman District, San Francisco Del Monte District, Mandaluyong District (which was amended thru ordinance no. 4 into Cubao District), and University District.
     Diliman District. To embrace Diliman Estate and the north of Calle Espana, Dario and Salapan rivers and the boundary of the City of Manila and represented by Councilor Alejandro Roces, Sr.
     San Francisco del Monte District. To embrace the area north of Calle España and west of Diliman Estate, including San Francisco del Monte and Sta. Mesa Estates, to be represented by Councilor Jose Paez.
     Mandaluyong District (Cubao District). To embrace those portions of the Magdalena and Mandaluyong Estates included in the City and represented by Vice-Mayor Fragante.
     University District. To those portions of the Balara Filter sites and those portions of the Mariquina and Piedad Estates included in the City and represented by Councilor Eusebio D. Aguilar.
     The first City ordinance was unanimously passed on October 27, 1939 signed by Vicente Fragrante, the vice mayor then, and acting City Mayor, as attested by Alpeus D. Williams, the first City Secretary.

LAND PURCHASE AND DONATION THRU PHHC

     On October 14, 1938, the People’s Homesite Corporation was organized and incorporated by the National Development Company. Don Alejandro Roces Sr. was appointed General Manager. Shortly thereafter, the Corporation purchased form the Tuazon a portion of the Diliman Estate with an area of 1,572 hectares at P0.05 per square meter—P500.00 per hectare or for P786,000.00. At the same time, the Tuazon donated to the government the present site of the University of the Philippines consisting of 493 hectares on the condition that the land would be used as the new site of the University of the Philippines. Quezon accompanied by his friend and physician Dr. Antonio Sison, surveying the area from a high point, envisioned a modern university, the best in the Orient, near Manila but undisturbed by the hustle and bustle of a port city. The sum of P17, 500,000.00 was authorized for the construction of buildings and purchase of equipment.
     To its credit, the People’s Homesite and Housing Corporation played a major role in the development of Quezon City. It was responsible for the development of various housing projects – Projects I (Roxas Homesite), 2, 3 and 4 (Quirino District, 6, 7 and 8 and the GSIS Village>.
     On July 31, 1975, PHHC was dissolved by virtue of P.D. 757 and the National Housing Authority was created.
     In 1939, the population was estimated at 57,880.

BOUNDARIES OF QUEZON CITY

     Quezon City was carved from the towns of Caloocan, San Juan, Mariquina, Pasig, Montalban and San Mateo. Under Commonwealth Act No. 502, known as “An Act to create Quezon Ctiy” specified the boundaries of the new city: included in its 7,355 hectares – one third of which was owned by the government were the following places, the barrios of Galas, La Loma, Sta. mesa Heights, San Jose, Balintawak and Kaingin were taken from the town of Caloocan; the barrios of New Manila, Cubao, San Francisco del Monte, Kamuning and Roxas were taken from the town of San Juan; the barrios of Jesus de Ka Pena, lower Barranca, the U.P. site, Cruz Na Ligas, Balara and Varsity Hills were taken from the town of Mariquina; the barrios of Ugong Norte and Santolan Libis were taken from the town of Mandaluyong. Under Commonwealth Act No. 559, June 21, 1941, the area of Wack Wack Golf and Country club was reverted to Mandaluyong, and the barrios of Jesus de la Pena and lower Barranca were reverted to Mariquina. On the other hand, the area of Camp Crame was taken from the town of San Juan and added to Quezon City. Under Republic Act No. 333, July 17, 1948, the Barrios of Baesa, Talipapa, San Bartolome, Pasong Tamo, Novaliches, Banlat, Kabuyao, Pugad Lawin, Bagbag, Pasong Putik, and others, with an area 8,000 hectares were taken from Caloocan.
     Eight big estates were acquired in forming of the new city. These were the Diliman Estate with 15,732,189 square meters; Santa Mesa Estate with 8,617,883 square meters, Mandaluyong Estate with 7,813,602 square meters, Magdalena Estate with 7,644,823 square meters, Piedad Estate with 7,438,369 square meters, Maysilo Estate with 2,667,269 square meters, and the San Francisco Del Monte Estate with 2,575,388 square meters.

TRANSFER OF THE UNIVERSITY OF THE PHILIPPINE TO QUEZON CITY

     At the formal inauguration of Dr. Bienvenido Gonzalez as the sixth and youngest president of U. P. on October 19, 1939, Quezon officially announced that the university was to be transferred to Diliman. Plans for the buildings in the new site were submitted to Parsons and Alpheus Williams, technical adviser on public works then.
     Towards the end of the year, the construction and preparations for the U.P. buildings in Diliman had began in earnest. Contract for the construction of the first three units of the first groups of buildings was awarded to Pedro Siochi and Company. The first unit was to house the main offices of the College of Liberal Arts, the second the College of Law and Business Administration and the third the College of Pharmacy and School of Dentistry.

THE MASTER PLAN OF THE CITY

     The master plan of the City was prepared by Harry T. Frost, architectural adviser of the Commonwealth government, with the assistance of Alpeus .D. Williams, former director of the bureau of Public Works, and Juan M. Arellano who was one of the most outstanding architects of the country then. From what appears in the Frost plan, the Quadrangle in the heart of the City bounded by four avenues--- North, West, South and East--- was designed to be the site of the national government buildings.
     The formation of the quadrangle in the heart of the City resulted in the city having many rotundas--- seven in all: 1) at the intersection of Quezon Blvd. and E. de Los Santos at the center of the quadrangle; 2) at the junction of North and West avenues and E. de Los Santos; 3) of South and West of Quezon; 4) of South and East and E. Los Santos; 5) of Balintawak road and E. de los Santos; 6) of South and Sampaloc Avenue; and 7) of Espana and Quezon where stands the welcome arch of the City, marking the gateway between the two cities--- Manila and Quezon. At the junction of East and North and Quezon, there is, instead of a rotunda, an elliptical center where stands the Quezon Memorial --- a tall an imposing structure.
     Soon after the plan of the streets was finished, the vicinity of Sampaloc Avenue (now Don Tomas B. Morato Sr. Avenue) and Kamuning became a bustle of construction activity. Hundreds and hundreds of people --- road builders, stone cutters, and carpenters --- in separate groups , with picks and shovels, with road graders tracing the streets, scraping the earth, and trucks bringing gravel and sand and cement, swarmed the place to build a paradise fro workingmen. Some of the old residents of Kamuning still remember vividly a robust young man, of medium height, with wide brimmed hat, directing construction. Twenty years or so later (1959) that young man became the first elective vice-mayor of the city—Vicente Novales.
     As soon as the roads were laid and paved or even as the roads were being pressed by road rollers, hundreds and hundreds of carpenters began the construction of a small strong materials houses on lots of 180 square meters and medium sized ones along Kamuning and Sampaloc Roads (now Tomas Morato Sr. Avenue) on bigger lots. In order to hasten completion of th4e project, the construction of the streets and houses were farmed out to several contractors. One among the house building contractors was Ysidro Guevarra who was then appointed vice-mayor in 1954 by President Magsaysay.
     When construction of the houses was finished, each of the bureaus and offices of the government was given an allotment of 21 units to be raffled among the employees of each bureau or office. Three types of houses were built- types 1, 2 and 3. The houses were given to the employees without advance payment. The installment on Type 1 was P8.05 a month. For the convenience of the residents of Kamuning, President Quezon arranged that the Luzon Bus Line of the Manila Railroad Company run a service between Kamuning and Manila at a bus fare of P0.05 only.
     The pioneers formed a Residents’ Association with the Diliman Catholic League. Through their initiative, they were able to put up a three-room elementary school building, which housed only primary grade classes. A small market was built at the South Market Street (Now Don Alejandro Roces Avenue). This later became the site of an emergency Hall and later on it houses a school.
     About this time, also, under the amazing leadership of the Diliman Women’s Club, a Catholic parish church was built, with Rev. Father Burrtenbrouk as the first community parish priest. The very first mass ever held in this area was celebrated on Christmas ever of 1940. It was officiated by Reverent Koodring, a SVD priest from Christ the King Seminary, along España Extension.
     The Church was beautifully decorated with Kamuning branches and leaves. The pungent fragrance of the tiny white flowers permeated the makeshift chapel as the mass went o. Those who attended the mass were impressed by the heart stirring beauty of the Kamuning – decorated alter that, after the services, while the whole world was echoing with joyous harmonies of Christmas sounds and greetings, the residents of Barrio Obrero decided to petition the People’s Homesite Corporation to change the name of their area to Kamuning. This was just right, they said, for indeed, they were not obreros or laborers; most of them were actually government employees with white collar jobs.
     No one knows what action the Corporation took regarding the petition, but after that memorable Christmas Eve, nobody called the place Barrio Obrero anymore.

FIRST QUEZON CITY HALL BUILDING

     The big wooden building at the northeast corner of E. de los Santos and Aurora Boulevard, belonging to Assemblyman Dr. Valentin Afable of Zambales who used it as a hospital, was rented by the City government and used it as the City Hall up to the end enemy occupation. The court of first Instance was housed in this building but the municipal court was housed in one of the moderate sized new house on 9th South Street in Sampaloc.
     Possibly the very first civilian employee appointed by Quezon was Cornelio S. Domingo, who was a janitor was given the job of cleaning the new city hall, especially the room occupied by Quezon. He was sworn into office by Damian Jimenez, then secretary to the mayor, who later became city secretary and municipal judge; before he died, he was a judge of the Court of First Instance.

QUEZON CITY POPULATION AS OF APRIL 1940

     By February 1940, the population of Quezon City had gone up to 39.013. Of these, 1976 were foreigners, of which 272 were Americans, 473 Chinese, 63 Germans, 43 Spaniards, 33 English, 12 Dutch, 7 French, and those of other countries in Europe and Asia. The Facts were released by City Health Officer Florencio Z. Cruz, then.

CHAPTER 3

THE MORATO ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Tomas B. Morato

October 12, 1939 – Effectivity of Appointment October 23, 1939- Assumed duties November 10, 1939 (approval of appointment) to July 19, 1942

     Don Tomas Bernabeau Morato was a full-bloodied Spaniard who was born in the picturesque seaport of Alicante, on the Mediterranean coast of Spain, on July 4, 1887. His father was a ship captain who sailed from Spain to the Philippines and frequently stopped at the coastal town of Calauag, Tayabas. An only son, Tomas was brought to this place in 1898 by his father. Here he studied and met Quezon when he was only 13; the latter was then 22 years old. Tomas finished his engineering course and entered the lumber business where he amassed quite a fortune. By virtue of a proviso in the Treaty of Paris which granted Filipino Citizenship to all Spaniards who had decided to stay in this country, Morato became a Filipino citizen.
     His friendship with Quezon was a rare and unique one. They courted girls together, and helped each other during difficult times. When Quezon was elected president of the Philippine Commonwealth, he entered Malacanang for the first time with Morato and Nonong (Quezon’s son). And thereafter, Morato-or Tommy, as Quezon called him- was one of the very few people who could enter Malacanang at all times, even staying overnight as was often the case.
     It was Quezon who kept on egging Morato that he enters into politics. He ran for Mayor of Calauag and won easily. While he was in his second term as mayor, Quezon asked him to come to Manila to join him in building the new city. As always, he could not refuse Quezon.
     Mayor Morato, technically speaking was the first mayor of Quezon City because although Quezon signed his appointment paper on November 10, 1939, he made retroactive to October 12, 1939, the day Quezon City was officially created. The reason why Quezon made it retroactive is contained in the following news item head, “Officials of New City appointed,” which appeared in the Tribune, October 13, 1939.
     “The Office of the Mayor was purposely vacant as President Quezon himself decided to assume the functions corresponding to the Mayor, but Malacanang emphasized he will do so as President without the formal appointment of a mayor, as that would place the President under the unique situation of being under the Secretary of the Interior.”
     Quezon assumed the functions of Mayor of Quezon City for only 10 days. On October 23, 1939, he gave Morato an ad interim appointment as Mayor of Quezon City as he submitted his name to the Commission on Appointments for confirmation. This ad interim appointment of Morato is recorded in the Official Gazette vol. 37, No.137, November 16, 1939, under the “Changes in the Service by the President of the Philippines.” The notation reads as follows:
     “Capt. Tomas B. Morato, add interim, Mayor, October 23, 1939.
     It was under Morato’s term that the cornerstone for the Quezon City Hall was laid on November 15, 1940, fifth anniversary of the Philippine Commonwealth. Carunungan in his book depicts the zeal and energy with which Morato tackled the tremendous difficulties beset him in launching the growth and development of Quezon City. Despite very limited funds, he was able to construct a network of roads in accordance with the Frost Master Plan and despite an inadequate police force of only 48; he was able to contain criminality. On the belief that “Vice is the father of crime”, he caused the “eradication of vices, gambling, chance halls, cockpits, cabarets and other social evils in the new City”.
     The maintenance of satisfactory health conditions and public welfare among the residents by the expansion of the work of health institutions under the command of the city are given careful attention, the promotion of social justice program through conferences with the leaders of discontented elements and by providing them employments in the government projects in the new city is ameliorating social and economic conditions among the poor residents.
     The formation of a constructive program for maintenance of the city finances on sound basis and the encouragement of the development of local industries are among the projects which Mayor Morato urgently desires to accomplish during his administration to make Quezon City a model community.

THE FIRST MUSICAL PIECE COMPOSED FOR QUEZON CITY

     The first musical piece composed for Quezon City was the “Quezon City March”, music composed by Amando Calleja and the lyrics by Jesus Balmori on April 6, 1940. The sponsors of this musical piece were the officials and members of the Cubao Women’s Club headed by Mrs. Tomas Morato.
     The authors dedicated the musical piece to His Excellency President Manuel L. Quezon and Hon. Mayor Tomas B. Morato.

CHAPTER 4

QUEZON CITY DURING THE WORLD WAR II

Philippine President Manuel Quezon and General Douglas MacArthur, ca. 1940, from Joseph Ralston Hayden papers

     The development of Quezon City was in full swing under the administration of Mayor Morato and Vice Mayor and City Engineer Pnciano A. Bernardo when the Philippines was brought into the maelstrom of the Second World War – December 8, 1941. A few days before the Japanese entered Manila, President Quezon declared Quezon City a part of Greater Manila. Quezon City remained as part of the Greater Manila until January 2, 1947, when its separate political existence was restored by Republic Act No. 45.
     That day, December 8, 1941, Quezon was at Baguio. He was informed that Pearl Harbor was bombed by the Japanese. Events moved swiftly, before anyone could move, Clark field was attacked. Quezon motored down to Manila and, two days after the outbreak, he called for a meeting of the Council of State in his house that was then in Marikina, but became part of Quezon City. The Assembly passed momentous resolution expressing loyalty to the United States and proclaiming the re-election of Quezon and Osmena, as president and vice president respectively.
     Quezon left for Corregidor on December 24, leaving the responsibility of administering the Philippine government to Secretary Jorge Vargas. On January 1st, from the Malinta tunnel President Quezon issued an executive order designating Vargas as the Mayor of Greater Manila. This was a new political subdivision that comprised, aside from Manila proper, Quezon City, Caloocan, Pasay, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Makati and Paranaque. The mayors of the various towns and cities were designated assistant mayors.
     By that time, Mayor Tomas Morato was residing in his Quezon City home in New York Street, Cubao, behind where the church of the Iglesia ni Kristo is now located. Fearful of Japanese reprisal, he burned all of the 89 hand-written letters of Quezon to him. Nevertheless, on July 19, 1942, he was arrested by the Japanese Military Administration on charges of being a member of the underground resistance movement. He was taken to Fort Santiago, the torture prison of Manila, and there he languished with vice mayor Ponciano Bernardo, police chief Sabino De Leon and Constantino Gabriel, principal of the Mandaluyong Elementary School. Also with them were eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez, his son, Eulogio, Jr., and Hans Menzi.
     On December 24, 1942, Morato was released together with Bernardo, de Leon and Gabriel, through the help of Jose P. Laurel, as revealed by Mrs. Morato.
     Morato never forgot Laurel’s kindness; some years later, when Laurel was tried as a collaborator, Morato stood up to defend him.
     After his release, Morato left Quezon City. He went in hiding in Baguio and, during all the years of Japanese Occupation, he hardly went back to Greater Manila.
     During the enemy occupation, the Quezon City was divided into two Districts—Diliman and San Francisco Del Monte. For the district of Diliman, Dr. Florencio Z. Cruz, former Quezon city Health Officer was appointed Districts Chief; He assumed his office on July 7, 1942, and stayed until the Americans returned. Paterno Fortuna, who was then Assistant Secretary of the City Council, acted as secretary of Dr. Cruz.
     For the district of San Francisco, Gregorio Felipe was appointed the district chief. The district of Diliman comprised the barrios of Cubao, Galas, Murphy, New Manila, Santol, Sta. Mesa Heights, University site and Kamuning. The district of San Francisco del Monte comprised San Francisco Del Monte, Balintawak, and other surrounding barrios. In 1944, Gregorio Felipe who was a former member of the municipal council of San Juan was killed by the guerrillas.
     Throughout the four years of Japanese conquest, Quezon City had all but disappeared, swallowed by the new political entity of Greater Manila.

CHAPTER 5

QUEZON CITY AFTER THE WAR

U.S. Air force attacked Japan by using massive incendiary bombs against Japanese cities during the war with hundreds of planes flying at low altitudes.

     On January 11, 1945, American bombers, mostly Navy planes, were over Quezon City, where most of the Japanese anti-craft batteries were situated. They bombed and strafed the Quezon Boulevard extension and the circumferential road that is now E. de los Santos Avenue. Even before that, at around 11:30 in the morning of Friday, December 29th, six American dive-bombers flew over the Diliman area on their way to Manila, and were fired upon by the same anti-aircraft batteries from the Camp Murphy barracks.
     The following day, Quezon City became alive with army troops. The 1st Cavalry Division, the 37th division, and the other armies of the United States pitched their tents in the empty lots. The University of the Philippines’ buildings was vacated by the Japanese soldiers, so the Americans took over and started making improvements all over the campus.

1st Cavalry Division and Filipino volunteers during WWII

     The 37th Division joined a special force from the 7th Cavalry Regiment to capture the Novaliches (now La Mesa Dam), which was one of the key installations in the Manila water system. On February 7th, the dam and the Balara Filters were seized intact by the intrepid 1st Cavalry soldiers, with the assistance of the employees at the Filters Reservation who were also guerillas. For days, they kept close watch of the movements of the Japanese soldiers who were stationed in Balara.
     On February 27, 1945, General Douglas MacArthur turned over the reins of civil government to the Filipinos. President Sergio Osmena received the responsibility of leading his people.
     He then organized his government by appointing the new officials of the Philippine commonwealth. Juan Nolasco was appointed mayor of the city of Greater Manila. In April, at about the time when President Franklin Delano Roosevelt died, Tomas Confesor, the famed guerrilla leader of Iloilo, who was Osmena’s secretary of Interior, designated Oscar Castelo acting assistant mayor of Quezon City. In effect, he was an assistant to the Mayor of Manila, for Quezon City was still a part of Greater Manila. Castelo was former Assistant Manila fiscal before that appointment.
     Moreover, the Quezon City government was practically non-existent. Many of the employees of the city offices either evacuated to the provinces during the darkest times of the war, or they were gainfully employed in the Army Camps. Castelo used the residence of President Manuel L.
     In those trying times, the government of the Philippines was run by both Osmena and the United States Army Forces Western Pacific (AFWESPAC), which had been formed by General MacArthur on June 7, 1945, under the command of Lt. Gen. W.D. Styer.
     The entire country was too disorganized and too involved with survival for the people to think of paying taxes. For a time, the national government was using the $71 million turned over to it by the United States, covering excise taxes on Philippine exports to America. Of this, the national government gave P30, 014.58 to Quezon City, because the city’s coffers were practically empty.
     From July 1, 1945 to December 31, 1945, the total income of Quezon City amounted to only P171, 392.41, and the deficit for the same period, despite the subsidy, amounted to P10, 337.49. The expenses of the city did not include the outlay for peace and order, because this task was pursued by the United States Army, under the U.s. Provost Marshall.
     From February 8, 1945 to April of the same year, Quezon City was placed under the United States military control. The Quezon City administration was later transferred to Oscar Castelo, who held his position until September 30, 1946. He returned to his former job as assistant fiscal in Manila immediately after. On October 11, 1946, sabino de Leon, former chief of police of Quezon City, was appointed assistant mayor of Greater Manila for Quezon City. He held that position until the end of 1946. By this time, the city government offices had been moved to South 9th Street, near Sampaloc Avenue, in Kamuning.
     President Osmena had then practically dissolved the Greater Manila. The six Rizal towns – Paranaque, Pasay, Makati, Mandaluyong, Caloocan, and San Juan, had been returned to the province. Only Quezon City was left. The agitation for this move had begun as early as May 16, 1945, when two ex-mayors of Manila, who became senators, Amang Rodriguez and Ramon J. Fernandez, introduced Senate Bill No. 19 which would restore separate corporate powers of the cities and towns. The Bill, likewise, proposed to make Quezon City belong to the end representative district of Manila for election purposes.
     On June 14, Senate Bill no. 19 was approved on third reading and everyone was optimistic that President Osmena would support it. At the same time, a bill was also introduced by Congressman Cabarroguis providing for the merging of the City of Manila and Quezon City into one city to be called Rizal. Both bills did not prosper.
     Before the year was over, Quezon City was separated from manila, and Ponciano Bernardo was appointed by President Osmena to be its mayor. On January 1, 1947, Barnardo assumed the office in simple ceremonies at Malacanang, and Quezon City was again reborn.
     On December 17, 1945, President Osmena issued Proclamation No, 32, which proclaimed a nationwide campaign to raise funds for the erection of a national monument in honor of President Quezon, who died at Saranac Lake, in the United States. The proclamation designated January 2, 1946 as the starting date for the campaign; it set its goal to raise P250, 000.00. President Osmena also issued Executive Order No, 79 creating the Quezon Memorial Committee to take charge of the campaign to raise funds for the Quezon monument.
     The committees that Osmena appointed were leading government officials, businessmen and labor leaders. Among them were Senator Tomas Morato, Jr., Alfredo Montelibano, Jose Locsin and Pedro Hernaez. . This committee was to be the first of numerous other committees, which ran for a span of several decades.
     On April 23, 1946, the first national election was held. Roxas won the election. He became the first president of the second Philippine Republic which was inaugurated on July 4, 1946.
     Immediately after election, President Roxas announced his intention of restoring Quezon City as a regular chartered city. There were protests from various quarters, from the Department of Interior officials, the Manila Health authorities, and even the newspapers gave negative comments on this matter.
     Nevertheless, on October 11, 1946, President Roxas signed the bill authored by Congressman Santos Diaz, freeing Quezon City from Manila and transferring the police forces of that city and those of the six Rizal towns to that of Manila. The signing was attended by numerous government officials, including the two Rizal Congressmen, the provincial government officials and mayors of Rizal. Special guest at the simple but impressive ceremony was Mrs. Aurora Aragon vda. De Quezon.
     President Roxas remarked, after signing the bill that he would appoint the officials of Quezon City at once. But Capt. Sabino de Leon continued serving his term as acting assistant mayor until December 31, 1946. Meanwhile, Oscar Castelo was appointed judge-at-large of the court of first instance of Rizal, stationed in Quezon City and Caloocan.

QUEZON CITY : SELECTED AS THE SITE FOR THE CAPITAL CITY OF THE PHILIPPINES

Manuel A. Roxas

     On July 25, 1946, President Roxas appointed a committee that would select the site for the capital city of the Philippines. The committee was headed by Senator Melecio Arranz, by virtue of administrative order No. 5. The Committee was charged to select the most suitable site on which to build the capital city of the Philippines and the capitol building or buildings.
     Spirited public hearings were held by the committee for the purpose of gauging public opinion. Sixteen sites were nominated; they were Bataan, Quezon City, North Novaliches, North Montalban, San Mateo, Antipolo, Nagcarlan-Lilio, Santo Tomas, Tanauan, Canluban, Tagaytay, Baguio, Iloilo, San Pablo, Los Banos, Sibul and McKinley. The principal considerations involved the following factors, general sanitation, public works development, strategic considerations, scenic beauty, and administrative coordination,.
     After extensive researches, discussions, studies, and public hearings, the results were tabulated by the committee. The highest composite rating of 71.5% went to Ipo-Novaliches area; Baguio, second with 69.4%; and Quezon City – Novaliches, third with 68.3%.
     Since the areas of Ipo-Novaliches-Quezon City are connected to each other, the committee thought it would be very ideal if it could combine these places it make the capital city of the Philippines. The average of the composite ratings of Ipo-Novaliches and Quezon City-Novaliches is 69.9%, which neither alters its position as neither the first choice nor that of Baguio as the second choice.
     The conclusion of the Arranz Committee stated that “After a thorough study, investigation and deliberation, the committee concludes that the area covered by Quezon City extending northward along the Marikina River to the upper limits of Novaliches reservoir watershed, thence West to the boundary line again of Quezon City, comprising an approximate total area of 16,200 hectares, more or less, one fourth of which is owned by the government, is the best under the circumstances to be made as the Capital City of the Republic.”. This conclusion, although there were many grumblings after it was made, were easily scotched by the reasons given by Arranz and his group regarding the advantages of Quezon City.
     First of the reason was its proximity to Manila, the best port of entry from foreign countries and the commercial and financial center of the country. It will be within the 30-kilometer limit from the Rizal monument of Manila, as specified by Commonwealth Act of 457; second, its accessibility from all the important areas in the Philippines either by land, air or sea; third, its already available conveniences from the standpoint of a municipal entity; third, Its geologic qualities, which provide a satisfactory foundation for buildings and other structures, at the same time allowing the construction of underground structures; forth, Its large area of government-owned land right in its central zone which will permit a substantial economy in the development of public improvements as well as more freedom and liberal assignments for streets, parks, and playground structures; fifth, Its historical background; consideration of public expenditures already made; administrative commitments and evident public support.
     On April 7, 1947, the recommendations were sent by the Committee on Capital City site.

CHAPTER 6

THE MAYOR PONCIANO BERNARDO ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Pociano Bernardo

December 24, 1946 – April 28, 1949

     On December 24, 1946, all the papers reported the appointment of a new mayor for Quezon City, together with his Vice Mayor Matias Defensor and councilors as follows: Leon Malubay, Gregorio Roxas and Hipolito Lopez. They took their oath of office on the 1st day of January 1947. Ponciano Bernardo was an engineer by profession. He was a native of Nueva Ecija, having been born in Santa Rosa on December 2, 1905. He studied at Cabanatuan Elementary School, then to San Isidro, Nueva Ecija for his secondary education, graduating with honors in 1923. He was among the first scholars in engineering in the University of the Philippines, where he graduated as civil engineer in 1927. He placed third in the board examinations for civil engineers that he took the same year he graduated from U.P. Immediately thereafter, he became an engineer’s assistant in the Bureau of Public Works branch in Cabanatuan, after which, in 1929, he was appointed assistant provincial engineer of Tayabas Province, a position he held from 1929 to 1935. In 19336, he was transferred to Baguio as assistant engineer; then he became district engineer in Antique in 1939. A year later, in 1940, President Quezon appointed him vice mayor and city engineer of Quezon City.
     Mayor Bernardo worked like a man obsessed to fulfill the dreams of his friend, Manuel Luis Molina Quezon. He diligently worked without let-up, making frequent on-the-spot inspections, and seeing to it that all the public works projects were being pursued with quality and dispatch.
     Since he knew that peace and order played a very vital role in the city’s progress, Mayor Bernardo put his office adjacent to that of the police department. Under his administration, all the city officials were, also, always on their toes, imbued by the same irresistible dream. Other than the vice mayor, Matias defensor, and the City Councilors, the Quezon City Officials included: Crisanto Alba, Chief of Police; Prudencio Encomienda, judge of the municipal court; and Dr. Petronio Monsod, City Health Officer.
     On January 29, 1947, Quezon City Council, desperately aware of the immensity of the reconstruction job ahead, passed a resolution, sponsored by Councilor Gregorio Roxas, requesting subsidy of P200, 000 from the plans for roads, bridges, and other public works projects. At the same time, the council asked President Roxas to authorize the release of the city’s pre-war deposits in the Philippine National Bank.
     During those times, the offices of the city government, including that of Mayor Bernardo, were still housed in the Manila Police Department precinct number 5, which was in Kamuning. By the middle of February, Mayor Bernardo announced that the new city hall would be constructed at a cost of P80, 000.00; this would be at the market site in Cubao. When the precinct no. 5 building had become so crowded, the city council decided to move the government offices to the South market building along what is now Alejandro Roces, Sr. avenue.
     The City then was divided into five districts, namely: North, South, Tatalon, Santol and Sociego. On February 16, the 30 district councilors, representing these five districts took their5 oath before Secretary of interior Jose Zulueta. The oath taking was witnessed by more than 10,000 people, and was held at the residence of vice Mayor Matias Defensor in Galas.
     On March 1, 1947, weather in Quezon City turned hotter, thus the Quezon City Councilors approved a resolution requesting P20,000.00 from the national government to purchase a fire engine, since the city had absolutely no equipment to use in case of a fire. At the same time, the council asked for P10, 000.00 to buy a jeep for the city police.
     On March 31, 1947, the Manila City Police department officially withdrew from Quezon City. 53 policemen had been appointed under the city police chief Crisanto Alba, with Captain Nicolasito Luz as deputy chief of police. Seven police stations had been set up in various places in the city. The withdrawal had been planned some weeks before, but, as Secretary Jose Padilla told the press, Mayor Bernardo pleaded with Col. Lamberto Javaler, Manila Chief of police, to delay it, because the city could not hire more policemen “due to lack of funds.”
     In July 1947, the pre- war market building along Epifanio de los Santos Avenue was demolished. Foundation stones for the New City Hall were planted. In February 1948, the building was finished at the total cost of P156, 772.48, much higher from its original appropriation.
     Another project of Mayor Bernardo was the creation of a park that would have a skating rink, an artificial lagoon, a zoo, and other features that would give the residents of Quezon City. .He had done it in Burnham Park, when he was working in Baguio as city engineer. An appropriation of P19, 000 was given to the building of this park which was carved out of hill; and which now bears Mayor Bernardo’s name. The design for it was work of an 18-year old but capable U.S.T. architecture student who attracted Mayor Bernardo’s attention in the city engineer’s office. The young man’s name was Luciano Aquino; he would be working in Quezon City through all the ensuing years and he was soon to be the city architect. The park was inaugurated on February 19, 1948 with high ranking government officials attending.
     In June 1947, the Galas market was constructed at a cost of P25, 000.00, and the Quezon City High School was built with only two classes-for the young people of the city who, previously, had to go all the way to Manila to get their secondary education.
     On January 1, 1948, New Year’s Day, Councilor Gregorio Roxas became Vice Mayor, succeeding Matias Defensor. Ramon Vicencio, of Galas, took his place in the City Council.

QUEZON CITY FINALLY CHOSEN AS THE CAPITAL CITY OF THE PHILIPPINES

     The move to select the capital site was urgent. The provisions of the United States War Damage Act, which allotted about P21 million for the purpose of putting up the capital city, stipulated that “unless the site is chosen by 1950, the appropriation will be reverted to the United States.” Thus, on June 22, 1948, President Quirino called a caucus in Malacañang to decide, once and for all, the site for the capital city.
     There were controversies, discussions and impassioned exchanges of arguments, but on the morning of July 17, 1948, congress finally approved Republic Act No. 333 – amending Commonwealth Act No. 502, known as the Charter of Quezon City- which declared that Quezon City would be the “Capital of the Philippines and the permanent seat of the national government.” President Quirino lost no time in signing it into law.
     It took almost a year to prepare the master plan for the new Capital City. The arguments were lengthy and often bitter. Various sectors had their own ideas; some of them, though, had ulterior motives. In their final report, the members of the commission indicated that “planning the new Capital City they took into initial account the role that the city is destined to play; politically, as the seat of the national government; aesthetically, as the show of the nation, a place that thousand s of people will come to visit as an epitome of the culture and spirit of the country; socially, as a dignified concentration of human life, aspirations, endeavor and achievement; and economically, as a productive self-contained community.

     On April 8, 1949, President Quirino signed the voluminous master plan which contained detailed instructions and specifications.

President Elpidio Quirino

     Republic Act No. 333 further stipulated the appropriation of funds for the acquisition of private estates within the boundary limits of the city, and authorized the issuance of bonds of the national Government, not only for the construction of streets, bridges, waterworks, sewerage and other municipal improvements in the capital city.
     But Mayor Bernardo, would not live to see all these plans materialize. He was one of those massacred on the day of April 28, 1949, together with Dona Aurora Aragon Quezon, her daughter Maria aurora and son-in-law Philip Buencamino III. Mayor Bernardo accompanied Dona Aurora Quezon on a trip to Baler. Mrs. Quezon was going to inaugurate a hospital and unveil a marker in honor of the late father of Quezon City, Manuel L. Quezon.
     Flags on government buildings in Quezon City flew at half- mast on April 29, 1949, in deference to the death of Mayor Bernardo. The government Officials and employees of the city trooped to the Bernardo residence at No. 4 Mataba Road, Cubao to express their condolences to the mayor’s survivors: his wife Josefina Martinez, of Quezon province; and their eight children namely, Carolina, 18; Josefina, 17; Ponciano, Jr, 15; Emmanuel, 14; Juliet, 12; Reynaldo, 10; Marichu, 8; and Cherry, 6. Mayor Bernardo was forty- four years old.

CHAPTER 7

THE NICANOR ROXAS ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Nicanor A. Roxas

May 4, 1949 – April 4, 1950

     On May 4, 1949, Assistant Executive Secretary Nicanor Roxas was sworn into office as acting Mayor of Quezon City by Speaker Eugenio Perez. The ceremony was held in Speaker Perez’s office in the Congress building, and it was witnessed by a small crowd of government officials and politicians, including Congressman Lorenzo Sumulong, and Congressman Ignacio Santos Diaz, both from the province of Rizal.
     Roxas was the third child of Segundo Roxas and Nemecia Atanacio. He was born on January 10, 1899, in San Roque, marikina, Rizal. He taught in the public schools of Rizal immediately after graduating from high school. At the same time, he studied law at the University of Santo Tomas, obtaining his law degree in 1922 and his masters of laws in 1926.
     Part of his ideology was the program for the amelioration of the impoverished masses and the launching of the Barangay Organization which was to help in the drive for peace. This organization would rely on the cooperative spirit of the people to fight dissidence. According to the mayor, he would endeavor to “synchronize local activities of Quezon city with existing national policies.”
     After the oath taking ceremonies, the acting mayor motored to the Quezon City hall along Highway 54, now EDSA, and met with a group of high government officials and friends. He appealed to them for cooperation in “efforts aimed at putting to raise the living standards in the city.” Then he proceeded to the North Cemetery where he laid floral offerings on the tombs of the late President Quezon, Mrs. Aurora Quezon, and Mayor Ponciano Bernardo.
     Towards the end of May, Congress approved a bill authored by Congressman Lorenzo Sumulong which reduced the area of Quezon City by 301 hectares. The new area was 15,359 hectares instead of the former 15,660 hectares, as provided for in the National Capital Site Act approved only the year before. Sumulong, the Rizal lawmaker, worked for this reduction upon the complaint of his constituents that Quezon City took lands from Montalban, San Mateo and Marikina which were not suited for urban residential purposes. These lands included vegetable farms, rice fields and communal areas east of the Marikina River, Sumulong stressed that “without these lands, San Mateo, which was losing 105 hectares of rice lands, and Montalban, losing 120 hectares of communal lands, would suffer such deprivation that they would not be able to meet the expenses of their governments.
     On September 9, 1949, President Quirino appointed Councilor Francisco Batacan as Vice Mayor of the city. Luis Sianghio, took over his place in the city council.
     The appointment of Mayor Roxas as Acting Mayor of Quezon City proved beneficial to the young metropolis since he was not only assistant executive secretary to President Quirino, but also concurrently undersecretary of the department of Interior. He was able to bring closer to the center of national power, the Malacanang Palace- all the city’s needs and aspirations.
     One of the most significant events that happened during Mayor Roxas term was the inauguration of Quezon City as the National Capital of the Philippines on October 22, 1949. The ground was broken at the site of the national government center in the national capitol building at Constitution Hill.
     The welcome arch at the Rotonda marking the boundary between Manila and Quezon City was also built. It was also in the same year that the construction of the Roxas Homesite, originally called Project One, was started.

FIRST QUEZON CITY PUBLIC LIBRARY

     The first Quezon City Public Library was opened to the public on October 25, 1948 under the leadership of Atty. Felicidad Peralta. The affair coincided with the inauguration of the Philippine National Red Cross, Quezon City Chapter. Mrs. Aurora Quezon administered the oath to the members of the Quezon City Red Cross Board of Directors and also cut the ribbon to the library. One of the guests of honor to the opening of the library was Director Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez, who gave his message. The establishment of the Quezon City Public Library was also made possible through the allocation of books and other reading materials of the National Library and form citizens and other institutions.
     Mayor Roxas was acting mayor of Quezon City until the evening of January 4, 1950, exactly eight months after his appointment. After that he concentrated on palace work until he was appointed consul general of the Philippines in San Francisco, California, in 1954, which he held until 1959, encompassing the administrations of both Ramon Magsaysay and Carlos P. Garcia. From 1959 to 1961, he was Philippine Ambassador to the Benelux countries (Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxembourg), where his exemplary performance earned him the Royal decoration by the kingdoms of Belgium and the Netherlands. On May 31, 1966, President Ferdinand Marcos appointed him ambassador plenipotentiary and extraordinary, a position he held until he died on March 12, 1971.

CHAPTER 8

THE IGNACIO SANTOS-DIAZ ADMINISTRATION

January 4, 1950 – December 30, 1953

     On January 4, 1950, Ignacio Santos Diaz was appointed as the new mayor of Quezon City by President Quirino. This was one of the more popular decisions of the President, considering the as early as July 17, 1946, he was congressman from the first district of Rizal, and he sponsored House Bill No. 159, in the first session of the Second Congress, which sought to separate Quezon City from the City of Greater Manila. The bill was subsequently approved.
     He pushed for a bill seeking to make Quezon City the “capital of the country.” As chairman of the congressional committee on landed estates, Diaz carefully studied the plans of the Capital City Planning Commission, to ensure that they served the interests of the projected metropolis.
     Ignacio Santos Diaz was born on October 4, 1906. He was the fifth of ten children of Roberto Santos Diaz and Roberta de la Cruz of Marikina, Rizal. He graduated from the Philippine Law School in 1929 and served as justice of the peace in Binangonan, Rizal from 1931 to 1935.
     He went into private practice during World War II and later ran for a congressional seat in the first district of Rizal in 1945.
     During his term, Diaz worked to have the Quezon City Charter revised, to accommodate the new development thrusts of the city. The result was Republic Act 537 which, among others, increased Quezon City’s original area tenfold to 15,359 hectares and drastically changed the composition of the city council. The number of the councilors was increased from three to eight; the mayor was chairman of the council and the vice mayor an ex-officio member. The eight councilors were to be appointed by the President, with the consent of the Commission on Appointments; they were to hold office at the pleasure of the President.
     The eight appointed councilors were: Ramon Vicencio, Claro Pinga, Luis R. Sianghio, Jose P. Cruz, Adolfo Eufemio, Delfin Garcia, Jesus V. Merritt, and Ponciano Reyes.
     The V. Luna General Hospital was inaugurated during Mayor Diaz’s term. Named after Col. Victoriano Luna, the first army surgeon, the hospital attends to the medical needs of the soldiers and their dependents.
     Also during his time, the new Quezon City Hall annex, which was the brainchild of the late Mayor Bernardo, was practically finished. Started the year before, on April 4, 1949, the building was finished on January 23, 1950, at a cost of P175, 087.88. It was constructed by the Guerrero Construction company, Inc., from the structural designs made by Apolonio Adriano and Pantaleon Tabora, both civil engineers from the same office.
     The Quezon City hall annex became popularly known as the Social Hall. Later, it was called Dona aurora Hall and the park beside it was named after Mayor Ponciano Bernardo. All these were inaugurated on March 25, 1950, with the nation’s highest officials-including President Quirino, Vice President Fernando Lopez, cabinet members and other political and social leaders in attendance. The Philippines Herald, dated March 16, 1950, called it “the biggest social event in Quezon City in recent years.”
     Construction boom was then going on in the city. Quirino Housing Project 2 was finished in 1952 and was followed by the construction of Project 3.
     The local government, however, under Mayor Diaz’s leadership, never slackened in its rapid strides to put up more buildings to house its ever expanding activities. The Main Quezon City Hall became too small for all various government administrative activities. Left and right wings were constructed, in addition to the Annex Building, and a fire department building too, directly adjacent to it. Several public markets and school houses were built all over the city.
     Mayor Diaz, put up more police outposts, bought more vehicles for the police force, and constructed a total of 29 government buildings. Among these were: two wings of the City hall; a separate police headquarters; markets in Galas. Cubao, Kamuning, the Kamuning slaughterhouse, the La Loma Fire Station, Health Centers in Kamuning, San Francisco and Balara, started the construction of the ten-room La Loma High School building in July 1952 and finished it before the end of the year at a cost of P76, 000.00. There were other school buildings in Cubao and San Jose which were built along with a four-room addition to the Quezon City High School building and the Quezon City High School Shop and Home Economics Building.

QUEZON CITY SCHOOLS

     On July 25, 1950, President Quirino appointed Pablo S. Reyes the first Quezon City Superintendent of Schools, a position which he held until 1962. Isidro Figuracion was assigned city supervisor. Before the war, the public schools were under the administration of Benito Pangilinan, division superintendent of Rizal Province. During the Japanese occupation, the schools were under Dr. Cecilio Putong, city superintendent of schools of Manila. Immediately after liberation, the schools were supervised by Servillano Dunglao, city supervisor.
     The record of the Quezon City schools in 1950 was commendable. That year, the Bureau of Public Schools, in cooperation with the National Economic Council and the ICA, conducted a survey of General Education all over the country. Quezon City ranked first in standards among six cities in the results. In the national examinations for Grade IV, Quezon City was among the ten topnotchers in overall score.
     More and more private schools were moving to Quezon City. St. Theresa’s College and St. Mary’s college had already moved to where they are now. By 1951, Ateneo de Manila had started to build its gymnasium, as well as high school and college units. The construction of the Carillon Tower in the University of the Philippines was begun by the Up Alumni Association, from initial appropriations advanced from University funds.

QUEZON CITY HOSPITALS

photo taken from www.afpmil.ph

  V. Luna General Hospital

     The V. Luna General Hospital was inaugurated in December 1950 for the sick and wounded armed forces personnel began to function. It was named after Col. Victoriano Luna, the first army surgeon general. He was killed in March 1942, when the Japanese bombed the makeshift Philippine Army general Hospital in Mariveles, Bataan, which was moved from Camp Murphy on December 24, 1951, and which was really the predecessor of this hospital.
     The hospital went from place to place until the Armed Forces acquired the lot at Kamias Road. Finally, the big, new hospital building was finished at a cost of P800, 000, 00 and, with ten Quonset huts worth P30, 000.00. It served the armed forces valiantly during the early fifties when the Huk campaign was at its most violent.

photo taken from www.ptsi.org.ph

  Quezon Institute

     Another hospital that served the needs of the Quezon City residents with courage and determination was the Quezon Institute. It was originally called Santol Sanitarium when it opened its doors on January 2, 1919, on the very six hectare plateau that it still occupies and which is about six kilometers from the Rizal Monument at the Luneta. Before World War II, it was already famous as the finest T.B. sanitarium in the Far East. It was and still is the pride of the Philippine tuberculosis society.

  Quezon City Health Department

     The Quezon City Health Department, likewise, announced that in fiscal year 1950 – 1951, the death rate for the city had decreased from 8.23 to 7.98 per thousand populations, while the birth rate had increased from 20.92 percent from the pervious five years to 31.80 percent in the present fiscal year.
     This was the direct result of the 100 percent increase in marriages – from 5.4 percent per thousand populations from the past five years to 10.72 percent of the current year. Perhaps, the most notable finding was the substantial decrease in infant mortality from 141.79 percent from the past five years to 91.98 percent per thousand births for this year.
     In spite of their meager appropriation, the City Health Department proudly reported at the end of the 1950 – 1951 fiscal years that the 15 health centers had given 58,389 consultations, 80,718 treatments, 566 minor operations, and 17,373 attendances to residents a patient.

  Veterans Memorial Hospital

     On November 20, 1955, the VMH rising over a 55 – hectare lot in the rolling hills of Balongbato, Diliman, was inaugurated. The P18, 800,000.00 hospitals, according to VMH Inaugural Souvenir Book, published by the Department of national Defense, “is without peer in the entire Far East for its size, modernisms and medical capabilities.” It comprises 23 separate buildings with a floor space of about 11 hectares. The corridors, put end to end would reach seven miles.
     The hospital had 722 beds – capacity and was fully furnished with the most modern equipment then known to medical science. For instance, the VMH had a sewerage treatment plant which was the first of its kind in the whole Orient; it even had a complete orthopedic shop for the manufacture or artificial limbs, which was never seen before in the Philippines.
     Fully financed by the United States government, the VMH “now stands as an eloquent monument to America’s profound concern for and gratitude towards Filipino was veterans of Bataan, Corregidor, Leyte and other great battles, who have suffered and are now suffering infirmities and physicals disabilities in the defense of Freedom, Democracy and Human Dignity during the darkest chapter of this nation’s history.” Its history actually began with the enactment by the U.S. Congress of the bill authored by Congresswoman Edith Nourse Rogers, of Massachusetts; a devoted friend of Filipino was veterans. It became U.S. Public Law 865, 80th Congress, when then President Harry S. Truman signed it.
     The Rogers Act gave the President of the United States the authority “to provide aid to the Republic of the Philippines in the form of grants not to exceed S22, 500,000 for the construction and equipping of necessary hospital facilities for exclusive use of disabled Filipino World War II veterans.” It also provided that the U.S. government “reimburse the Republic of the Philippines for moneys expended for the interim hospitalizations of disabled veterans in contract hospitals in the islands while the proposed Veterans Memorial Hospital was not yet available for their use.” The US – PI Pact of June 7, 1949, signed by then President Elpidio Quirino and then American Ambassador to the Philippines Myron Cowen, at Malacañang, Manila, made possible the implementation of the Rogers Act, for it stipulated “the construction and equipping of hospitals for veterans and the provisions of medical care and treatment of veterans by the government of the Philippines and the furnishing of grants – in – aid thereof by the government of the United States America.” This specifically provided for the construction of the Veterans Memorial Hospital.
     The preliminary plans for the hospital were done by the Bureau of Public Works and sent to the USVA in Washington, D.C. for study and approval. Allied Technologies, inc. and Architect Pablo Panlilio were awarded the architectural job. After the work checked and re – checked by the DND Engineer Group, headed by Col. Nicolas R. Jimenez, in coordination with Col. John T. Thompson, USVA construction engineer, it was sent to then Secretary of national Defense Ramon Magsaysay for approval. The complete drawings which weighed 377 lbs. and had more than 2000 sheets were sent to Washington, D.C. on April 25, 1951 for final scrutiny by the construction division experts of the Central office of the Veterans Administration.
     Work on the hospital began finally on September 17, 1953; the cornerstone laying was performed by President Quirino, which as it turned out, was among his very last official acts. More than 1000 workers were employed in the construction, working around the clock for two years.
     As writer Fitz Areza Geraldo says in the VMH Inaugural Souvenir Book, “The Veteran Memorial Hospital is an answer to a long – crying need. It is America’s fulfillment of an obligation plighted to incapacitated Philippine Army Veterans and recognized guerillas of World War II for their proper medical attention and treatment…The VMH, indeed, is so complete it is almost beyond any man’s comprehension.”

QUEZON CITY POLICE FORCE

photo taken from www.qcpd.pnp.gov.ph

     The strength of the Quezon City Police force was increased from 125 in 1947 to 323 in 1950. Its territory was divided into four police precincts and the organization of Barangays units was intensified to help in the maintenance of peace and order. The members of these Barangays appealed to lot owners “to rid their vacant surroundings and lots of tall shrubs, grass and other potential hiding places of bad elements.” More electric lights had been installed to discourage criminal attacks in streets and highways. In January 1950, there were 226 street lights; by August 1951, there were 1,046 street lights.
     But then, in the middle months of 1953, the volcanic drama of national politics was moving swiftly towards a strange and blustering denouement. On February 25, 1953, the Liberal Party urged Quirno to run for re-election, and the President immediately accepted.
     Since Mayor Diaz was a Liberal, he supported Quirino in one of the most fiery election campaigns in Philippine History.As Carlos Romulo wrote in his book The Magsaysay Story, “That November 10, 1953, free elections were preserved,” “democracy in the Philippines was saved, and Ramon Magsaysay was elected President of the Philippine republic by the greatest majority in its political history.”
     As Carlos Romulo wrote in his book The Magsaysay Story, “That November 10, 1953, free elections were preserved,” “democracy in the Philippines was saved, and Ramon Magsaysay was elected President of the Philippine republic by the greatest majority in its political history.”
     As expected, Mayor Diaz turned in his resignation even before Magsaysay took his oath of office on December 30, 1953. He was followed by his councilors who were all appointed by President Quirino.
     Diaz had no regrets about his stepping down; he knew he did well during his administration. He knew, too, that there was still much to be done.
     Indeed, in those weeks, just before the national elections, Quezon City was jittery, because of the news that the Huks would be using the area for their jumping off for Manila in case of an upheaval. Chief of Police Crisanto Alba had issued a general alert to all police precincts. Checkpoints were established at all strategic points along entrances to the city with firm instructions to all guards to “screen everybody.” At Camp Murphy, Armed Forces officials reassured Quezon City residents of their safety from Huk violence even as the 19th Battalion Combat team was held in readiness to rush to any sector in the City in case the Huks would attack.
     As the election of November 10 came to pass, nothing happened in Quezon City. It was a quite, clean and orderly election.

CHAPTER 9

THE NORBERTO AMORANTO ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto

January 11, 1954 – March 30, 1976

     President Ramon Magsaysay started to look for a new mayor for Quezon City after the resignation of Mayor Diaz… He sought the advice of his colleagues in the selection of appointees to various positions in his new administration. When he came to finding a new mayor for Quezon City, invariably, he sought the advice of one who knew the City well, Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez, President of the Nacionalista Party.
     The story goes that sometime before that time; Amang Rodriguez had a P1 million tax cases filed against him by Liberal Party President Elpidio Quirino. He asked an able tax lawyer to help him; his name was Norberto S. Amroanto. The case was quashed and Amang was jubilant. He offered Amoranto and his law partners a reward for the victory, but they refused him. Naturally, Amang was impressed by Amoranto’s integrity and ability.
     Since politics was the farthest from Amoranto’s mind in those days, he had dreamed, one way or another, that Amang would recommend him to a bureau of Internal Revenue position- as collector, for instance. But Amang recommended him to President Magsaysay to be the mayor of Quezon City.
     Norberto Salandanan Amoranto was born on June 4, 1908, in a little nipa house in Barrio San Jose, Binan, Laguna. His mother, Rufina Salandanan was a meat vendor in the public market, and his father, Lucio Amoranto, was a goldsmith who turned to farming when his eyesight began to grow dim. Norberto was the eight of nine sons and daughters.
     He studied at the Binan Elementary School, after which he took hiss secondary education at the Laguna Provincial High School, in Sta. Cruz, Laguna, graduated in 1928. At that time, he was a tall, thin young man of 120 lbs., and he was famous then as the bantamweight champion of the Laguna High School. He had a classmate then, a Sta. Cruz girl named Asisola Lim, who stole his heart away and married her in 1938.
     Amoranto went to Manila and took up Pre-Law at the University of Manila and later, at National University. He went to the Philippine Law School for his law proper, where he obtained his Bachelor of Laws degree in 1932. He passed the bar the following year, after which he continued his studies at the University of Manila. It was here he received his Master of Laws Degree, major in taxation.
     While a student, he worked, first as a messenger in the defunct Executive Bureau, then as clerk in the Bureau of Supply. Upon getting his Ll.B. Degree, he worked at the Bureau of Internal Revenue, where he rose from Assistant Tax Examiner to Senior Tax Examiner in 19356. Immediately upon marrying Asisola, then a teacher at the Laguna High School, he bought a house and lot on Don Manuel Street, in La Loma, District, which at the same time, was a part of Caloocan.
     In 1951, Amoranto resigned from the Bureau of Internal Revenue and put up a law firm with Zoria and Pecino.
     By this time, Amang was so impressed by Amroanto’s ability and integrity that he had absolutely no hesitation in recommending him to Magsaysay when the matter of Quezon City mayorship cam about.
     This was the inauspicious beginning of the Amoranto era that would go on for twenty-four years, spanning the administration of Magsaysay, Garcia, Macapagal and Marcos, and playing the lead role in some of Quezon City’s most spectacular and significant political and social dramas.
     As soon as the appointment of Amoranto as acting vice mayor and concurrently acting mayor was published in the local press, a revolt against the leadership of Senate President Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez and his son, Congressman Eulogio Rodriguez, Jr., broke out in Quezon City. In the afternoon of January 13, a big crowd of Quezon City residents went to Malacañang in 18 buses carrying placards which denounced the Amoranto appointment. The demonstrators were led by Isidor Guevarra, Nacionalista Party president in Quezon City, Dr. Leon Malubay, former Quezon City councilor, and Leoncio Silva, a local businessman and NP leader. According to the Manila Chronicle report, “one of the leaders told the solon (Congressman Rodriguez) they were protesting Amoranto’s appointment, not as Nacionalistas under the Nacionalista Party as Mayor.”
     Nothing happened to Amoranto though. On January 16, 1954, the Daily Record reported the side of Amoranto. “The Quezon City executive branded the demonstrations protesting his appointment Wednesday at Malacañang as “politically inspire”. Earlier, it was discovered that most of the demonstrators were not appraised of the true nature of the rally…Several of those who had joined the rally by mistake had been flocking to the office of Amoranto since yesterday apologizing for having taken part in it at the same time reiterating their faith and confidence and pledge of support for the acting mayor…”
     Nevertheless, one of Amoranto’s very first act as mayor was the organization of the Mayor’s Complaint Committee on January 19, 1954, where complaints and denunciations of the residents erring employees and officials would be “acted upon with dispatch.” Patterned after the Presidential Complaint and Action Commission of President Magsaysay, this anti – graft group of Quezon City was directed by Amoranto “to give priority to complaints aired by the under – privileged and to spare no effort in bringing to light government irregularities regardless of the Party affiliation of those involved.”
     Amoranto, a fiscal expert, looked into the dismal financial condition of the city. He called Treasurer Conrado Hernandez to help him in pursuing “stringent economy measures in the disposition of people’s money in an effort to balance the city budget and to steer clear from previous administration’s unwise deficit spending policy.” He further asked the treasurer “to exert effort to undo the huge budget deficit incurred by the previous administration’s contractual obligations amounting to more than P85, 000.00 pertaining to wages of “election campaign gangs”.
     With such measures and other drastic steps in cleaning up the city government with undesirables, the first few weeks of Amoranto at the Quezon City Hall were utterly tumultuous. His purges of erring employees through his anti – graft committee, which went on in full blast from the very moment it was organized, created vociferous hue and cry from what the Manila Bulletin called “the victims.” They threatened to sue the acting mayor for damages, since, in their opinion he was “doing his job contrary to law. According to the lawyers if the employees who were eased out of their jobs recently…Amoranto’s appointment as acting mayor was illegal and in violation of the Constitution. These sources pointed out that Amoranto’s appointment by President Magsaysay violated the provision of the Constitution against any presidential appointee’s taking his oath of office prior to the confirmation of the appointment by the Commission on Appointments while Congress was in session.”
     The counsel for the ousted employees claimed that since Amoranto was appointed vice mayor only, the real successor to Diaz was Anastacio Agan, the city engineer, in accordance with the rule of succession as provided for in the charter of the city. But all these uproar became academic, even pointless, because on February 4, 1954, President Magsaysay formally appointed Amoranto Acting mayor of Quezon City. With him was appointed Isidro Guevara as acting vice mayor; he was the same man, who days before, had led a group to Malacañang demonstrating against Amoranto’s appointment. This appointment was extremely wise, for it smoothed many ruffled feathers and promoted unity and peace in the Nacionalista camp in Quezon City. Both Amoranto and Guevara took their oaths of office before Assistant Executive Secretary Enrique Quema, upon instructions from President Magsaysay who was then cruising aboard the presidential yacht in the Visayas. By this time, the vessel’s name had been changed from Apo to Pagasa, as a suggestion of Amang Rodriguez “to remove all associations it had with previous administration.” After all, Rodriguez said, Pagasa in Ilocano means “chief” while in tagalong it means “hope”
     Perhaps the happiest event in Quezon City during Amoranto’s first year mayor was the inauguration of the new Santo Domingo Church at Quezon Boulevard Extension on Sunday morning, October 1954. The Philippines Free Press waxing ecstatic over it said: finally, after thirteen years, a new Santo Domingo Church has risen in Quezon City. The sixth of its kind since 1587, when the first Dominican Church (of wood) was constructed on the South bank of the Pasig River; the present edifice – refuted to cost three million pesos – is, perhaps, the largest church in the Philippines today.” Its tower soars to about 14 feet to the skies.
     The imposing new church was blessed on the morning of October 10, 1954, with the Most holy Reverend Rufino J. Santos, Archbishop of Manila, officiating. The solemn event was attended by about 500,000 devotees, most of whom stayed in the church all day, to wait for the celebrated La Naval De Manila procession, during which the image of the lovingly revered Nuestra Señora de Santissimo Rosario was transferred from the Santissimio Rosario church in the University of Santo Tomas, to the splendid new church along Quezon Boulevard Extension in Quezon City. It had been kept with great fondness in UST after its former home; the Santo Domingo Church in Intramuros was bombed by the Japanese in December 1941.
     The Sunday Times Magazine, on October 17, 1654, described the massive new Dominican shrine: “The solid looking mass of concrete cut along Spanish colonial and modern lines of the new church is completely different from the gothic lines of the old Church…Where delicate filigree works crown the latter, simple straight lines mark the roof of the former. In place of the ornate Greco – Roman windows, designed by Don Felix Rojas in 1864, the new building has long windows placed by Architect Jose Zaragosa, with an eye for effective ventilation. Where bricks and wood graced the old, mosaic stones, glass and pre – cast ornaments are used to beautify the exterior of the new. Broader, taller and longer, the new speaks of a wider – spread religious devotion and a more intensive faith in the face of war and rumors of war."
     According to Father Augusto Antonio, OP one of the most dearly respected Dominicans who has been one of those directly involved in the La Naval celebrations through the years, says that only the best Filipino artists were commissioned to do the magnificent art pieces in the church. Galo Ocampo, noted painter, made the designs of the attractive stained glass windows, which were executed by Kraut Art – Glass Neon; Carlos V. Francisco, fondly called Botong, painted the eight panels under the cupola, which depicts the life of St. Dominic, founder of the Order of Preachers; while the paintings of the four evangelists, just above the Francisco murals, were done by Antonio Garcia Llamas. The crucifixion, done in wood at the altar was made by the celebrated Pampango sculptor, Nepomuceno. And the picture of St. Dominic behind the altar is, up to this day, the largest mosaic in the Philippines.
     Unknown to many, one of the most precious treasurers of the church, aside from the incalculably valuable image of the Nuestra Senora de “La Naval” and her jewels, is the rare bronze tabernacle with exquisite sculpture inside the outside, and decorated with semi – precious stones. It weighs more than a ton and was made in Spain. Archbishop Santos donated it to the Shrine.
     The La Naval celebration in this new church became Quezon City’s most popular feast; recently, the Quezon City’s most popular feast; recently, the Quezon City Council adopted a resolution making the Nuestra Senora del Santissimo Rosario (Our Lady of La Naval), the patroness of Quezon City.
     A few weeks after Amoranto and Isidro Guevarra were appointed mayor and vice mayor respectively, President Magsaysay announced the rest of the officials of Quezon City. By the end of 1954, the following were in the City Council: Felipe T. Cabrera, Reynaldo T. Ermita, Romulo G. Lucasan, Anacleto Madrilejos, martin Manahan, Nicanor A. Ramirez, Benjamin Paguia, and Gregorio Veluz. Of these, only Madrilejos, the staunch leader of Congressman Eulogio Rodriguez, Jr., was born in Quezon City.
     By March 12, 1654, Damian Jimenez was appointed secretary of the city council, replacing Teodor Gener; on July 1, 1954, Pedro Revilla, of Pasig, Rizal, took over as city fiscal, vice Jose Fernandez, who was the city fiscal since 1948, and who subsequently was appointed judge of the court of first instance of Bukidnon Province. Later, Minerva Inocencio – Piguing was appointed judge of the municipal court, Branch II, and Col. Vicente O. Novales succeeded Col. Crisanto Alba as chief of police.
     This same year, 1954, the San Francisco High School was inaugurated, and the Quirino Project 4, with 3,039 family units spread out on an area of 92 hectares was begun.
     More school buildings were built this year, including those at Bago – Bantay, at Margo Road, San Francisco del Monte at barrio San Jose, while improvements were made to the Quezon City High School building, and a home economics building was put up in Novaliches. The Malamig Health Center was built at a cost of P22, 000.00 and the left wing annex to the City hall – with an appropriation of P75, 000.00 – was begun.
     All in all, Amoranto’s first year in office was a very lively fruitful one; residents of the city who had their doubts about Amoranto’s ability to administer a city – one of them even had this line published in the Manila Chronicle (January 14, 1654): “Any of the aspirants from Quezon City will do, but not Amoranto” – were now quiet. Some of them even went to him, offering to help for the good of the city.
     Amoranto accepted their offer and placed them as members of his ever increasing advisory board.

AMORANTO AND THE IDEALISTS

     Mayor Amoranto brought a new and refreshingly relaxed but business – like atmosphere into the city administration. He slowly tried to put his fiscal affairs in order, using all his known expertise in taxation. He studied the tax collection systems of the city, and found too many loopholes and, more than that, too little motivation for increased tax collection. Businesses in the city were beginning to prosper; but the income of the city hardly changed. During his first few years at the helm of the city government, he was more often with the city treasurer than with anybody else – except the chief of police. He encouraged more business concerns to move to Quezon City, by giving them attractive tax environment. While other cities like Manila and Makati were racing each other in increasing taxes, Amoranto tried to keep the status quo in taxes. What he tried to improve was tax collection using various enticing means to encourage and activate the taxpayers into paying their legal due. Thus, his policy became “increased collection, without increased taxation.”
     It was quite a feat, but Mayor Amoranto succeeded magnificently. In a matter of months, the city coffers showed signs of filling up as it had never been before. This was going to be the Amoranto standard: accenture the positive in tax collection, and improve the city’s finances thereby. He vowed that the city would no longer have a deficit economy; and that the city would no longer be beholden to the national treasury for financial assistance in the running of the government. When Amoranto took over in 1954, the total income of the City was only P4, 300,000.00. This income was going to go up year after year. During the session of Congress in 1955, Quezon City, though strong representations of Senate President Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez and Finance Secretary Jaime Hernandez, was recommended not to be included in the omnibus bill of its own, unlike all the others which Tagaytay, it would have a charter of its own, unlike all the others which follow a uniform one. According to Hernandez, Quezon City should not be lumped up with the others, “because it is the Capital of the Philippines.”

HEALTH CENTERS

     In stark contrast to this, however, was the condition of the Quezon City Health Service. Transportation facilities of the Service for the entire Quezon City – with a population of 350,000 in 1955 – consisted of only one ambulance and a jeep that was always under repair. These two vehicles were meant to serve the 22 health centers established in several outlaying areas. Dr. Petronio G. Monsol, head of the health department of Quezon City. The personnel of the department were then composed of 16 doctors, 16 nurses, 16 dentists and 16 midwives.”
     Nevertheless, the health centers kept on increasing. In 1955, a health center was built in Roxas Homesite, in Galas and La Loma while Quirino High School was opened at about the same time.
     On January 18, 1956, the infamous La Loma Cabaret, which had been the target of fury and anger by well – meaning residents of the city, burned down mysteriously. When Mayor Amoranto and two other ranking officials refused mysteriously, when Mayor Amoranto and two other ranking officials refused to grant the permit to reopen the cabaret, because, in Amoranto’s words that it may eventually serve as breeding place of immoralities and even corruption of minors. The Chinese owner, Sy Chuico, filed a petition for mandamus with preliminary injunction, and Mayor Amoranto personally appeared before Judge Nicacio Yatco of the Court of First Instance, and he was roundly applauded, especially by delegations of civic – spirited La Loma residents.

ORTHOPEDIC HOSPITAL

     Another significant and urgently necessary hospital came up in Quezon City on October 29, 1956. The cornerstone of the National orthopedic Hospital was laid on Banaue Avenue at 10:00 a.m. in simple rites officiated by Senator Gil Puyat. The P4 million hospitals, according to Assistant Health Secretary Dr. Tranquilino Elicano, started as an emergency hospital in 1945, of the Philippine Civil Affairs Unit, branching out in 1947 as the Mandaluyong Emergency Hospital. It became known as the National Orthopedic Hospital only in 1948.
     As planned before, the national orthopedic hospital was to be transferred to a private land in Alabang, then to the stone buildings of San Lazaro Hospital. But these were all abandoned.
     Attending the ceremony were Health Secretary Paulino Garcia; he said that the 400 – bed hospital for the physical handicapped will be constructed from funds authorized by R.A. No. 1200, 1411 and 1613. The laying of the cornerstone was followed by remarks of Dr. Benjamin Tamesis, the director of the hospital.
     As vacancies came up in the city council – such as when Benjamin paguia died – the following were subsequently appointed: Gregorio B. Veluz, Jesus M. Ponce, Luciano M. Dominguez, and Isabelo T. Crisostomo.

RESIGNATION OF MAYOR AMORANTO

     At early dawn of Sunday, March 17, 1957, President Ramon Magsaysay died in airplane crash on the slopes of Mt. Manunggal, in Cebu. Vice President Carlos P. Garcia was then in Sydney, Australia attending a council meeting of the SEATO organization as secretary of foreign affairs. Immediately flying back home Garcia took over the presidency to complete the last eight months of Magsaysay in the office.
     Amoranto sent his courtesy resignation at once to Malacañang; swarms of politicians’ protégés went to the palace as aspirants to the mayoralty. But the new president did not want to make serious changes in Magsaysay’s government. In fact, he retained the entire Cabinet of the deceased. Besides, elections were coming up in November and he had to prepare for it.

PUBLIC DEMANDS FOR AN ELECTION

     Some weeks before the elections, Amoranto assigned Major Bibiano Viña as acting police chief, to replace Col. Vicente Novales who joined President Garcia’s security guards. At about this time, public demands for an elective mayor, vice mayor and councilor had become insistent among the residents of Quezon City. The Santa Mesa Heights Homeowners Association at a meeting on October 17, 1957, urged the President and Congress to Approved bill which would make this so. Actually, the measure was approved by the house of Representatives during the last regular session, and was now awaiting action by the Senate. The Local Lawyers Association made the same petition.

ASPIRANTS FOR RE–APPOINTMENT

     The absence of a re-appointment, the jockeying for mayoralty of Quezon City became more brisk, and there were at least fifteen aspirants for the post, according to Manila Chronicle. Among the aspirants were: Carlitos David, former Mayor Ignacio Santos Diaz, J. V. Cruz, Jose Aspiras, Willie Jurado.
     Meanwhile, in the wake of these entire four over the mayoralty post, the construction of the P13 million Capitol building on construction Hiss started on December 5, 1957, upon the final approval of the work contract by Public Works Secretary Florencio Moreno. The building of the lower house building would have thirteen stories, designed by Federico Ilustre, architect of the Department of Public Works.
     Amoranto, announced that on December 20, 1957, the laying of the cornerstone of the P2 million City Hall was to be held. The plans and designs of this building, which would be Silangan Avenue, near the Quezon Memorial Circle in Diliman, were also made by Ilustre. The Philippine Home site and Housing Corporation had given the site to the city, and the construction of the City hall on Highway 54 might used to house the Quezon City High School.

FIRST BUILDING CONSTRUCTED IN QUEZON CITY

     The first national office building constructed in Quezon City was the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources building. Near it, would be the bureau of Agricultural Extension building. The DANR building was nearing completion by the end of 1957, while the BAE building was expected to be finished by March or April of 1958.

AMORANTO’S ACHIEVEMENTS DURING HIS TERM

     Amoranto cited during a press conference his most important achievements in 1958: the increase in real estate taxes, the eradication of juvenile delinquency, construction of several public school buildings and health centers. He said then, that the city government was able to balance the budget despite the reduction of P300, 000 in national financial aid to the city administration.
     Amoranto stayed on as mayor. Garcia’s spectacular showing in Quezon City convinced him that the incumbent mayor was the one the people wanted.

POLICE DEPARTMENT IN 1958

     By 1958, the Police department had a force of 616 men, this time under Major Vina.

ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

      Luciano Aquino was appointed chief of the architectural division of the Engineering Department. This division had 100 employees, including 11 architects, 14 engineers and several draftsmen.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS

     By the year-end, the annexes of Quezon City High School in Kamuning, namely: La Loma, San Francisco and Quirino were made autonomous. A principal was appointed for each one.

LOCAL OFFICIALS IN CHARTERED CITIES BECAME ELECTIVE

     On June 19, 1959, Congress passed Republic Act No. 2259, “making elective the offices of mayor, vice mayor and councilors in chartered cities, regulating the election in such cities and fixing the salaries and tenure if such offices.”” Although the act included Quezon City, it did not apply to the cities of Manila, Cavite, Trece Martires, and Tagaytay. To provide for the election of the mayor, vice mayor and eight councilors of Quezon City, its charter was revised.

QUEZON CITY’ELECTION on November 10, 1959.

     The first elections for mayor, vice mayor and eight councilors was held on November 10, 1959. Amoranto ran for the mayoralty post that he had been holding for five years. There were 20 other aspirants for the position of mayoralty, but was narrowed down to six.
     Kerima Poltan wrote in Progress 1959, a Manila Times annual publication, “Mayor Amoranto is a large man with plenty of personal charm and winning ways of a seasoned politician, even if he often speaks of himself as a “Novato” in the game.
     80 days before the elections, in August, 1959, a handful of idealistic, civic minded men joined forces, the Quezon City citizens League of Good Government, to find out what concerned citizens could do to improve a lot of their city. This group started as a neighborhood association of the residents of Mariposa and Makiling (Now Conrado Benitez) streets, not far from the LVN studios. The area was strictly residential, but one day they woke up to find that a television tower was being erected in one of the vacant lot there. Thus, the association was formed, and brought the case before the Quezon City Council. The leaders of the group were Tomas C. Benitez, Baldomero T. Olivera and Pedro Teodoro. The city council listened to them, but the resolution to put up the tower had already been passed. Thus, the group went to court after that.
     The group then realized that they were ineffective, unless they have a voice in the city council itself. Thus, they mobilized other concerned citizens and they selected truly distinguished men from 40 which were presented to the committee on selection. They were: Vidal A. Tan, former U.P. president; Pedro Tuazon, former secretary of justice; Conrado Benitez, former U.P. dean, and one of the drafters of the 1935 constitution, Proceso Sebastian, former senator, ex-ambassador to the Vatican and Indonesia, and ex-justice of the court of appeals; Carlos Albert, former chief of Intelligence and chief of naval operations, AFP; and Victoriano Diamonon, a political scientist with a Ph.D from Iowa, former UP and FEU Professor and a member of the Philippine delegation to the United Nations.
     The group followed the tradition of the celebrated national Municipal League in America, which since it was founded in 1894; head helped the citizens in helping themselves to a cleaner, more efficient and more responsible local government. The six accepted the challenge willingly, and agreed not to spend a single centavo from their pockets. The contributions poured, however from numerous civic individuals of the city.
     The six “idealist” won the landslide victory out of the 160 candidates for the council.

POPULATION and INCOME OF QUEZON CITY IN 1960

     Quezon City had a population of 397,990 and the city’s income was P6, 489,285.50, and P5, 246,869.93 of this which were derived from real estate taxes. There were now 50,000 students and the number of schools had increased.
     During this period, Amoranto had notable accomplishments for the city. Among these were the codification for the first time in city ordinances on taxes and revenues, improvement of public school buildings, health centers and public markets, building of roads and bridges, construction of public parks and public markets, building of roads and bridges, construction of public parks and playgrounds, improvement of the efficiency and moral of the police department, and general expansion of the city services. And his greatest achievement in his first term was in the opening the city hall to the common man.

CITY COUNCIL

     In 1960, while the City Council under the predominantly CLGG influence, appointed Castro C. Unson as city secretary (he resigned on September 7, 1961 and was succeeded by Rustico Valdellon), vice Tomas A. Eustaquio, while Amoranto appointed Anacleto Samson Madrilejos, secretary to the Mayor, a position he occupied almost till the end of Amoranto’s regime. And on February 8, 1960, through the recommendation of the Citizen’s League of good Government, Lt. Tomas B. Karingal, Provincial Commander of the Philippine Constabulary in Iloilo was appointed Chief of police.
     The very first thing the CLGG-dominated council did upon being installed into office was to hire experts in real estate to make possible the establishment of real and fair values for the real estate properties of the city residents.
     The city council also sponsored a “Pay your Taxes in Quezon city” campaign, resulting in an increase of 300 percent in taxes paid.

CITY SCHOOLS

     On February 2, 1961, Generoso del Rosario was appointed the first assistant superintendent of city schools. The following year, on July 5, 1962, Alfredo J. Andal, former superintendent of schools in Bulacan province was appointed city superintendent of schools, succeeding Pablo P. Reyes who retired.

QUEZON CITY INCOME

     A major setback in income occurred in 1962, when President Macapagal signed Republic Act No. 3463 which exempted the People’s Homesite and Housing Corporation (PHHC) from payment of all taxes, duties, fees and other charges. It even condoned all taxes unpaid by the PHHC up to the passage of the Act. On the record, the PHHC owed the Quezon City government about 4 million in real estate taxes which was paid to it by lot buyers, but which PHHC did not turn over to the City.

ELECTIONS 1963

     Another election was coming up in 1963. Many surmised that Amoranto would not run again, considering that he had just a serious heart ailment.
     The results of this election astounded everybody, including Mayor Amoranto himself. Amoranto was reelected with an unbelievable majority over Vicente Novales. Amoranto’s candidates captured all the other positions and even his vice mayoralty candidate, Mariano M. Santa Romana, Jr., a complete unknown then, won over several candidates including Dr. Vidal Tan.
     In 1964, as Quezon City reached its twenty-fifth year of life, witnesses of its development could not help but lament the fact that after a quarter of a century of dreaming and planning and making appropriations, the national Capital Site had not come up to expectations; in fact, it had not come up at all.
     The site of the government center had an area of 1341/2 hectares; it was purchased from the Eulogio Rodriguez Estate, which included the Dona Juana subdivision. The work on the House of representative building was started on February 1958, but was suspended in August 1960 for lack of funds.
     The Amoranto era, which had began inauspiciously in 1954, now began in earnest.
     In 1964, the city took pride in having ten public libraries, headed by City Superintendent of Libraries, Atty. Felicidad Peralta.
     It maintained its 26 health centers.
     The number of police force had doubled since 1957. The city finds it is still inadequate to cope with ever increasing crime wave that afflicts the entire country. Each of the 741 policemen patrols an area of some 200 hectares population by some 4,000 persons. It’s 6 to 12 mobile units roam the city streets twenty four hours a day with an area of 1,500 hectares.
     On the occasion Quezon City’s 25th anniversary, the Amoranto administration set aside P1, 500,000 as initial outlay for the new City hall. The cornerstone was laid in simple but memorable ceremonies on October 12, 1964.
     Everyone present during the ceremonies was impressed by the amazing progress of the City. They noted that next to Manila, Quezon City had the largest income among the municipal entities in the country and had three times more that Makati, the plushest Manila suburb. Residents of the city had the highest per capita income in the country and had also the highest literacy rate.
     Quezon City had the most number of housing projects and home sites. The People’s Homesite Corporation started with 200 housing units along Diliman creek, now known as Roxas District of PHHC Project 1. the other major government projects were: Quirino Dsitrict (Projects 2, 3, and 4); Magsaysay District (Project 6), with the very first “Newsmen row” in the country; Bagong Pag-asa, which was the first squatters’ resettlement area; Veteran’s Village (Project 7); and Toro Hills Homesite (Project 8).
     Quezon City had five resorts, five fashionable golf courses, six public swimming pools, numerous shopping centers, and a number of night clubs. It has 13 churches and 22 hospitals and the Araneta Coliseum, which was vaunted to be “the biggest domed entertainment area in the world.”

QUEZON CITY SQUATTERS PROBLEM

     According to then Councilor Jesus V. Merritt, there were about 50,000 squatters in Quezon City, 50 percent of which are people who are “not needy” but “greedy.” Vice Mayor Santa Romana said then, that Quezon City alone cannot solve the squatters’ problem. It needs the assistance of the National Government in the resettlement of squatters and should be given priority.
     The Quezon City government in its vain attempt to stop squatters from mushrooming in the government owned lands, tried to invoke the power of the City Mayor as stipulated in Section 8, paragraph (p) of the Quezon City charter. The City engineer’s Office had been ordered time and time again to issue notices to the squatters, but they petitioned the court for the issuance of preliminary injunction to stop the government from exercising the power of the City Mayor.

QUEZON CITY AS "SCIENCE CENTER"

     Nevertheless, other brighter things were happening in Quezon City. As the fifties rolled on, the city was fast becoming the “science center” of the country. On August 31, 1953, the Manila Observatory of the Jesuits was inaugurated at Loyola Heights by His Eminence Rufino Cardinal Santos. Built with funds supplied by the Philippine War Damage Commission, and invested by the Society of Jesus, the observatory- which had a long and distinguished history from its original place in Padre Faura, manila was equipped with sensitive instruments for detection and recording of atmospheric disturbances, solar behavior, earthquakes and tsunamis (tidal waves). The director was Father James J. Hennessey.
     At the end of the same year, the first atomic reactor in the Philippines and fourth in Asia, shaped like a bullet, began to “explode” in the middle of a five-hectare lot near the University of the Philippines. The 2 million reactors were of one megawatt and called a “baryde” or swimming pool type and was the kind known for safety, simplicity and versatility. This was acquired from the United States in bilateral agreement signed last Jul 27, 1955. it would be administered and operated by the Philippine Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC). It’s Commissioner, Col. Francisco Medina, assured the public that no harmful radio-active gases will emit and all other elements emitted by the reactor like liquids and gases will be properly monitored and altered before disposal.
     With this reactor, Scientists would be able to do researches in the fields of agriculture, engineering and physical sciences. Some of the researches were; “Ears of corn as long as a man’s arm and as thick as his legs, triple and fill harvests from ricelands at; to find better and cheaper ways of building lasting homes and edifices; and opportunity for native talents to gain world renown.
     A few weeks after the reactor “exploded” for the first time, the National Science development Board Chairman Juan Salcedo Jr. announced that the American-Philippine Science Foundation “is moving towards fulfillment of its pledge to raise funds in the United States to match the Philippine government budgetary allocations for the first science high school in the country”. The first of its kind in the Far East,
     On August 1, 1964, the Quezon city school was opened with an initial 150 scholars. Although it opened on schedule, the school would not be able to have its own lot and buildings until 1970, when the Philippine Science High School purchased from PHHC a seven hectare piece of real estate for P7 million. The contract of sale was signed by PHHC board of Directors and the NSDB Chairman Florencio Medina.

QUEZON CITY ROADS

     In 1962, the Kamias Anonas road was completed. It was the first concrete road ever constructed in Quezon City. It had a full length of 2.11 kilometers, with construction cost of P177, 935. The second concrete road was the Novaliches-Ipo Avenue, with a full length of 14.130 kilometers and which cost 1.8 million.
     Quezon City on its 25th year, still lacked many things, own hospital, nor a modern slaughterhouse, a composting plant, a zoo, a cultural center or theater, a technical school, a city university, a museum, a cemetery. In the City Hall, it did not even have a Cultural affairs office. On its silver anniversary, the dream of Quezon was still far from fulfillment.
     But as it had been for years and years, while the city was moving forward rapidly, the National Capital site was at a virtual standstill.

THE AMORANTO STADIUM

     In 1966, President Ferdinand E. Marcos inaugurated the handsome athletic stadium, constructed on a 5.8 hectare government owned site along Roces Avenue. The complex consists of a grandstand, and eight lane track and field ovel, bleachers and a gymnasium. It was built at a cost of P2 million. From the time that the President inaugurated the stadium, it had been the scene of many important national and city-wide athletic events. The stadium now bears the name of Mayor Amoranto.
     In March 1967, a bipartisan group of senators introduced senate bill no. 200. This bill sought to expedite the transfer of national government offices to Quezon City this new bill has direction, unlike the previous laws, which had no direction as far as the actual transfer was concerned. It directed the Department of General Services to transfer all government center and to finance the transfer of national government office to the Capital City of the Philippines and to create a modern integrated government center costing P300 million. This act considerably buoyed up all the stagnant hopes of the people of Quezon City that the dream of President Quezon would soon be realized.
     November 14, 1967 was another election year for local officials. Others said that it was to be the most raucous elections ever. There were seven candidates for Mayor and five for vice mayor and approximately 85 for councilors.
     Amoranto’s campaign strategy was simple. He went from house to house, talked to the people directly, listened to their grievances and their joys and sympathized with them their difficulties, thus he won by a big margin. On his fourteenth year as Mayor of Quezon City, the voters gave him his greatest majority. With him were his vice mayor, Ismael Mathay Jr. and his councilors were: Eduardo Paredes, Rafael Mison Jr., saturnine Bermudez, Florenmtino Lapuz, Jesus Perlas, Hermogenes Caluag, Alfredo Francisco (Fred Montillo), and Romulo Lucasan. Of the councilors, only Jesus Perlas and Alfredo Francisco were not in his ticket.
     In 1967, Amoranto created the Cultural Affairs Office through ordinance No. 7164. This office would advice the Mayor on cultural matters and provides a program for the development, appreciation and enhancement of culture in the city. The first appointed cultural affairs director was Celso Al. Carunungan.
     The same year, the San Jose Seminary, with its building and lot of 14.7 hectares, located in Seminary Road, EDSA, Bago Bantay, which was purchased in 1966, became the Quezon City General Hospital. It was opened in the latter part of 1967, with the consent of the Bureau of Medical Service, Department of Health, and using personnel from other offices, particularly the Quezon City health Department and with the purchase of hospital equipment from Philippine Charity Sweepstakes funds amounting to about P85, 000.
     By this time, the City is now operating ten public libraries and had established an incinerator and thermal plant valued at P10, 400,400. Likewise, the construction of the city hall in front of the Quezon Memorial Circle was started by Weldon Construction Co.
     Twenty six subdivisions were approved by the Council, giving Quezon City the lead among all other cities in the Philippines.
     On September 9, 1968, the Sixth Congress of the Philippines approved Republic Act No. 5441, which is an “act further amending the Revised Charter of Quezon City.” This Act increased the number of councilors from eight to sixteen. For purposes of electing councilor, and for all administrative and other municipal purposes, Quezon City was divided into four councilor districts, as follows:
     (a) First Councilor District. All part of the territory of Quezon City bounded on the North by the center line of Epifanio de los Santos beginning from the boundary limits of Quezon City with Caloocan City up to the center line of its intersection with Quezon Boulevard Extension; thence, by the center line of Quezon Boulevard Extension in a southwesterly direction up to the boundary of Quezon City with the City of Manila.
     (b) Second Councilor District. All parts of the territory of Quezon City bounded on the South by the center line of Epifanio de Los Santos Avenue beginning from the boundary limits of Quezon City with Caloocan City up to the center line of its intersection of Kamias up to its intersection with the center line of Chico Road; thence, along Chjco Road up to center line of its intersection with Katipunan Road; thence, along the center line of Katipunan Road up to the center line of its intersection with Aurora boulevard, and thence, along the center line of Aurora Boulevard up to the boundary limits of Quezon City with the province of Rizal.
     (c) Third Councilor District. All parts of the territory of Quezon City bounded on the west by the center line of Epifanio de los Santos Avenue beginning from its boundary limits with the Province of Rizal; thence, to the center of its intersection with Kamias Road up to the center line of Katipunan Road; thence, along the center line of its intersection with Aurora boulevard up to the city boundary with the Province of Rizal.
     (d) Fourth Councilor District. All parts of Quezon City bounded on the Northwest by the center line of Quezon Boulevard Extension beginning from the boundary limits of Quezon City with the City of Manila up to the center line o9f the intersection of Epifanio de los Santos Avenue in a Southwesterly up to the boundary limit of the City with the Province of Rizal.
     In 1972, New Year’s Day, Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto was inducted mayor for the fifth time at the new Quezon City hall Quadrangle. The day too, marked the first inauguration of the sixteen councilors.
     Amoranto was sworn into office by Senator Quintin Paredes, Sr. while Carlos J. Albert was sworn into office by Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr. After the swearing in, mayor Amoranto declared, “We, who are at the helm of the city government, have vowed with all our hearts to lead, assist, and the city that is now the capital of our Republic. But I must stress that if, in our community today, we are enjoying moral, material, political and social stability and security, these we owe largely to all the residents here who have given their love, faith and hope in the promise and destiny of this metropolis. To them, we give our endless gratitude, with the earnest prayer that our abiding dedication to their well being and happiness be worthy of our continuing trust.”

MARTIAL LAW IN QUEZON CITY

President Marcos with his arch-critic Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr. before martial law was proclaimed in 1972 (wikipedia.com)

     On September 21, 1972, President Marcos declared Martial Law. The effect upon Quezon City was heart-stirring but calm. But Amoranto was ready for any circumstances. Life in Quezon City then, became humdrum except for the fact that, with sweeping and effective control of guns, the criminality and lawlessness in the city abated and the crime rate decreased by as much as 60 per cent because of the aggressive drive by the police force. The peaceful condition in the city spurred greater progress in business and industry.

CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW QUEZON CITY HALL BUILDING

Quezon City Hall

     Rising majestically to a height of 150 feet, upon a 12 hectare park-like area, it was then the tallest edifice in Quezon City It had fourteen floors, each one with an area of 1,280 square meters. The building was built at a total cost of P18 million, but the city did not pay that amount in one lump sum. The construction begun on the principle of “pay as we go”, although the cornerstone of the edifice was laid in 1962, the building project was not actually started at once, due to the fiscal difficulties of the city then. It was only in 1964, when the city council passed Resolution No. 6670, that the actual construction was begun. The resolution was awarded the contract to Ruperto C. Gaite, and was under the supervision of the city engineer’s office, under Pantaleon Tabora. The City hall was Amoranto’s most persistent and obsessive dream ever since he became mayor in Quezon City in 1954. This building was formally inaugurated in its entirety immediately after the oath-taking ceremonies of the Mayor, Vice Mayor and Councilors on January 1, 1972.
     The new Quezon City Hall became the venue of the constitutional convention, which was formerly held at the Manila Hotel. This was due to some problems that arose in the convention including the cost of keeping up the sessions. Amoranto offered the Quezon City Hall Building for its free use.
     From then on, Quezon City Hall had become the center of national attention, thus, Mayor Amoranto started to improve the compound. First Lady Imelda Marcos then was also been very supportive, thus instructed the landscaping and the beautification of the entire compound.
     On Valentine’s Day, Quezon City was again catapulted into the world spotlight with the inauguration of the Philippine Heart Center for Asia, the first of its kind. This was considered the best-equipped heart center in Asia with advanced facilities.
     On February 27, 1975, a referendum was held. President Ferdinand Marcos issued Presidential Decree No. 824, “creating the Metropolitan Manila and the Metropolitan Manila Commission and for other purposes.
     Mayor Amoranto and Vice Mayor Albert continued serving the people of Quezon City with the same ardor and the same dispatch as they had done before.
     On August 17, 1975 The United Doctors Medical Center was blessed and inaugurated just off the Welcome sign at the boundary of Manila and Quezon City. This 11 – storey, 450 bed hospital became one of Quezon City’s medical landmarks. It was during this period that other hospitals in Quezon City were put up: St. Luke’s Hospital, Children’s Memorial Hospital, Capitol Medical Center, Ortanez General Hospital, De los Santos General Hospital, the Quirino Labor Hospital and the National Orthopedic Hospital.
     In March, 1976, Mayor Amoranto tendered his resignation and expressed his wish to retire from office. He knew that he had done much to fulfill the dream of President Quezon.
     On March 30, 1976, President Ferdinand Marcos accepted his resignation.
     On December 22, 1979, after jogging for an hour along the Quezon Memorial Circle, Amoranto felt a stabbing pain in his chest. He was taken to the Philippine Heart Center, but by the time he got to the hospital, he expired.
     He left behind his wife, Asisola and their children, Norberto Jr., Wilhelmina, Rebecca and Luisisto.

CHAPTER 10

THE ADELINA S. RODRIGUEZ ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Adelina S. Rodriguez

April 1, 1976 – April 13, 1986

     After Mayor Amoranto tendered his resignation on March 30, 1976, President Marcos and First Lady Imelda Marcos had chosen Adelina Rodriguez to take his place. On March 31, 1976, Rodriguez took her oath of office before the President.
     Mayor Adelina Rodriguez is the wife of then governor of the province of Rizal, Isidro Rodriguez. She comes form an affluent Pampango family whose social standing is enviable. Her father, the late Eleuterio Santos, used to run several first class theaters in manila-the grand opera house, Plaza Theater and the Tivoli. She went to the finest schools, like Assumption convent, where she entered as a fourth grader in 19130 and went to finish high school in the College of the Holy Spirit. She took up education in the University of Santo Tomas, major in home economics. While in UST, she was proclaimed “Ms. Education,” and she was a participant in practically all the programs of her school.
     While a high school senior, she met Isidro Rodriguez, son of Amang Rodriguez, then Mayor of Manila. He was then graduating from the UP college of Law; and she was six years senior younger than Isidro. Because Isidro Rodriguez was so insistent, before she graduated, she was already married and big with child.
     She became active in social work. Isidro was then in his second term as Governor of the Province of Rizal. She became president of the Rizal Federation of Women’s Clubs, and went on to become an officer-either as chairman or president- of numerous other civic organizations. She believed that her club work and social activities had given her the necessary grounding for the political career ahead of her. It gave her virtues of tolerance, patience and understanding. She was supported by civic clubs and business groups.
     On March 31, 1978, President Ferdinand Marcos issued Proclamation No. 1726, declaring the year of 1978 as the Manuel L. Quezon Centennial Year and designating the National Historical Institute. Quezon City was to be the center of the nation wide celebration and the site of the events. The President urged NHI to initiate and sponsor a three-day Congress or Convention in Quezon City the theme of which would highlight the building and progress of the Filipino nation.
     On August 18, 1978- the day before the centennial- the marker declaring the Quezon Memorial Circle as a National Historical Landmark under Presidential Decree No. 260, was unveiled. Later, the Quezon Museum at the Quezon Monument was opened followed by the transfer of the remains of President Manuel Quezon from North cemetery to Quezon Monument and Museum. There was a floral offering followed by a parade and the presentation of commemorative stamps, coins and medals by the First Lady, Imelda Marcos.
     On January 30, 1980, Interim Batasang Pambansa passed B.P. Act. No. 52, which decreed the holding of the first local elections since 1971. The elections were for Governor, Vice Governor, and members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan; in towns and cities, mayor, vice mayor. The Sangguniang Pambayan except those included in Metro manila. Here, only the mayor and vice mayor were to be elected.
     Mayor Rodriguez run as mayoralty candidate under the KBL. Her running mate was Stephen Sarino.
     She won with a phenomenal majority; making her the first and only woman elected to the mayoralty post of Quezon City, likewise, Stephen Sarino won as her Vice-Mayor. They were inducted by the First Lady and Governor of Metro Manila, Mrs. Imelda R. Marcos in Malacanang.
     Year 1981, Quezon City now has a museum, numerous cemeteries, including one which even contains the shrine to Melchora Aquino, the mother of the Philippine Revolution, called Himlayang Pilipino, the Eternal Gardens Memorial Park, upon which stands the famed transfiguration by Napoleon V. Abueva, and the Statue of Lorenzo Ruiz, by Florendo Caedo, the same sculptor who did the monument of Manuel l. Quezon that now stands in the City hall quadrangle.
     There had been cultural activities that include tourism festival, lantern contests, orchid and flower shows, food festivals, kite flying contests, Santacruzan, Senakulo and Way of the Cross and such other activities. It also supported the Bicycle Band, the first of its kind in the Philippines and the celebrated, world famous pangkat Kawayan, under the baton of Victor “chino” Toledo, with the supervision of Laura R. Gorospe and Elena C. Carlos.
     There were 26 parks and playgrounds, 7 seports centers, 25 movie theaters, 4 public tennis courts, 4 pelota courts and 8 bowlodromes, 8 government hosuing projects and 489 private subdivisions.
     There were 137 barangays, with four kilometers of concrete roads and 19, 749 asphalt paved streets.
     The Mayor keeps close contact with the people through her “Palagiang Paglingap sa Mamamayan” and the Public Affairs and Information Services Office, which takes care of communicating regularly with the barangays, government agencies and private groups.
     Quezon City, under the stewardship of Mayor Rodriguez, was able to catch up with the growing demands for development infrastructure, community service and the seven-point management program enunciated by the First Lady and Metro manila Governor Imelda Marcos. This program is intended to meet the immediate social needs of the metropolitan residents for health care, recreation, and leisure activities, cultural advancement and ecological balance.
     Her vision was geared towards the improvement of underdeveloped streets and facilities designed to stave off decay and underdevelopment of communities. It also included installation of public faucets and artesian wells at depressed areas.
     The administration has successfully removed encroachments at Halang Creek in San Francisco Del Monte, Estero de Valencia in West Crame, widened portion of creek in Dario River, cleaned open canal from Andrea Malong to Aurora Boulevard, and widened and deepened creek at the western portion of the Philippine heart Center for Asia on East Avenue.
     It was also during her administration that the Kamuning Market slaughterhouse at a cost of P150,000, installation of lighting facilities at the QC police headquarters at a cost of P9,880, the general repair of Ramon Magsaysay High School, P60,000, the electrical installation at the Capri relocation center, construction of four waiting sheds on Anonas Street, and the establishment of the PNRC Assembly Hall which costs, P136,000. were accomplished.
     Other accomplished projects were: completion of Bulwagan ng mga Barangay, Camp E. Aguinaldo High School canteen, scale model of the 42 hectare park, Metro Manila fruit production project, scale model of sidewalks and plant boxes along Quezon Avenue, E. Rodriguez High School, inventory of public buildings, Project 2 Market, QC High School, centralized warehouse and gathering of maps on open spaces.
     Programmed by the QC Development and planning board and duly approved by the DLGCD, city development projects are implemented and/or monitored by its staff. Among these projects were:
     1. City Comprehensive development plan submission of a preliminary planning report with a conceptual land use plan to the MMC and the Human Settlements Commission.
     2. Continuing analysis of development programs.
     3. Bo. Escopa development project.
     4. Continuing assessment and prioritizing of city development projects.
     5. Participation and extension of technical assistance in the zoning and land use of the municipalities of Pasig, Marikina and Pateros.
     6. Mobilization of barangay leaders in the preparation of city’s zoning land use survey.
     7. Feasibility study for an “Agora” type markets in Novaliches and Dapitan and the project study for a city integrated slaughterhouse.
     It was also during the administration of Rodriguez that Quezon City has fully managed to correct a three decade long historical anomaly concerning the absence of a fitting memorial to its founder Manuel Luis Molina Quezon.
     The monument was unveiled on August 19, 1977 at Quezon City quadrangle. The monument was cast in bronze and stands 11 feet tall half twice the life size of Quezon on a 14-feet high marble pedestal. This unveiled in commemoration of the 99th birthday of Quezon.

CHAPTER 11

THE BRIGIDO R. SIMON, JR. ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Brigido R. Simon, Jr.

April 18, 1986 – May 10, 1992

     On April 20, 1986, Brigido R. Simon, Jr. was named officer in charge of Quezon City until November 30, 1987. In the next local elections on January 18, 1988, he won for city mayor. He was considered the youngest elected mayor of Quezon City having been sworn into office at the age of 37.
     He was a civic leader, social analyst, economist and a businessman. He once lived among the poor in the Tondo foreshore land for six months after graduating from Ateneo de Manila University in 1973. He finished A. B. Economics. He was known for as an student activist during his college days. He worked in Mindanao for three years as Executive assistant in the Mindanao Development Authority. He also served as consultant to the National; Housing Authority in 1976 and went into business after serving the government. A year later, he delegated the management of his business to further support movements for change in the Marcos Regime and was Desk Officer of Regions 9 & 12 in the Presidential campaign for President Aquino and Vice Pres. Laurel where he exposed the ghost precincts in Lanao. He was Vice President of Rotary Club of Kamuning in 1983-1984; President of St. Louise Homeowners Neighborhood Association, 1983-1984; Chairman, Public Service Committee, PDP Laban Chairman, Commission on Electoral Politics, Bandila Council Member of PDP-Laban National Treasurer.
     He initiated the P20 million Manresa Housing Redevelopment Program as the initial start of the government thrust to house all city residents under the socialized housing program; initiated the purchase of 30 fully equipped new mobile patrol cars for the use of integrated National Police in cooperation with the city council and the campaign against lewd shows and indecent shows in Quezon City.
     He also launched the “Payatas Estate Housing Program” which is open to all landless individuals either residing or working Quezon City. He was the moving force behind the “Greening of Quezon City” Program which highlights the painting of 300,000 trees along the main thoroughfares, schools, parks, and other places in Quezon City.
     Brigido R. Simon, Jr., the young and energetic chief executive, is elaving no stones unturned in the fulfillment of this commitment.
     He has set programs of the city, which will guide all activities of his administration. These were housing, employment, cleanliness, and sanitation, public morality, public services, the environment, political reconciliation, public health, peace and order, public education and economic growth.
     He had two pilot housing projects One in San Francisco Del Monte and one in Payatas.
     There were 134 housing projects in the first batch which were awarded to beneficiaries including city government employees. Other housing projects were Delmundo subdivision in Novaliches, Escopa, and Project 4.
     Mayor Simon, designed the division of Quezon City into 24 sub-cities through ordinance passed by the city council, each one headed by a city councilor holding the title of deputy mayor, to accelerate the delivery of basic services to the people of the city.
     At a meeting with the 140 barangay captains of the city, Simon urged them to the development programs of the city. Immediate assignments of the sub-city officials are peace and order and proper garbage disposal.
     The “sub city” concept in Quezon City’s version of “perestroika” or restructuring, which aims at reducing bureaucracy through the delegation of power and responsibilities to the smaller units of governments in the city.
     The aim, in the end, is for the citizens to become more involved in city programs and activities. Despite criticisms from some sectors, the sub-city formula in Quezon City is an innovation in the country.
     It was during his term that a polytechnic school in San Bartolome, Novaliches was set, where students were trained in skills needed by local firms, notably Rubberworld Philippines, which assured the local government of at least 2,000 sure jobs to the first graduates of the polytechnic school.
     Simon was one of the advocates of the merger of Quezon City, Rizal and Quezon. The essential aim of this merger is to speed up political, economic, and social progress in these local government units.
     The three officials say the merger idea has become attractive to them because of their dissatisfaction with their existing political groupings. The merger would mean the three units bolting their present regional affiliations.
     QC would get out of Metropolitan Manila, which has four cities and 13 towns then. Quezon and Rizal would drop out of CALABARZON, which fuses the five provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal and Quezon.
     Simon calls Metro Manila the “stillbirth of enterprising ideas,” pointing to the inability of the national capital region to lay down policies that respond effectively to the needs of its constituents.
     In Metro Quezon, each of the three local units will play specific roles. They are as follows: Quezon City will be the financial hub and civic center. It will be the center of trading, banking and financial services, communication, postal, hotel facilities, restaurants and other food services, entertainment and shopping services. Rizal will be the food basin, blessed as it is with vast fishing grounds, grazing land and tillable soil. It will also provide ecological balance. And Quezon province will be the seaport, as it fronts the Pacific Ocean. It will also seek to become an international airport.
     According to them, the first step is to conduct a plebiscite to get the people’s approval of the concept.

Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon, Jr. meets with Mandaluyong City Mayor Benjamin S. Abalos, Jr.

CHAPTER 12

THE ISMAEL A. MATHAY, JR. ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Ismael A. Mathay, Jr.

May 11, 1992 – June 30, 2001

     Ismael Mathay was born in Manila on June 26, 1932. He is a product of both public and private schools. He took up Business Administration from the University of the Philippines. He was also a member of the U.P. Senior Council and later joined the editorial board of the Philippine Collegian. He graduated in 1953 with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration Major in Economics. Soon after graduation he enrolled at the College of Law in San Beda and successfully passed the bar examination in 1957.
     Thru sheer hard work, merit and talent he was able to occupy top notch positions in leading companies. But obviously, he was bound to hold public office as he was lured into politics.
     Ismael Mathay was elected Vice-Mayor of Quezon City in 1967. In 1972, he was appointed secretary to the commissioner of the watchdog General Authority Office, a genuine recognition for his talent and integrity. His accomplishments were heralded and recognized for he was designated MMC Vice-Governor and was dubbed as the mediator of goodwill. Ismael Mathay as Vice-Governor championed several causes as he was delegated to oversee the growth and direction of premier urban centers. He was also responsible for crime, poverty, drug addiction, pollution, traffic and a multitude of other concerns. He was elected for public office in 1992 and had begun to initiate and pool his efforts to fight and alleviate poverty. In 1998, Ismael Mathay labored relentlessly to overwhelm the horrendous grip of the ills of poverty as he was at the forefront altogether with Malacanang to achieve and deliver pro-poor projects/activities.
     Mayor Ismael Mathay had completed tenure of 9 years in office. From May 11, 1992 to June 30, 2001.He declared that Quezon City will be able to surmount the obstacles and challenges of the new millenium. During his tenure of office, his thrust was to diversify the city's portfolio by creating new opportunities for industries while attracting upcoming businesses. He was also responsible for the completion of the 3 Light Rail Transits traversing through key cities. Mayor Ismael Mathay believed that businesses will soon balloon and enlarge entrepreneurial opportunities. He shared a common vision as that of the city's past founding mentors which included Pres. Manuel L. Quezon, Manuel A. Roxas, Elpidio Quirino and Ramon F. Magsaysay. Mayor Ismael Mathay endeavored to apparently uphold the Quezonian sense of justice, the outright formulation of plans for the city and to employ a relatively systematic mode of governance.
     He prominently figured at the calamity that befell the scavengers and their families in Payatas garbage dumpsite. For his concerns were to locate and find a viable solution to solid waste disposal. His legacies include education, housing and business management as he had endorsed a horde of programs that allowed his administration to erect schools for improvement and modernization. His landmark contribution was that he was able to facilitate the construction of 1,666 units available for employees at the Smile Citihomes Project in Zabarte, Novaliches and 1,700 units at Pugad Lawin in Bahay Toro, Porject 8.
     It is common knowledge that he had brokered an amicable negotiation among fire victims to vacate the squatter colony which affected no less than 3,700 families and 480 structures along the Bangko Sentral Ng Pilipinas property. The process was so peaceful and popular that it had served as a model for demolition and clearing operations. Additional assistance attributed to Mayor Ismael Mathay were the apparent increase in the salary of underpaid schoolteachers and the program that enabled high school students to obtain free education.
     Mayor Ismael Mathay reiterated that the inspiration behind his successful acheivements are the country's great leaders who helped transformed aspirations into reality by their guiding parameters which assisted him with the tools at being able to determine as well as identify solutions to complex demands. Thus, affording substantial ideas to promote learning as it was his primordial concern to educate and transform his constituents into knowledgeable and well informed citizens attuned with an environment that is destined for progress and development. Certainly, Quezon City under the leadership of Mayor Ismael Mathay had delivered and withstood the test in local governance and competence for it had indicated its decision to serve as a paragon of integrity. Moreover, the prompt delivery of public services confirmed the unbeatable formula for his political acumen and success.
     His passion was everywhere as Mayor Ismael Mathay interminably continued to take an active role in urban planning and worked for better ways to introduce rational changes for approppriate land use. He devoted and worked for the establishment of the Quezon City Polytechnic, as he also initiated the construction of 41 school buildings, which equals to around 440 classrooms to help unburden the backlog in both public elementary and high schools. He assisted and organized the “Yakap” Day Care Center for pre- school children, where majority of those who benefited are Quezon City Hall employees.
     He was at the helm when he directed institutions and other privately owned corporations to hold job fairs where most of those tasked to participate are students and youths who had to put to good use the extra time they had during the summer vacation. He also instructed the artesians to fast-track the construction of deep wells in areas and localities where the services of the MWSS are seen to be less visible. Mayor Ismael Mathay worked for the increase of 1,000 pesos the wages of police and firemen. He was also instrumental in organizing “Food Caravan” which sold basic food and commodities at much lower prices to benefit the majority of poor residents situated in depressed areas. Spearheaded the anti-smoke belching drive and campaign which afforded a cleaner environment for residents in Quezon City that is smoke-free and less infectious.
     In 1997, Mayor Ismael Mathay was awarded as the most outstanding member of an international organization called Pan-Xenia as he was a consistent member all throughout his college days. His undertakings had evolved around the priorities of his commitments which were the poor, youth, his constituents, environment and the predicament of government employees. Mayor Ismael Mathay was often commended for his desire to commit and serve his constituents which he did not find difficult to pursue as he was immensely dedicated and devoted to accomplish all what he was set to do to the best of his abilities.
     He was so driven that no amount of setbacks and awkward situations can dampen his element. Despite, the tragedy and misfortunes he manages to appear calm and collected to the dismay of his detractors. He oftentimes, won the hearts of his people as he may at all times emerge victorious over a precarious environment, or yet, best said in a drama laden confrontation.
     At the lowest decline of the economy that saw the country in financial paralysis and an obstinate swing of events, he managed to administer sweeping details in labor patterns as he encouraged the womenfolk to indulge into jobs other than their habitual daily kitchen routine. He was so vocal and optimistic that the homes can be a source of productive growth as there was obviously a window predominantly clear and ripe for entrepreneurial possibilities and that opportunities do not only abound the cluster of boardrooms in a corporate setting but also in individual nooks and comforts of their residences.
     Many have questioned the unyielding Mayor Ismael Mathay about his formula for his extraordinary wisdom and compassion. He apparently, had no known formula up his sleeve but rather, about his yearning for pedantic values and principles. One that is patterned after the truth and structure of life. A life full of love and commitments, one that is appallingly inclined towards his spiritual journey destined to accomplish something which is worthy and monumental. He had exuded a penchant for a very calculating and decent leadership one that may offer the best possibilities for others to emulate or determine their cue for a dismal failure or sweet success in this arena called life.
     Some of the visions that Mayor Ismael Mathay had for Quezon City:
     A. A City where civic order rules – that there shall be peace and order in the communities of Quezon City. And over and above, a law abiding citizenry living harmoniously with one another in an environment that is fair and just.
     B. A City where there is efficient and adequate public service – a law that is for and by the people. Where significant bills and ordinances are promulgated to bear the concerns and apprehensions of the people.
     C. A City that provides and sustains the delivery of social, medical and education services – a government that shall primarily focus on education and the welfare of the working denomination. To provide and assists in obtaining adequate services and other opportunities that is pro-poor. An institution that is bent to pass and enact laws for both the young and old, poor or rich, handicapped, oppressed etc.
     D. A City that implements a quick response – a city where specifically public assistance is administered to constituents at all times. A government where the needs of the people are best served in an utmost care and consideration.
     E. The City, given it's state of underdevelopment compared to others in Metro Manila, and given it's resources, shall exploit it's still unlimited opportunities for economic and business development – that the government of Quezon City shall institute reforms in a vast commercial and industrial development sufficient enough to sustain the present and future prospects of progress.
     F. Our City is the venue of academic, intellectual and cultural citadels and institutions giving our city the enviable reputation – that Quezon City shall always institute and coordinate, thus, promote cultural and educational development. This city will at all times support such initiatives in and among institutions and other related activities.
     G. Our City shall have the ideal setting and accommodation for a convivial living and productive life and work for all socio-economic sectors – since Quezon City initially has the fastest growth rate, it shall concentrate and center it's programs and services to generally address this concern, provide alternatives and solutions to this worsening circumstances.
     H. The youth, the hope of the fatherland shall have a special consideration in our country – the population of Quezon City is predominantly 65 per cent below 24 years old, so it is of great concern that initiatives should dwell on programs that shall benefit and encourage the majority of the youth to engage in worthwhile activities, thus addressing their socio-economic and educational affairs.
     I. For the governance of our city and to support the initiatives in all of the areas of concern above stated, there shall be instituted in city administration an efficient and effective financial and budgetary management – that the government of Quezon City should readily implement measures to increase revenues to basically support programs and projects that essentially lead to progress and development.
     J. Likewise, the city shall have an improved administrative management to achieve our missions and deliver the essential city government services – that the task of the city government is to taper the administrative ranks to assume a better position in the delivery of basic services, thus, devote training and management to assume competence, values, skills and discipline.
     Indicators according to Mayor Ismael Mathay are possible problem situations in Quezon City:
     Quezon City has one of the fastest growth rate compared to Manila, Makati, Pasay, Kalookan and Mandaluyong. At 3.5 per cent which is even higher than the national average. In 1991 the official figure was 1.728 million with a density of 172.28 per hectare. Age level below 24 years is 65 per cent, 22.6 per cent are below 15 years old. Generally 245,027 are situated in depressed areas of which only 58 per cent are employed. 40 per cent of the household populations are considered below the official NEDA poverty line with a monthly income of only P 4,644, with most families earning less. Only 9.72 per cent earn from entrepreneurial services. 106,175 squatter families out of 301,283, while there are more family members in squatters than those who are not, apparently, contributing to around 55 per cent in squatter population. There are 140 barangays of which 90 barangays are identified to be situated in depressed or semi-depressed areas.
     Here are some of Mayor Ismael Mathay's formulated and outlined programs for Quezon City:
     1) Public Order and Safety – work for the strengthening of the public forces wherein we are obligated to train, equip and pay them well. Revive the foot patrol where police visibility in critical areas of concern are established and monitored. Open and structure more roads and traffic flows. More improved signs, flyovers and counter flows in traffic.
     2) Business and Economic Development of the City – That we should prepare and afford opportunities to develop land resources. For this will enhance collection for the city, while increasing the valuation of properties. Re- classification of industrial estates whereby, non-toxic and other concerns for a friendlier environment are adopted. Encourage business to establish and promote mutual concerns and activities.
     3) Public Services of the City – provide better access to un repaired roads, bridges and other illegal structures. Addressing flood prone areas, dredging canals, esteros, creeks and other floodways. Provision for more potable outlets or sources of water. Improved traffic management group that shall administer fast and quick emergency responses at a given time and place. Well coordinated engineering staff and men. Whereby, linkages are established with other national agencies where better and competent skills are endeavored.
     4) Social Services – the Quezon City government shall provide an array of services laden with competent and skillful men and women. Task the outreach sector to fully address relief assistance and other major disasters and calamities. Train the barangays while honing their capabilities in their respective communities. Organize and coordinate medical service programs in hospitals and other government institutions. Resettlement and livelihood programs for squatter colonies, while minimizing the flow of informal settlers in the city. Build more schools while working for an increase in the salary of underpaid schoolteachers. Address the growing reality for the development of skillful workers and technicians.
     5) Public Assistance – organize a command center for the mobilization of assistance and coordination. Thus, enhancing the immediate monitoring of capabilities.
     6) Financial and Administrative Management of the City – the government of Quezon City shall exhaust all means to generate the voluminous possibilities to accelerate advances in social, cultural, educational, political and economic growth. It will also devote relentless efforts to facilitate the reconstitution of titles, which obviously is one detrimental factor to progress and development. The city shall foster transparency as it will also deliver a report as where most of its collection was dispensed.
     Mayor Ismael Mathay had a tremendous appreciation for the gift of life. He fully appreciated the potentials of our God-given talents and skills He encouraged and solicited technical and managerial services, employed the brilliance of traditional and upcoming political leaders, endeavored his constituents to dialogue and infuse their thoughts and concerns for the future, focused on the ideals and principles of successful professionals and academes as well as other detailed concepts that could craft the most prudent outline for growth and development.
     He was a person blessed with humility and fortitude. A person and leader endowed with earnest commitments, noble intentions and good governance.

CHAPTER 13

THE FELICIANO R. BELMONTE, JR. ADMINISTRATION

Mayor Feliciano R. Belmonte, Jr.

July 1, 2001 - Present

     “Strengthening the legacy of our heroes, for a dynamic, progressive and caring City”
     “The Quezon City Government envisions itself to be a model of effective governance and responsible leadership, working in partnership with the citizenry the building of a Quality Community”
     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr. was born on October 2, 1936 in the City of Manila. His parents were Feliciano Belmonte Sr., a former judge at the Court of First Instance and Luz Belmonte. The young Feliciano Belmonte Jr., completed his elementary years at the St. Louis School in Baguio City, while he finished high school at San Beda College in Manila. He advanced his college years at the Lyceum where he took up Law in 1960 till he became a successful practitioner of law from 1966 to 1986. He went into further studies where he earned an Honorary Doctorate in Management from the University of Baguio. He was conferred as one of the “Outstanding Alumni” from the Lyceum of the Philippines. Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., in 1959, at the age of 23 was married to Betty Go Belmonte, founding chair of the Philippine Star. His blissful years in marriage brought forth wonderful children namely Feliciano Isaac, (Editor Chief of the Phil. Star) Juan Kevin, (President of philstar.com) Jaime Miguel, (President and CEO of family owned Star Group of Companies) Maria Josefina Tanya (Archeologist, member of several civic groups).
     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., had a diverse yet meaningful character of achievements, for he had received countless awards and accolades from civic and public service, law and politics, professional endeavors and other strings of plausible commitments. He is seemingly a remarkable fellow with a no-nonsense resume of accomplishments. As in his earlier years, he was a reporter for Bedan, the high school newspaper of San Beda with Ramon Mitra as his editor. Because his interest was in journalism, at age 16, he worked as a reporter for the Manila Chronicle from 1953 to 1958. He assumed the position as Presidential Staff Assistant for the late President Diosdado Macapagal from 1962 – 1965. He also became Special Assistant to the Secretary of Finance. And to include that he was also designated as Special Assistant to the Commissioner of Customs and Executive Assistant of the Central Bank of the Philippines. Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., is not only a dedicated public servant but also an active member of prominent and well – meaning civic-organizations.
     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., had been the past world president of the Jaycees International in 1976. A Paul Harris Fellow in 1997 and president of the UP Open University Foundation Incorporated. He also managed the GSIS, Manila Hotel and Philippine Airlines. To emphasize his accomplishments he was recipient of the TOFIL Award, Kabalikat sa Pabahay Award, Gawad Galing Pook Award for Effective Fiscal Management, Most Business Friendly City Award, Most Livable Community Award, Huwarang Filipino Award for Local Governance and the Most Outstanding City Mayor of the Philippines.
     In 1986, during the President Cory Aquino Administration. He was appointed to oversee various government owned corporations. This was not the best time to be appointed as head because these institutions were at the edge headed towards bankruptcy. But nevertheless, thru the virtue of perseverance, diligence and fair management the future Mayor was able to substitute unprecedented profits of P1.2 billion, assuming payments of all deficits and arrears without subjecting anyone to the perils of dismissal or discharge. This is constant of the affairs of the future Mayor, as he was once President and CEO of Philippine Airlines.
     As a politician, he was engaged in several uncompromising disputes as he was tasked to head the impeachment proceedings that were leveled at the former President Joseph Estrada. This was apparently a critical move as he had his sights veered at seeking a future in local elections. But Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., has a placid approach to untangling enormous difficulties as he thrives on perseverance while addressing the situation with team efforts coupled with a heart that may only be subjected to do the best.
     When Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., assumed leadership in 2001, Quezon City was afflicted with all sorts of unpleasant claims as there were huge deficits amounting to over P1.4 billion and a bank debt of P1.25 billion. In the year 2002 thru the consternation of his detractors he was able to successfully collect revenues that general funds reached more than P5.4 billion achieving a colossal budget for the very first time in several years. This feat was humbly explained by the leadership and he openly suggested that this was due to the concerted efforts of those who labored to simply dispatch a more efficient performance of tax collection, one that is free of any exploits of misdeeds or corruption.
     The efficient and untiring Mayor was able to deliver a multi-faceted system of essential services to which moderate spending was truly observed and practiced by those who serve and abound his confidence. This statement holds water, as evidenced in the collection of garbage.The city was spared from the huge expenditures to perhaps, a figure of P200 million a year. The intense yet eager Mayor expressed that somehow, someday people would acknowledge his abilities for bringing back honesty and respect in politics. An attribute afforded to a leader that has so much to offer, as his thoughts are mere thoughts for no less than for the good of his countrymen and unrelenting passion for good governance and nothing more.
     To further elucidate the Honorable Mayor's quest that Quezon City will be a city for others to emulate and an indication for a validating success. Here are the binding facts to his numerous accomplishments. When the Honorable Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte assumed his position as Mayor of Quezon City, he pledged that he was going to institute several reforms in the bureaucracy, governance, financial development, infrastructure, long term provisions to improve quality life for residents in Quezon City, employ innovative and breakthroughs, equitable spread of development gains, increased efficiency in services, more perceptible stimulants for business and high-impact development.
     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., worked tirelessly to set the foundations that shall pave the way for all essential services to be undertaken. He had exhausted all means to obtain the gains and development to transform Quezon City into a premier metropolis with potential assets capable for investments, business and opportunities. He infused economic growth and social progress. Increased the confidence of his constituents thru his achievements and performance that there are obvious developments that are abundantly taking place in communities, schools, parks, roads, remuneration, hospitals, benefits, services and etc.
     He also endorsed computerization in tax collection for an efficient and prompt payment to readily unburden those who come to pay their estate and property taxes. The Honorable Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., has been at the forefront in his campaign to promote honesty among his employees especially those who are tasked for inspection, assessment and collection. He has various rewards for top collectors and other cash incentives that await honest men and women, thus, tax clearances are made to be dependent upon computer records to make it difficult for greedy employees to misdeclare legitimate figures.
     Quezon City was awarded as the “Most Business Friendly City Award”, this was due to the modified and easy methods undertaken by legitimate businesses which was to simply re-structure their requirements for easy compliance.

LIVELIHOOD AND PRODUCTIVITY

     In livelihood and productivity, Quezon City had managed to encourage small businesses into a P1.24 million non-collateral loans entity into a P212 million programs sourced from cooperative banks and havd generated 16,814 micro entrepreneurs. This program is very successful as it granted the Sikap – Buhay Lending Program a 95-96 per cent repayment scheme. And more importantly, this puts the average family set-up the ability to uplift their living conditions to a more productive one.
     The Honorable Mayor had also enacted a Gender and Development Code which recognizes the monumental role of women in our society. He had instituted several programs to empower women as he had offered training to provide the necessary skills in cosmetology, dressmaking, hotel and restaurant services. For the disadvantaged women to be productive he urged them to learn soap and candle making, stuff toy production, flower management, bead craft and perfume making.
     He also institutionalized the provision of livelihood and employment assistance to specifically determine and execute appropriate assistance to each and every deserving individual. He organized the (PESO) which is the Public Employment Service Office to certainly assist those who are willing to be productive thru: 1) Computerized labor-market – maintains a list of manpower, skills and job market. This enhanced the system of hiring and referrals. 2) Job fairs – each year, job fairs are undertaken in each district of Quezon City, to inform applicants of such job prospects throughout the city. 3) Regular employment facilitation – informing the possibility of hiring in both local and overseas employment. 4) Special programs for employment of students through summer jobs – deserving students from poor families to earn extra income for school expenses. This also assists exploited minors and househelps, through which a kasambahay programs was organized under the stewardship of councilor Francisco Calalay.
     Through his initiative a program was crafted to improve and support big and small – scale businesses. To further signify his sincere commitment he undertook major changes in the issuance of building permits as well as other recommendations to cope with the increasing challenges and demands. Moreover, Safe Building and Industrial Safety Program, was upgraded to minimize and bring a zero percent and useless / reckless incidents in tragedy and mishaps.

INFRASTRUCTURE

Quezon City Mayor Feliciano Belmonte, Jr. unveiled the newest and one of the biggest shopping complexes and inter-modal transport depots in the country today, TriNoma (Triangle North of Makati) last April 25, 2007, 11 AM at the mall’s ground floor activity center.

     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte had funded P7 billion in infrastructures to intensify his tall order to provide adequate services for everyone. This apparent project had proven to be very substantial as there are more improved roads that link each community with easier and convenient travel. More street pavement and concrete widening in Tandang Sora, Visayas Avenue and Kamuning. More repairs undertaken on bridges, sidewalks, overpasses and streetlights to the figure of P128.08 million. The construction of more promenades and beautiful gardens to enhance more vegetation all throughout the city. A city where alternate routes abound to decongest bottlenecks and other discomforts.
     The Good Mayor had endeavored to establish a knowledge based component which will intensify among children as they are the preliminary subjects who may need access to learning. The children constitute to around 74 per cent who are presently enrolled in public schools. From 2002 to May 2004 the Quezon City government was able to fund for the construction of 30 school buildings with 478 classrooms, the city government allotted P185 million for the renovation of schools and other facilities with an additional budget of 300 million to erect more classrooms. By the end of 2006, 27 more school buildings shall have been completed, adding 363 more classrooms to augment the much needed facilities for the growing school population. The Honorable mayor stressed that specifically, this school year the average student will be given each a book per subject for he had personally authorized the released of funds for this immediate concerns.
     Effective IT Programs are still funded and endorsed by the city government to deliberately, promote and enhance the capabilities of our learning system. In view, of this implementation the Quezon City Library has sustained as well as connected 11 public schools at the on set then progressed to 35 public schools in Quezon City. It shall in the future eventually service more schools to afford easy and convenient learning to those who wish to patronize the privileges given them. The city government had linked and coordinated with the ayala Foundation to assist in this program to lend deeper focus in this modern technology. And moreover, through the GILAS (Geraring up for Internet Literacy and Access Program) a 400 million donation was released for the acquisition of new equipment. To provide more training opportunities, a state of the art facility financed by a grant, inaugurated by the President himself, then officially delegated for the Quezon City to manage was implemented in 2005.
     The city government is totally committed to provide unceasing opportunities to each and everyone as this is evidently manifested in its desire to strongly patronize the wellness tourism concept and being the ICT Capital of the Philippines, the city government has designated specific programs to address this highly advanced technology to provide fresh horizons for our graduates here and abroad.
     The Nego – tech is a program which was inaugurated last October 2002. This program provides vocational and technical skills for out of school youths and unemployed adults for future employment and for those who wish to exploit their entrepreneurial skills. This entity also offers computer courses for both Department of Education and City Hall employees. Training would entail a 3 month arrangement in any of such courses as practical electricity, basic electronics, computer repair, house repairs, silk printing, cosmetology, dress- making, food management, cooking, baking, gift wrapping and packaging. Nego – tech aims to at least teach a thousand students each enrollment period. Another program initiated by the beloved Mayor is the SB Centrex for Student Leadership. This program lends intensive training to fourth year high school students with qualifying leadership skills. This is an entirely advanced discipline that will principally breed future leaders who are productive, dynamic, principled and morally upright. A total of 952 student leaders had undergone training to expand the breed of future leaders. The city government under the initiatives of the Honorable Mayor had also undertaken measures to integrate the Muslim culture into the traditional Philippine education system, as 944 Muslim students are taughts Islamic and Arabic dialect by Muslim teachers in 11 elementary public schools.
     The Honorable Mayor has also provided assistance to the teachers of Quezon City. This to acquire the necessary skills and materials to demonstrate their ability to develop their own learning methods that will complement requirements for both elementary and high school education.
     The city government as of school year 2004-2005 had supported and granted scholarships to 2,362 students thru the SYDP program. The Quezon City Polytechnic University is undergoing major re-organization as the Mayor wishes to shift it's curriculum into a premier institution for technical education comparable to other highly reputable schools equipped with adequate technology notably competitive in foreign endeavors and culture.
     Probably one of the more fundamental considerations that the Honorable Mayor had undertaken is the capacity for his constituents to live a healthy and accomplished life. Each newborn child is given a comprehensive nutritional and medical assistance till he/she reaches the age of 5. Immunization, supplemental feeding, dental and other disease prevention procedures are administered thru the Department of Health Expanded Program. 61,582 infants were given immunization covering 88 percent of the population.
     The hardworking Mayor had also trained his sights over the menacing issue of overpopulation. The City Government is aware and doing its vital role in providing and planning alternatives to facilitate information as well as education to subsequently, introduces the onset of responsible parenthood. Nor did the Mayor ignore other health concerns as he restored the facilities and augmented equipment to fully cater to the medical and dental needs of his constituents. Thus, the city government had appropriated P115 million for the construction of new facilities and rehabilitation of old and dilapidated centers to ensure the public that their health and other concerns are substantially undertaken.
     To date, Quezon City has quite a number of centers that offer mini-like hospital services. These are situated in San Francisco Del Monte, Murphy, Novaliches, Kamuning and Sta. Lucia. With general funds amounting P400 million, the Quezon City General Hospital will also become a 330 bed medical facility, whereby, indigent patients may be assured of efficient treatment and services that most poor and afflicted ones truly deserve. The Sagip – Buhay Medical Care Program had intensified its membership to 51,648 beneficiaries since it was established in September 2002. The City Government had released and funded P47.6 million to twelve hospitals to adopt the program. The Honorable Mayor had given his support wholeheartedly to improve and implement the Child Care and Development Program. A total of 215 centers were inaugurated where 18,095 children were enrolled and administered academic, supplemental nutrition and socialization skills to promote equal opportunities afforded in affluent ones. His concern for desolate street children is manifested in programs that acknowledge the importance for these street children to return to their loved-ones and relatives under the supervision of impartial civic and government entities tasked to oversee such complex realities.
     The city government had evoked and collaborated with the Petron Tulong Aral Project to assists 124 street children to better their predicament thru learning and education. Moreover, thru a program called Geo-Net launched in 2004, a decent proposal was drawn wherein six barangays altogether with seven other business establishments and one religious chapter were to adopt a program that will enable them to sustain the immediate needs and concerns of street children while influencing them to refrain from making the dark and obscure streets as their dwelling places.
     For minors who are habitual and obstinate offenders, the City Government was compelled to preserve the Molave Youth Home to uphold care, security and total rehabilitation for minors who had gone reckless. 453 young offenders were documented and processed for guidance and rehabilitation as they look forward and prepare themselves to be productive citizens of society.
     Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonre Jr., stressed that it is the prerogative of the City Government to identify and select feasible areas where modest homes can be conveniently erected and finally awarded, rather than just to award land and not address the real plight of the poor which are shelter and livelihood. The Quezon City Housing and Urban Renewal Authority were established to mainly engage and provide well-conceptualized medium rise buildings using cost-effective construction materials that will incorporate space management. This will provide a prudent shelter for the poor whose only desire is to be able to provide a roof over their heads and loved-ones. In 2004, two units were constructed in Barangay Escopa 111; this building could comfortably accommodate 160 families. His heart was not too distant for all those who work for him, as he directed the HURA to afford shelter and dwelling places for those who are classified as low wage earners. The city government also coordinated with civic and religious organizations to assists the poor and the homeless thru a program identified as “Sweat Equity” sponsored by the Kalinga Foundation. He also organized the Community Mortgage Program; this program gives the city government access to legitimately process properties and other parcel of lands instantaneously. Land titles were awarded to no less than 4,958 beneficiaries in less than three years, a feat that may take others a lifetime to achieve.
     The senior citizens too, have a meaningful and exceptional role in Quezon City. For they are employed and given a sense of purpose and importance so they may feel that their services are still very much valued and appreciated. A whole lot of senior citizens are employed as care givers and designated to assists in library functions and responsibilities.
     According to our beloved Mayor, each and every one of us deserves to enjoy a clean and healthy environment. This inspired the Mayor to direct the city government to undertake the proper supervision and management of adequate as well as cost efficient logistics to better improve the system of garbage collection. He also undertook a more rigid stance in the imposition of penalties to clearly implement the regulations of solid waste disposal upon contractors. For this will affect much healthier and cleaner surroundings free of pests and other common yet debilitating diseases.
     The city government under his stewardship had instituted radical changes in the once hazardous dumpsite in Payatas. The vast area where mongo plants and other vegetation thrive is due to a study introduced by the students from the University of the Philippines in coordination with the University of Singapore.
     A methane gas pipeline had been successfully completed and utilized for power to provide a 100 kilowatt capacity load sufficiently enough to generate electricity in and around the streets and households of Payatas. This had lead Quezon City to gain the recognition as the first Urban Center to implement the Solic Waste Management Act.
     With these developments, the City government may have a potential source of an additional income in the international market as highly industrialized countries may eventually need our services. Since diverse activities abound the dumpsite in Payatas, the city government has upheld the site for research and other quests for vital information for both business and civic organizations in the interests of the poor.

PAYATAS DUMPSITE

     The City Government had allocated funds amounting to P249 million for flood control and also drafted solutions to save its rivers and waterways thru a program called “Sagip Batis”. These are epicurean methods to preserve the environment and to decongest the waterways from unsightly garbage and other contaminants in the hope that the prevalence of recurring illnesses may be put to an end, thus, deterring the sudden increase of water in flood prone localities, which includes the desilting of the San Juan, San Francisco, and tullahan Rivers.
     The City Government is very much into the development of parks and other recreational facilities to transform the city into a city where abundant gardens and beautiful pathways exists. The City government had allocated P102 million for barangay facilities and another P111 million for the development of parks and gardens. Such parks to include Morato, Amoranto, West Triangle, Pugad Lawin Shrine, Villa Nova, Roces Avenue and Central Park in Barangay New Era are just but few of the parks to have undertaken the much needed improvement and rehabilitation. The La Mesa Dam was also inaugurated last April 28, 2004. This undertaking was virtually a project which the city government in coordination with ABS-CBN Foundation and MWSS ventured to finally revert La Mesa Dam into its past state of glorious recognition.The City Government is very much into the development of parks and other recreational facilities to transform the city into a city where abundant gardens and beautiful pathways exists. The City government had allocated P102 million for barangay facilities and another P111 million for the development of parks and gardens. Such parks to include Morato, Amoranto, West Triangle, Pugad Lawin Shrine, Villa Nova, Roces Avenue and Central Park in Barangay New Era are just but few of the parks to have undertaken the much needed improvement and rehabilitation. The La Mesa Dam was also inaugurated last April 28, 2004. This undertaking was virtually a project which the city government in coordination with ABS-CBN Foundation and MWSS ventured to finally revert La Mesa Dam into its past state of glorious recognition.
     To signify his desire to pursue such developments he authorized the barangays to coordinate with the city government to infuse a shared-costs in expenses to carry-out and perpetuate all possibilities that shall contribute in making the city beautiful and appealing not only to the residents but to all local and foreign visitors as well. But at the heart of all developments, precisely one that will be perceived to be a cut above the rest is the transformation of the elliptical circle, whereby, beautification will entail and feature the construction of overpasses, promenades and fountains. In additional, the P9.8 million overpass fronting the commonwealth market and the P20 million Manggahan overpass are now open for service and convenience for the welfare of his constituents.

LA MESA ECO PARK - THE NEW LA MESA DAM

     For the preservation of peace and order which includes security, protection, defense etc. The city government had provided the police force with over P50 million worth of arsenal and other equipment necessary to enhance the capability of those who are tasked to deter crime and other illegal activities that are perpetrated by criminals and other undesirable elements in Quezon City.
     The city government under the leadership of Mayor Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte Jr., is eternally setting and formulating programs thru the collective efforts of the city officials and other department entities to espouse organized management and efficient planning. The city government is complemented by 5,062 permanent and 6,047 contractual employees whose enthusiasm and loyalty inspires our beloved Mayor to persevere in his efforts to not just plainly institute superficial developments but more importantly, to implement good governance and leadership that will influence a future that is beneficial to each and everyone.
     The Honorable Mayor had instituted an array of reforms to transform Quezon City into a bustling metropolis in just 5 years. This is strengehtned because of the incessant clamor for the international sector, business and other eager investors to settle into the city of opportunities. The good Mayor had oftentimes, reflected about his yearning to not only implement transition only during his stewardship, but for other generations to acquire and prosper something beyond. The Honorable Mayor Belmonte, is vent on charting and focusing on the systems generated approaches that are useful now and in the coming years, yet new and non-traditional, resource generating, innovative yet integratable to the overall city vision and mission, sustainable because it is interprise generating and enduring.
     To date, Quezon City has the highest net income in the Philippines, a figure substanciated by the Commission on Audit. While the City enjoys being number one in terms of ratio per net income. The Quezon city Government for the last four years had maintained a budget surplus of P174 million annually. The City government is very much aware that there are still vast tracks of undeveloped lands that could eventually yield additional source of income for the city. Resolution Number 3050, an ordinance passed and approved last September , 2005, declared that the North and east Triangle and Veterans Memorial Hospital are areas for the development of the Quezon City Central Business district.
     Several business conglomerates had already signified to implement their plans and had started construction. A science and technology park shall soon evolve around the U.P. campus which will jump start the rise of high technology enterprise.
      The determination of the Honorable Mayor to succeed in his vision to breathe reality into all our aspirations was not so far-fetched after all for thru the merits of hard work, perseverance, partnership, diligence and most of all to include God's graces to allow the good mayor to shepherd and steer us into what had become of our city today. A city primarily headed on to the glorious path of success.

CHAPTER 14

QUEZON CITY OFFICIALS : 1939 - 2006

PRES. MANUEL LUIS M. QUEZON Founder of Quezon City

     Hon. VICENTE FRAGANTE Vice Mayor – Appointed October 12, 1939 to October 22, 1939

     1ST QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Eusebio Aguilar
     Hon. Jose Paez
     Hon. Alejandro Roces, Sr.

     Other Officials

     Chief of Police : Tomas Morato
     Asst. Chief of Police : Sabino De Leon
     City Health Officer : P.C. Icasiano
     City Treasurer : Pio Pedrosa
     City Attorney : Emilio Abello
     City Assessor : Jacob Rosenthal
     Municipal Judge : Perfecto Palacio
     Secratry of the Council : Damian Jimenez
     Judge of the Court of the First Instance : Amado Amador

Hon. TOMAS B. MORATO First Mayor of Quezon City October 23, 1939 to July 19, 1942 (October 12, 1939 – date of original appointment

     Hon. PONCIANO BERNARDO Vice Mayor October 23, 1939 to July 19, 1942

     2ND QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Eusebio Aguilar (City Health Officer)
     Hon. Jose Paez
     Hon. Alejandro Roces

     Department/Offices Heads

     City Treasurer : Pio Pedrosa
     City Attorney : Emilio Abello
     City Assessor : Jake Rosenthal
     Secretary to the Mayor : Damian L. Jimenez
     Judge of the Court of the First Instance : Perfecto Palacio

Hon. PONCIANO A. BERNARDO Mayor January 1, 1947 to April 28, 1949

     Hon. MATIAS DEFENSOR Vice Mayor 1946 – 1948
     Hon. GREGORIO A. ROXAS Vice-Mayor January 28, 1948 to September 7, 1949
     Hon. FRANCISCO A. BATACAN Vice Mayor September 9, 1949 to January 5, 1950

     3RD QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Leon C. Malubay
     Hon. Hipolito Lopez
     Hon. Ramon Vicencio

     Department/Office Heads

     Secretary of the Council Jose Padilla
     City Treasurer : Conrado Hernandez
     City Fiscal : Fernando Villarosa
     Chief of Police : Crisanto Alba
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad Peralta

Hon. NICANOR A. ROXAS City Mayor May 4, 1949 to January 1, 1950

     Hon. GREGORIO ROXAS Vice-Mayor January 28, 1948 to Sept. 7, 1949
     Hon. FRANCISCO P. BATACAN Vice-Mayor September 9, 1949 to January 5, 1950

     4TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Leon C. Malubay : January 1947 – November 25, 1950
     on. Ramon Vicencio : August 20, 1949 – Dec. 30, 1950
     Hon. Luis N. Sianghio : January 1949 – August 19, 1951
     Hon. Claro R. Pinga
     Hon. Pablo Pablo : June 20, 1949 – August 19, 1949
     

     Department/Office Heads

     City Treasurer : Conrado D. Hernandez
     City Engineer : Anastacio Agan
     Chief of Fire Department: Gaudioso Villegas
     1st Supt. of Schools : Pablo A. Reyes until 1962
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta

Hon. IGNACIO SANTOS DIAZ Mayor January 4, 1950 to December 30, 1953

     Hon. FRANCISCO P. BATACAN Vice-Mayor September 9, 1949 to Jan. 5, 1950
     Hon. LUIS SIANGHIO Vice-Mayor January 6, 1950 to December 30, 1953

     5TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Ramon Vicencio
     Hon. Claro R. Pinga
     Hon. Jose P. CruzHon. Delfin Garcia
     Hon. Francisco Batacan
     Hon. Rafael Icasiano : June 2, 1953 – Dec. 30, 1953
     Hon. Adolfo Eufemio : January 12, 1951 – July 11, 1952
     Hon. Melencio S. Nadonga : June 2, 1953 – Dec. 2, 1953
     Hon. Ponciano Reyes : January 12, 1951 – May 29, 1953
     Hon. Enrique T. Ramirez : June 2, 1953 – Dec. 29, 1953
     Hon. Jesus B. Merritt : January 12, 1951 – May 19, 1958

     Department/Office Heads

     City Treasurer : Conrado D. Hernandez
     Sec. of the City Council : Teodoro Gener
     Chief of Police : Vicente P. Novales
     Vice Chief of Police : Col. Crisanto Alba
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta
     City Auditor : Pet L. Vallejo
     City Assessor : Atty. Moises D. Romero
     City Engineer : Anastacio A. Agan
     City Health Officer : Dr. Petronio Monsod
     Judge Municipal : Minerva Inocencio Piguing
     Registrar of Deeds : Atty. Ramon Velaso
     City Schools Supervisor : Servillano Dunglao

Hon. NORBERTO S. AMORANTO Mayor January 1, 1954 to November 13, 1959

     Hon. ISIDRO GUEVARRA Vice-Mayor January 1, 1954 to November 13, 1959

     6TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Reynaldo Ermita
     Hon. Romulo Lucasan
     Hon. Anacleto Madrilejo
     Hon. Martin Manahan
     Hon. Lucas Pascual
     Hon. Jesus M. Ponce
     Hon. Nicanor Ramirez
     Hon. Gregorio Veluz

     Department/Office Heads

     Sec. to the Mayor : Felino Landicho
     City Secretary : Tomas A. Eustaquio
     City Treasurer : Conrado A. Hernandez
     City Auditor : Pat Rubueno
     City Assessor : Moises D. Romero
     City Engineer : Anastacio A. Agan
     City Fiscal : Atty. Pedro A. Revilla
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta
     City Supt. of Schools : Pablo Reyes
     City Health Officer : Dr. Perronio C. Monsod
     City Registrar of Deeds : Atty. Ramon Velasco
     City Architect : Luciano V. Aquino
     Chief, Administrative Div. : Atty. Jose G. Narcelles
     Chief, Mayor’s Invest. Sec. : Alberto Polumbarit
     Chief, Police Department : Col. Vicente O. Novales
     Chief, QC Fire Dept. : Salvador G. Narcelles

Hon. NORBERTO S. AMORANTO Mayor November 1959 to December 30, 1963 (Elected)

     Hon. VICENTE O. NOVALES Vice-Mayor November 1959 to December 30, 1963

     7TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Carlos L. Albert
     Hon. Conrado Benitez
     Hon. Victorino Diamonon
     Hon. Proceso SebastianHon. Jose Narcelles
     Hon. Vidal Tan
     Hon. Pedro Tuazon
     Hon. Anastacio Yabut

     Department/Office Heads

     City Treassurer : Francisco
     City Secretary : Tomas R. Eustaquio
     Judge City Court : Mariano R. Victucio

Hon. NORBERTO S. AMORANTO Mayor January 1, 1964 to December 30, 1967

     Hon. MARIANO STA. ROMANA Vice-Mayor January 1, 1964 to December 30, 1967

     8TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Florentino A. Lapuz
     Hon. Romulo Lucasan
     Hon. Rafael M. Mison, Jr.
     Hon. Luisa G. Orendain
     Hon. Eduardo T. Paredes
     Hon. Proceso Sebastian
     Hon. Saturnino Bermudez
     Hon. Conrado Benitez

     Department/Office Heads

     Sec. to the Mayor : Anacleto Madrilejo
     City Secretary : Atty. Jose De Guzman
     City Treasurer : Francisco A. Quintos – July 19, 67
     City Auditor : Pat Rubueno
     City Assessor : Moises D. Romero
     City Engineer : Baltazar Aquino
     City Fiscal : Atty. Justiniano Cortez
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta
     City Health Officer : Dr. Petronio C. Monsod
     City Register of Deeds : Atty. Benjamin Reyes
     City Supt. of Schools : Alfredo Andal
     Personnel’s Officer : Mr. Arturo S. Loria
     City Public Services : Leopoldo Garcia
     QC Motor Vehicle Office : Atty. Narciso Manansala
     Quezon City PNRC Adm. : Felipe H. Miranda
     Barrio Gov. Affairs : Rosendo Cortez, Jr.
     Social Welfare Services : Lourdes Vergara
     QC Post Master : Demetrio Ramos
     Chief, Police Department: Col. Tomas Karingal
     Chief, QC Fire Dept. : Salvador G. Narcelles

Hon. NORBERTO S. AMORANTO Mayor January 1, 1968 to December 30, 1971

     Hon. ISMAEL MATHAY, JR. Vice – Mayor January 1, 1968 to December 30, 1971

     9TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. Saturnino Bermudez
     Hon. Hermogenes Caluag
     Hon. Alfredo Francisco
     Hon. Florentino A. Lapuz
     Hon. Romulo Lucasan
     Hon. Rafael M. Mison, Jr
     Hon. Eduardo T. Paredes
     Hon. Jesus Perlas, Jr.

     Department/Office Heads

     Sec. to the Mayor : Anacleto Madrilejo
     City Secretary : Felipe Ting
     City Treasurer : Matias Reyes
     City Auditor : Arturo Uy
     City Assessor : Moises D. Romero
     City Engineer : Pantaleon Tabora
     City Fiscal : Atty. Justiniano Cortez
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta
     City Health Officer : Dr. Petronio C. Monsod
     City Register of Deeds : Atty. Benjamin Reyes
     City Supt. of Schools : Alfredo Andal
     City Architect : Luciano V. Aquino
     Social Sec. to the Mayor: Veronica A. Ramos
     Chief, Police Dept. : Col. Tomas Karingal
     Chief, QC Fire Dept. : Salvador G. Narcelles 1972 – Until the Creation of METRO MANILA COMMISSION NOVEMBER 1975 – PD 824

Hon. NORBERTO S. AMORANTO Mayor 1972 - 1976

     Hon. CARLOS L. ALBERT Vice-Mayor Jan. 1, 1972 – March 1975
     Hon. RONALD S. KOOKOORITCHKIN (Ronald Remy) March 1975 – March 30, 1976

     10TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     First District
     Hon. Ronald S. Kookooritchin – March 30, 1975
     Hon. Presioso R. Perlas
     Hon. Danilo B. Roces
     Hon. Stephen N. Sariño
     Hon. Amado Cortez
     Second District
     Hon. Melenio M. Castelo
     Hon. Eulalio L. Dela Cruz
     Hon. Andres V. Genito
     Hon. Eleuterio M. Gonzales
     Third Districts
     Hon. Estanislao G. Alinea, Jr.
     Hon. Mario Montenegro
     Hon. Jose J. Paculdo
     Hon. Eduardo T. Paredes, Jr.
     Fourth District
     Hon. Honorio M. David
     Hon. Alfredo A. Francisco
     Hon. Jose Vera Perez
     Hon. Jesus P. Perlas, Jr.

     Department/Office Heads

     Sec. to the Mayor : Analecto Madrilejo
     City Secretary : Felipe Ting
     City Treasurer : Jesus I. Calera
     City Auditor Arturo Uy
     City Assessor : Leonardo M. Cuyong
     City Engineer : Pantaleon Tabora
     City Fiscal : Atty. Justiniano Cortez
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta
     City Health Officer : Dr. Petronio C. Monsod
     City Register of Deeds : Atty. Benjamin Reyes
     City Supt. of Schools : Commemoracion Conception
     City Architect : Luciano V. Aquino
     Social Sec. to the Mayor: Veronica A. Ramos
     Chief, Police Dept. : Col. Tomas Karingal
     Chief, QC Fire Dept. : Salvador G. Narcelles
     Personnel Officer : Mr. Arturo S. Loria
     City Attorney : Atty. Jose T. Trocuator

Hon. ADELINA S. RODRIGUEZ Mayor April 1, 1976 to April 14, 1986

     Hon. STEPHEN SARINO Vice-Mayor April 1, 1976 to April 14, 1986

     Department/Office Heads

     Sec. to the Mayor : Manuel T. Santos – 1976-1978
     Sec. to the Mayor : Atty. Valentin C. Asuncion – 1979-1986
     City Secretary : Atty. Melencio Castelo
     City Treasurer : Anselmo O. Regis
     City Auditor : Eleuteria Ruiz
     City Assessor : Atty. Ricardo Villena
     City Engineer : Engr. Pablo Suarez
     City Fiscal : Atty. Sergio Apostol
     City Health Officer : Dra. Esperenza de Catro
     City Budget Officer : Estrella P. Gerardo
     City Supt. of Schools : Edna Azurin
     City Supt. of Libraries : Atty. Felicidad A. Peralta – up to 022879 Pacencia J. Buendia – Mar.79 – Feb.85
     Personnel Officer : Mr. Arturo S. Loria
     QCGH : Dra. Fe Fernandez
     Station Comm. Pol. Dept.: Col. Ernesto San Diego
     Chief, QC Fire Dept. : Major Arturo Torres

Hon. BRIGIDO R. SIMON, JR. Mayor April 20, 1986 – November 30, 1987 (Appointed)1988 – 1992 (Elected)

     Hon. ELMER V. PORMENTO Vice-Mayor April 20, 1986 - 1987 (Appointed)

     Department/Office Heads

     City Administrator : Mr. Edmundo E. Kaimo
     Sec. to the Mayor : Mr. Nestor P. Borromeo
     City Treasurer : Atty. Agustin C. TalaveraRetired eff. Nov. 13, 1988
     City Engineer : Engr. Tomas G. Camayo
     City Health Officer : Dr. Magdalena N. Ibañez
     Supt. Division of City Sch. : Dr. Edna B. Azurin
     City Assessor : Mr. Apolinario H. Pavia
     Dir. QCGH : Dr. Edgardo Salud
     City Attorney : Atty. Nescito C. Hilario
     City Budget Officer : Mrs. Estrelita P. Gerardo
     City Dev. Coordinator : Arch. Gerardo Magat
     City Sec. and Con. OIC : Atty. Eugenio V. Jurilla
     CGSO : Mr. Rolando P. Montiel
     CTAO : Mr. Ricardo C. Cruz
     QC BOC, PAC : Mr. Reynaldo Bernardo
     Urban Poor Affairs Office : Mr. Celso Canonigo
     Industrial Relations and Liv. : Mr. Ramon Matabang
     Press Relations Office (OIC) : Ms. Marisse Abelgas
     Manpower : Engr. Angeles S. Galura

Hon. BRIGIDO R. SIMON, JR. Mayor February 2, 1988 – May 10, 1992 (Elected)

     Hon. VICENTE C. SOTTO, III Vice-Mayor February 2, 1988 – June 30, 1992 (Elected)

     11TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors

     Hon. George M. Canseco
     Hon. Wilma A. Sarino
     Hon. Alberto M. Galarpe
     Hon. Teodoro N. Ramos
     Hon. Emilio G. Tamayo
     Hon. Reynaldo A. Calalay
     Hon. Mitchell Y. Gumabao (Dennis Roldan)
     Hon. Jorge L. Banal
     Hon. Jose J. Paculdo
     Hon. Elizabeth O. Gaba
     Hon. Eduardo F. David
     Hon. Laoag Paras (vice Tomas Castro)
     Hon. Roberto A. Miguel (ABC Representative)
     Hon. Alicia A. Herrera
     Hon. Vicente D. Biglang-awa
     Hon. Dante V. Liban
     Hon. Isidro R. Saludes
     Hon. Edgardo S. Serrano
     Hon. Melencio M. Castelo
     Hon. Cielito “Mahal” E. del Mundo
     Hon. Ricardo del Rosario
     Hon. Alfredo A. Francisco (Fred Montilla)
     Hon. Herminio “Butch” Bautista
     Hon. Francis Pancratius Pangilinan
     Hon. Guillermo C. Altuna
     Hon. Herbert M. Bautista (Youth Representative)

     Department/Office Heads

     City Secretary : Atty. Vicente A. Alvarez
     City Administrator : Atty. Ernesto M. Villareal
     Sec. to the Mayor : Mr. Elizardo C. Agsalud
     City Treasurer : Atty. Montano L. Diaz
     City Auditor : Mr. Reynaldo P. Ventura
     NPD Station Comm. : Col. Rodolfo M. Garcia
     City Attorney : Atty. Nescito C. Hilario
     City Health Officer : Dr. Magdalena M. Ybañez
     City Supt. of School : Dr. Bienvenido A. Icasiano
     City Assessor : Mr. Apolinario R. Pavia
     City Engineer : Engr. Norberto C. Cabigao
     CGSO : Mr. Rolando P. Montiel
     CPDO : Arch. Gerardo G. Magat
     City Budget Officer : Mr. Juanito F. Ortiz
     City Architect : Arch. Eduardo C. Salud
     City Personnel Officer : Mr. Arturo S. Loria
     City Supt. of Libraries : Ms. Blanquita L. del Barrio
     CTAO : Dr. Dominador B. Ocrisma
     UPAO : Mr. Celso S. Canonigo
     Social Welfare Serv. Office : Mrs. Ma. Theresa M. Mariano
     Fiscal Control Unit Chief : Atty. Erlinda O. de Leon
     Novaliches Dist. Center : Mr. Alito Z. Tan
     Civil Security Officer : Capt. Rogelio F. Rivero
     City Electrician : Engr. Ernesto G. Reyes
     City Building Official : Arch. Domingo R. Tapay
     Chief, License Office II : Mr. Patricio L. Dumlao
     Parks Administration : Mr. Cesar L. Sianghio
     BOC : Mr. Alberto A. Seno
     CRO : Mr. Rodolfo S. Alcantara
     Exe. Legislative Liason Of : Dr. Anicleto Q. Lazo
     Liquor Licensing Reg. Board : Mrs. May Dumlao

Hon. ISMAEL MATHAY, JR. Mayor May 11, 1992 – June 30, 1995(Elected)

     Hon. CHARITO L. PLANAS Vice-Mayor 1991 – 1994

     12TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors
     First District

     Hon. Moises P. Samson
     Hon. Antonio L. Sioson
     Hon. Alberto Galarpe
     Hon. Victor V. Ferrer
     Hon. Emilio G. Tamayo, Jr
     Hon. Reynaldo A. Calalay

     Second District

     Hon. Antonio V. Hernandez (Anthony Alonzo)
     Hon. Melencio M. Castelo
     Hon. Fresca M. Biglang-Awa
     Hon. Godofredo T. Liban II
     Hon. Reynaldo Medina
     Hon. Marciano P. Medalla

     Third District

     Hon. Fe Consuelo S. Angeles
     Hon. Herbert M. Bautista
     Hon. Michael T. Defensor
     Hon. Franz S. Pumaren
     Hon. Cesar A. Dario
     Hon. Eufemio C. Lagumbay Jr.

     Fourth District

     Hon. Guillermo C. Altuna
     Hon. Joseph Peter S. Sison
     Hon. Bayani V. Hipol
     Hon. Alfredo A. Francisco (Fred Montilla)
     Hon. Ramon G. Mathay
     Hon. Herminio “Butch” Bautista

     Ex- Officio Members

     Hon. Bonifacio M. Rillon : Liga ng mga Barangay(July 4, 1994)
     Hon. Roberto A Miguel : Liga ng mga Barangay
     Hon. Wencerom Benedict C. Lagumbay : SK Federartion

     Representatives CY 1996 – 1998

     Hon. Renato A. Yap – First District
     Hon. Dante V. Liban – Second District
     Hon. Mitchell Y. Gumabao – Third District
     Hon. Feliciano Belmonte – Fourth District

     Department/Office Heads

     City Administrator : Manuel S. Alba
     Sec. to the Mayor : Lourdes S. Santos
     Chief, PAISO : Divina P. Japa
     City Budget Office : Estrella P. Gerardo
     City Assessor’s Office : Constantinot P. Rosas
     City Personnel Office : Lourdes L. Lansang
     City Health Officer : Magdalena M. Ybañez
     CTAO : Dominador B. Ocrisma
     City Adm. Officer : Rebecca S. Magsalin
     BPLO : Patricio L. Dumlao
     City Supt. of Libraries : Blanquita L. del Barrio
     City Treasurer : Alfredo D. Mercado
     City Engineer : Alfredo C. Macapugay
     Poice Superintendent : Rodolfo M. Garcia
     Civil Registry Office : Rosenda P. Manaois
     City Attorney : Nescito C. Hilario
     City Secretary : Sotero Laude
     City Supt. of Schools : Bienvenido A. Icasiano
     CRO (Nova) : Eddie T. Baldoria
     OIC, CRO : Enrico Fresnoza
     Taxes and Fees Division : Pedro U. Valenzuela
     UPAO : Zosimo Ampongan
     Industrial Relation Office : Edwin Tating
     GSO : Antonio Laudico      Dept. of Public Order and Safety Arnulfo D. Bañes
     BOC : Alberto A. Seno
     Tricycle Regulation Unit : Oscar Gonzales
     Parks and Playground : Cesar Sianghio
     Panning and Development : Gerardo P. Magat
     City Auditor : Ranulfo P. Verian
     Economic Development B. : Edgardo D. Viray
     OIC, Amoranto Stadium : Angel Limjoko III
     DIR. QCGH : Marina Yulo – Bringas
     Task Force Smile : Teodoro rey, Jr.
     TF. Dir. OPLAN CLEN QC : Cesar Ramirez
     TF, Radio Com. : Carlos I. Vezonilla
     Special Action and Perf. : Mario Laqui
     City Finance Coordinator : Juanito S. Ortiz

Hon. ISMAEL MATHAY, JR. Mayor July 01, 1995 – June 30, 1998

     Hon. HERBERT M. BAUTISTA Vice-Mayor June 30, 1995 – June 30, 1998

     13TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors
     First District

     Hon. Moises S. Samson
     Hon. Victor V. Ferrer
     Hon. Wilma Amoranto-Sarino
     Hon. Albert M. Galarpe
     Hon. Antonio L. Sioson
     Hon. Emilio G. Tamayo

     Second District

     Hon. Winston T. Castelo
     Hon. Godofredo T. Liban II
     Hon. Ma. Fresca M. Biglang-Awa
     Hon. Marciano P. Medalla
     Hon. Antonio V. Hernandez
     Hon. Enrico S. Serrano

     Third District

     Hon. Fe Consuelo S. Angeles
     Hon. Franz S. Pumaren
     Hon. Jorge L. Banal
     Hon. Michael F. Planas
     Hon. Eufemio C. Lagumbay
     Hon. Cesar A. Dario, Jr.

     Fourth District

     Hon. Joseph Peter S. Sioson
     Hon. Nanette C. Daza
     Hon. Guillermo C. Altuna
     Hon. Bayani V. Hipol
     Hon. Alfredo A. Francisco
     Hon. Ramon G. Mathay

     Sectoral Representative

     Hon. Bonifacio M. Rillon President Liga ng mga Barangay
     Hon. Wencerom Benedict C. Lagumbay SK Federation President

     Department/Office Heads

     City Administrator : Manuel S. Alba
     Sec. to the Mayor : Lourdes S. Santos
     City Assessors’s Office : Constantino P. Roxas
     City Health Officer : Magdalena M. Ybañez
     City Treasurer : Alfredo D. Mercado
     City Engineer : Alfredo C. Macapugay
     Dir., QCGH : Marina Yulo – Bringa
     Social Welfare Ser. Office : Teresita M. Mariano
     City Parks Adm. Dept. : Cesar Sianghio
     Division of City Schools : Bienvenido A. Icasiano
     Dept. of Public Order & Saf: Arnuldo D. Bañes
     BPLO : Ms. Adoracion Y. Alzona
     City Legal Office : Atty. J. Mario Laqui
     City Budget Office : Ms. Petronila J. Bague
     City Accounting Office : Ms. Editha Alzona
     GSO : Antonio Laudico
     CPDO : Gerardo P. Magat
     City Personnel Office : Lourdes L. Lansang
     City Civil Registry Office : Ms. Aida Carrera
     BOC : Alberto A. Seño
     CTAO : Dominador B. Ocrisma
     CRO : Mr. Alberto L. Feliciano
     QC Public Library : Blanquita L. Del Barrio
     PAISO : Divina P. Japa
     People’s Bereau : Atty. Remedies C. Balbin
     City Sec. Office : Atty. Eugenio V. Jurilla
     Novaliches Dist. Center : Mr. Eduardo T. Baldoria
     Task Force Smile : Mr. Teodoro Rey, Jr.
     Task Force Clean & Green : Atty. Cesar A. Ramirez, Jr.
     SYDP : Mrs. Lourdes S. Rances
     Public Assistance & Leg. : Atty. Jose M. Puhawan
     LLRB : Mr. Orlando V. Ozoa
     Industrial Relation Office : Mr. Edwin T. Tating
     Manpower Placement Unit : Mr. Ariel B. Satorre
     QC Polytechnic : Dr. Jesus R. Vergara
     QC Performing Arts : Mrs. Melissa V. Macapanpan
     TF Market and Slaughter. : Atty. Aramis B. Aguilar
     QC Sports Dev. Program : Mr. Simplicio A. Mathay
     Public Assistance Center : Mr. Urbano B. Valera
     QC Business Affairs C. Off : Mr. Enrique Beltran
     Senior Citizen Affairs Office: Atty. Juanito B. Marzan
     Fiscal Control Unit : Atty. Erlinda O. de Leon
     Tricycle Regulation Unit : Mr. Oscas G. Gonzales
     Radio Communication Ser : Mr. Carlos I. Versonilla

Hon. ISMAEL MATHAY, JR. Mayor July 01, 1998 – June 30, 2001

     Hon. CONNIE S. ANGELESCity Vice-Mayor 1999-2001

     Representatives CY 1999-2001

     Hon. Reynaldo Calalay – first District
     Hon. Dante liban – Second District
     Hon. Michael Defensor – Third District
     Hon. Feliciano Belmonte, Jr. – Fourth District

     14TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors CY 1999 – 2001
     First District

     Hon. Vincent Crisologo
     Hon. Antonio Sioson
     Hon. Elizabeth Delarmente
     Hon. Rommel Abesamis
     Hon. George Canseco
     Hon. Wilma Amoranto Sarino

     Second District

     Hon. Ma. Fresca Biglang-awa
     Hon. Winnie T. Castelo
     Hon. Marciano P. Medalla
     Hon. Godofredo T. Liban II
     Hon. Eric Z. Medina
     Hon. Enrico S. Serrano

     Third District

     Hon. Jorge L. Banal
     Hon. Eufemio C. Lagumbay
     Hon. Julian M.L. Coseteng
     Hon. Michael T. Planas
     Hon. Fernando V. Avanzado
     Hon. Anthony C. Castelo

     Fourth District

     Hon. Ramon G. Mathay
     Hon. Alma F. Montilla
     Hon. Jesus C. Suntay
     Hon. Marcel C. Rillo
     Hon. Nanette Castelo – Daza

     Sectoral Representatives

     Hon. Almario E. Francisco Liga ng mga Barangay
     Hon. Marvin C. Rillo Sangguniang Kabataan

     Department / Office Heads

     City Administrator : Dr. Manuel S. Alba
     Asst. City Administrator : Mrs. Melissa V. Macapanpan
     City Accountant’s Office : Mrs. Editha V. Alzona
     City Assessor’s Office : Atty. Emmanuel Carbonnel
     City Budget Office : Ms. Bella L. Fernandez
     City Registry Office : Mr. Ramon Matabang
     City Engineering Dept. : Engr. Alfredo N. Macapugay
     City Health Department : Dra. Paz D. Ugalde
     Chief, CGSO : Mr. Antonio S. Laudico
     City Legal Office : Atty. Jose M. Pumahaw
     LLRB : Mr. Oscar Magtoto
     Tricycle Regulation Unit : Mr. Orlando V. Ozoa
     City Parks Dept. : Engr. Zaldy Dela Rosa
     City Personnel Office : Mrs. Marlene S. Aguilar
     CPDO : Arch. Gerardo G. Magat
     DPOS : Gen. Arnulfo D. Banez
     People’s Bureau : Mr. Jaime Varela
     City Secretary’s Office : Atty. Eugenio V. Jurilla
     SSDD : Mrs. Theresa M. Mariano
     City Treasurer’s Office : Mr. Alfredo M. Cortez
     BOC : Mr. Albert A. Seno
     BPLO : Col. Rafael I. Galvez
     Community Relations Office Mrs. Ermelinda R. Sumiran
     PAISO : Mr. Gregorio T. Banacia
     QC Anti-Drug Abuse Coun.: Mrs. May C. Dumlao
     TF Clean and Green : Ms. Frederika C. Rentoy
     TF Market & Slaughter. : Mr. Teodoro C. Rey Jr.
     Scholarship and Youth : Mrs. Melissa V. Macapanpan
     Quezon City Polytechnic : Dr. Jose R. Vergara
     Senior Citizens Affairs : Juanito B. Marzan
     Sports Devt.t Office : Mr. Simplicio A. Mathay
     TF Treasury Operations : Mrs. Lourdes S. Rances
     QC General Hospital : Dr. Edgardo De Villa Salud
     QCPL & Infor. Center : Mrs. Rosario R. Vicente
     Novaliches District Center : Mr. Calixto D. Bruselas
     QC Public Ass. Center : Mr. Urbano B. Valera
     City Prosecutor : Mr. Claro A. Arellano

HON. FELICIANO “SONNY” BELMONTE JR. City Mayor July 01, 2001 - 2004

     HON. HERBERT M. BAUTISTA Vice Mayor July 01, 2001 – 2004

     Representatives CY 2001-2004

     Hon. Reynaldo Calalay – First District
     Hon. Ismael “Chuck” Mathay – Second District
     Hon. Matias V. Defensor – Third District
     Hon. Nanette Castelo Daza – Fourth District

     15TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors CY 2001 – 2004
     First District

     Hon. Rommel R. Abesamis
     Hon. Vicente P. Crisologo
     Hon. Elizabeth A. Delarmente
     Hon. Victor V. Ferrer Jr.
     Hon. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
     Hon. Vilma A. Sarino

     Second District

     Hon. Allan Butch T. Francisco
     Hon. Voltaire Godofredo Liban III
     Hon. Ramon P. Medalla
     Hon. Eric Z. Medina
     Hon. Aiko Melendez
     Hon. Mary Ann L. Susano

     Third District

     Hon. Jorge L. Banal
     Hon. Julian M. L. Coseteng
     Hon. Dante M. De Guzman
     Hon. Wencerom Benedict C. Lagumbay
     Hon. Franz S. Pumaren
     Hon. Diorella Maria G. Sotto – De Leon

     Fourth District

     Hon. Ricardo R. Del Rosario
     Hon. Antonio C. Inton Jr.
     Hon. Restituto B. Malañgen
     Hon. Janet M. Malaya
     Hon. Alma F. Montilla
     Hon. Jesus Manuel C. Suntay

     Sectoral Representatives

     Hon. Xyrus Lanot ABS President (Liga ng mga Barangay)
     Hon. Junie Marie Castelo SK Federation Chairwoman

     THE CITY ADMINISTRATORS

     Atty. Paquito N. Ochoa
     City Administrator
     Mr. Pacifico Maghacot Jr.
     Asst. City Administrator Head, BPLO
     Mr. Neil Lina Asst. City Administrator OIC, MDAD
     Mr. Manuel Sabalza Asst. City Administrator Head, DPOS

     Department / Office Heads

     City Accountant : Editha Alzona
     City Assessor : Teofista LL. Fajara (Ret.) Jose Castro (OIC)
     City Budget : Bella L. Fernandez
     Civil Registrar : Atty. Ramon Matabang
     CGSO : Rolando Montiel
     City Legal : Atty. Christian Valencia
     City Personnel Office : Marlene Aguilar
     City Planning : Arch. Gerardo Magat
     City Treasurer : Dr. Victor Endriga
     OIC, CRO : Atty. Victor Rodriguez
     CTAO : Eden Villanueva
     OIC, City Engineering : Engr. Joselito Cabungcal
     EPWMD : Frederika Rentoy
     IRO : Ignacio Santos Diaz, Jr.
     Chairman LLRB : Albert Galarpe
     PDAD : Engr. Zaldy Dela Rosa
     Chief, PAISO : Gregorio Banacia
     OIC, PALAO : Atty. Antonio Rosales
     City Health : Dra. Maria Paz UgaldeCity Library : Emelita L. Villanueva
     QCPO : Albert Abueva
     Chief, Registry of Deeds : Atty. Elbart Quilala
     SSDD : Ma. Teresa Mariano
     Chief, TRU : Margarita Toledo
     UPAO : Ramon T. Asper

     Task Forces, Projects, & Other Units

     Chief, COPRISS : Marlowe Jacutin
     GDRCO : Neri Ruby Palma
     QC Anti-drug Abuse Coun. : Wenceslao Cortez
     Officer, QCBACO : Nina Ordoñez
     Exec. Dir. QCPU : Dr. Jose Vergara, Ed. D.
     OIC, OSCA : Conrado Buenaventura
     QC Sagip Buhay : Flordeliza Agdigos
     SYDP : Rogelio Reyes
     Asst. Treasurer for operation/TFAT Atty. Voltaire Enriquez
     Chief, SAO : Arch. Pedro Rodriguez
     POG Col. : Jameel Jaymalin
     Chief, AMO : Edwin Tating
     Comm. Service Officer : Carlos Verzonilla
     OIC, LTPU : Elias Jesus Santos

     Other Offices

     District Director, CPDC : Gen. Nicascio J. Radovan Jr.
     Chief, City Hall Detach. : P/Supt. Elmo San Diego
     QC Jail Warden, BJMP : Col. James Labordo
     Fire Marshall, QC Fire Dept. Maj. Oscar V. Villegas
     OIC, Amoranto Sports Com. Andy Apostol
     Resident Auditor, COA : Crisanto S. Gabriel
     Sec. to the Vice Mayor : Dean Raymundo A. Briones
     Sec. to the Sanggunian : Atty. Eugenio V. Jurilla

HON. FELICIANO “SONNY” BELMONTE JR. City Mayor July 01, 2004 - present

     HON. HERBERT M. BAUTISTA Vice Mayor July 01, 2004 to Present

     Representatives – CY 2004 to Present

     Hon. Vincent “Bingbong” P. Crisologo – First District
     Hon. Annie Rosa L. Susano – Second District
     Hon. Matias V. Defensor – Third District
     Hon. Nanette Castelo Daza – Fourth District

     16TH QUEZON CITY COUNCIL
     Councilors – CY 2004 to Present
     First District

     Hon. Bernadette Herrera – Dy
     Hon. Elizabeth Delarmente
     Hon. Rommel Abesamis
     Hon. Francisco Calalay Jr.
     Hon. Victor R. Ferrer Jr.
     Hon. Joseph Jueco

     Second District

     Hon. Winnie Castelo
     Hon. Aiko Melendez
     Hon. Allan Butch R. Francisco
     Hon. Godofredo Liban
     Hon. Ramon P. Medalla
     Hon. Erick Medina

     Third District

     Hon. Jorge L. Banal Jr.
     Hon. Franz Pumaren
     Hon. Diorella Sotto
     Hon. Dante M. De Guzman
     Hon. Benedict Lagumbay
     Hon. Julian M. Coseteng

     Fourth District

     Hon. Edcel Lagman
     Hon. Ariel Inton Jr.
     Hon. Bayani M. Hipol
     Hon. Restituto Malañgen
     Hon. Janet Malaya
     Hon. Alma F. Montilla

     Sectoral Representatives

     Hon. Xyrus Lanot ABS President (Liga ng mga Barangay)
     Hon. Junie Marie Castelo SK Federation Chairwoman

     THE CITY ADMINISTRATORS

     Atty. Paquito N. Ochoa City Administrator
     Mr. Pacifico Maghacot Jr. Asst. City Administrator Head, BPLO
     Mr. Neil Lina Asst. City Administrator OIC, MDAD
     Mr. Manuel Sabalza sst. City Administrator Head, DPOS

     Department / Office Heads

     City Accountant : Editha Alzona
     Cit Assessor : Teofista LL. Fajara (Ret.) Jose Castro (OIC)
     City Budget : Bella L. Fernandez
     Civil Registrar : Atty. Ramon Matabang
     CGSO : Rolando Montiel
     City Legal : Atty. Christian Valencia
     City Personnel Office : Marlene Aguilar
     City Planning : Arch. Gerardo Magat
     City Treasurer : Dr. Victor Endriga
     OIC, CRO : Atty. Victor Rodriguez
     CTAO : Eden Villanueva
     OIC, City Engineering : Engr. Joselito Cabungcal
     EPWMD : Frederika Rentoy
     IRO : Ignacio Santos Diaz, Jr.
     Chairman LLRB : Albert Galarpe
     PDAD : Engr. Zaldy Dela Rosa
     Chief, PAISO : Gregorio Banacia
     OIC, PALAO : Atty. Antonio Rosales
     City Health : Dra. Maria Paz Ugalde
     City Library : Emelita L. Villanueva
     QCPO : Albert Abueva
     Chief, Registry of Deeds : Atty. Elbart Quilala
     SSDD : Ma. Teresa Mariano
     Chief, TRU : Margarita Toledo
     UPAO : Ramon T. Asper

     Task Forces, Projects, & Other Units

     Chief, COPRISS : Marlowe Jacutin
     GDRCO : Neri Ruby Palma
     QC Anti-drug Abuse Coun. : Wenceslao Cortez
     Officer, QCBACO : Nina Ordoñez
     Exec. Dir. QCPU : Dr. Jose Vergara, Ed. D.
     OIC, OSCA : Conrado Buenaventura
     QC Sagip Buhay : Flordeliza Agdigos
     SYDP : Rogelio Reyes
     TFAT : Atty. Voltaire Enriquez
     Chief, SAO : Arch. Pedro Rodriguez
     POG Col. : Jameel Jaymalin
     Chief, AMO : Edwin Tating
     Comm. Service Officer : Carlos Verzonilla
     OIC, LTPU : Elias Jesus Santos

     Other Offices

     District Director, CPDC : Gen. Nicascio J. Radovan Jr.
     Chief, City Hall Detach. : P/Supt. Elmo San Diego
     QC Jail Warden, BJMP : Col. James Labordo
     Fire Marshall, QC Fire Dept. Maj. Oscar V. Villegas
     OIC, Amoranto Sports Com Andy Apostol
     Resident Auditor, COA : Crisanto S. Gabriel
     Sec. to the Vice Mayor : Dean Raymundo A. Briones
     Sec. to the Sanggunian : Atty. Eugenio V. Jurilla

CHAPTER 15

HISTORY OF QUEZON CITY BARANGAYS

     BAGUMBAYAN
     Created on 1963 by ordinance No. 5417. This place was formerly a barrio, surrounded with plants, rice fields and clean river. They called it “Bagong Bayan” because it was the place where the people wanted to live forever.
     BAYANIHAN
     Before its creation, barangay Bayanihan was originated from the defunct bayanihan Social Club. A People’s organization under the presidency of Wilfredo Ordinario. The constituents approved for the proposal that it must be named after the said organization. They have appointed the later Mr. Pedro Martinez as the first Barangay Captain. Barangay Bayanihan was created on December 16, 1972, through the initiative of the late Councilor Eddie Alinea, with the support and approval of Assemblyman Rogelio Quiambao. The population then was approximately 3,500 and voting population was 2000.
     CAMP AGUINALDO
     During the time of its creation, this barangay was formerly known as Camp Murphy with only two hundred fifty households and a voting population of eight hundred persons, excluding transient individuals. Camp Murphy during that time was then associated with Barnagay Socoroo and was not officially called a barangay. However, on September 25, 1971, it was adopted as barangay and was called Barangay Camp Aguinaldo by then former Teniente del Barrio Formalejo through the accreditation of the Malacanang Palace.
     EAST KAMIAS
     Originally, Barangay East Kamias is a civic barrio called Kamias. Its name was derived from a tree called Kamias, which according to old residents, are abundant in this part of Quezon City.
     In the year 1975, Barrio Kamias was, by operation of law, divided into two barangays, namely, West and East Kamias.
     Barangay East Kamias has a land area of 7.8 square meters and with a population of 8,340 as of 1995.
     The first Teniente del Barrio who was appointed to the position was Deogracias Cruz and the Kagawads, who were likewise appointed were Amador Gatus, Augosto Beltran(who became the first elected barangay captain), Alfredo Tungpalan and others who can no longer be recalled to memory.
     ESCOPA I
     Way back during the liberation period, it was a barrio called “Lata”, but was later changed to “ISCOPA” which means “1st Company of the Philippine Army”. The days had passed and the folks changed it to “ESCOPA”. During the Martial Law, sometime in 1978 the Interim Assembly divided Escopa into four, for the reason of equal representation in the City Government. This lead to the creation of Escopa I through Assemblyman Quiambao. The first appointed Barangay Captain was Captain Antonio Morales. He was appointed by Mayor Amoranto. The first council members were Aurora Marzo, silvinia Lagunsad, Amelia Mercado, Angelo Salamatin, Bertinio Yap and Crispin Billutes. The estimated population as of 1975 was 612 and as of September 1995, the population rose to 2,049 (NSO statistics)
     ESCOPA III
     Almost five decades when the military camp of 1st Signal Company of the Philippine Army was built in 14.0229 hectares under Magdalena Estate.
     In the year 1953, when President Elpidio Quirino signed the Proclamation No. 472, 473 and 478 stating that these lots will be awarded to Social Welfare Administration. With the same year when the military camp was transferred to Camp Aguinaldo and this area was left to the family of military personnel.
     The name Escopa came from 1st Signal Company, P.A. for short ESCOPA.
     Escopa was divided into four barangys, and Escopa III was created last June 25, 1975 under Executive Order No. 29 (P.D. 26 and 210).
     The total number of household as of September 1975 was 1,173 and the number of registered voter as of March 1997 was 3,098. the first barangay captain was Conrado Belmonte and his kagawad members were Melita Lauzon, Magdaleno Fernandez, Wilfredo Soriano, Gregorio Magsambol, Primitivo Tayan, and Juan Quero.
     ESCOPA IV
     The name ISCOPA was derived, too, from 1ST SIGNAL CORPS PHILIPPINE ARMY. It has been known as Barrio Escopa in 1943. The population at that time was estimated at 800 inhabitants. The first appointed Tenyente Del Barrio wss Pedro Picones who served from 1950-1955.
     In 1972 Mayor Amoranto, divided Barrio Escopa into four Barangays: barangay Escopa I, barangay Escopa II, Barangay Escopa III and Barangay Escopa IV.
     Barangay Escopa IV was created under Executive Order No. 29 by then City mayor Norberto Amoranto by virtue of P>D> nos. 557 dated September 21, 1974. the first appointed barangay captain was Felicisio Villanueva from 1973 to 1974. In 1974, same eyar, he resigned and relinguished his position and was succeeded by Jose Minoza whop served up to 1982.
     BARANGAY LIBIS
     The Libis River was a natural source of water for years, dried up in the course of time. The fruit trees which supplied abundant fruits throughout the years were cut down to give space for the rapidly growing population of the community. The area had been divided into seven barangay sitios which were heavily congested from people from different regions of the country.
     The community of Libis became of legal barangay known as Barangay Libis headed by a Barangay Captain on September 21, 1972 to 1974. Before that time, the community was called Barrio Libis headed by a Teniente del Barrio. The first elected Barangay Captain of Barangay Libis was Ladislao Pasco (1989-1990)
     BARANGAY PANSOL
     Pansol circa Spanish times to the Commonwealth era was a sitio of balara, a barrio of Marikina, Rizal.
     The sitio was sparsely populated with small scale farming and a cottage industry of footwear making as the main sources of livelihood.
     The people of Marikina used to refer to Pansol as “bundok (mountain) or “ulat” a corruption of the word “ulap” (cloud) as the place was almost always covered with mist or ground fog in the early mornings and late afternoons throughout the year.
     The area was almost farm fields. The largest plantation was of sugar cane owned by the Tuazon fmily. Sugar cane fields in the area feed the sugar cane mill in the visit to produce muscovado sugar. These farm fields were irrigated through a natural spring located in an area called Boliran. Its water never ran out and was also used by the residents for their daily household needs.
     Other natural springs are found also in a nearby low mountain fondly called, “Payong” resembling an opened umbrella. These springs could have been the source of Pansol after Pansol, laguna known for its natural springs.
     The barrio was administered through a “Cabeza de Barangay” who was popularly designated by consensus usually schooled and a man of means.
     Pansol’s population increased due mainly to migrants. The earliest, were the work forces that extended the Carriedo Water Supply System (1878) through developmental projects such as: the Marikina River development – Montalban System (1908 – 1924), the Angat – Montalban System (1924 – 1944) and the post World Was II projects, (1945 – 1964).
     Many of the families residing in Pansol now are descendants of these work forces.
     This influx was followed during the liberation of Metro Manila from the Japanese occupation forces. Families from the nearby towns of Marikina particularly from Montalban evacuated to Pansol to avoid the dangers of bombardment by American forces of their towns and also of Japanese atrocities.
     The last wave of migrants came after liberation to work at U.S. Army camps at Pansol and neighboring areas.
     Pansol (as sitio of Balara) became part of Quezon City in 1939 when President Manuel L. Quezon signed into law Commonwealth Act No. 502 on October 12, 1939 creating Quezon City.
     BRGY. SAN ROQUE
     It was in 1932, under the administration of Pres. Manuel L. Quezon when Doña Magdalena hemady donated several hectares of her land to the government. The said donated land was made into a Military Camp named Camp Murphy which originated from the name of the American Military Governor of the Islands, Gen. Frank Murphy.
     On May 3, 1936, after the establishement of the camp, the community had the Commanding officer of Camp Murhpy as their “teniente del barrio”. Col Mariano N. Castañeda was the first Teniente del barrio. In 1950, Quezon City Mayor Ignacio Santos Diaz appointed Mr. Mariano B. Santiago as the second Teniente del Barrio of Murphy.
     On January 1, 1960, the Barrio Charter became a law. The barrio were given the autonomy so the people could choose their own officials. Elections were held for the barrio officlas as mandated by law. Det. P/Capt. Hilario C. Suque was elected chairman of the Barrio along with others as members.
     On July 4, 1963, eections were held and won by Mr. Lucio Santos, the first Barrion Lieutenant under the 1960 Barrio Charter along with seventeen Vice barrio Lieutenants, four councilors, a Secretary and a Tresurer.
     On June 22, 1963, upon the approval of R.A. No. 3590 better known as “The Revised Barrio Charter of the Philippines.” The Barrion Lieutenant was renamed as Barrio Captain. No elections were made for some years but appointments were made by the City Mayor.
     It was November 21, 1974, when R.A. 3590 was amended and all barrios in the Philippines were renamed “Barangays” under P.D. No.557. Barrio Captains were renamed “Barangay Captains” and after the EDSA Revolution in 1986, Mayor Brigido Simon, Jr. appointed the Barangay San Roque.
     On March 28, 1989, elections for Barangay Officials were held. Mr. Ermelo T. Maximo obtained the highest number of votes became the Barangay Captain.
     The latest elections for Barangay Officials were held on May 12, 1997. Former Kagawad virgilio V. Sagun Jr., won as Barangay Captain along with Mr. Edwin R. dela Cruz, Ms. Josenia G. Esmas, Ms. Lucia R. Montes, Ms. Laarni S. Paras, Mr. Vicente A. Marasigan, Mr. Norberto B. Buena, and Mr. Manuel G. Dario as Kagawads.
     BARANGAY SILANGAN
     Barangay Silangan was created as legal barrio pursuant to P.D. 86 and P.D. 210 which was subsequently recognized as barangay under P.D. 557 dated Sept. 21, 1974 “Declaring all Barrios and Citizen’s Assemblies in the Philippines as Barangay” and by virtue of an Executive Order #28 dated June 25, 1975 pursuant to P.D. 557.
     The first barangay official who acted as Tinyente del barrio was Col. Obaña. He was replaced by Barangay Captain Jaime Cleofe in 1967 who was preplaced by virtue of an executive appointment, by. Dr. Greg Llaguno (1986 – 1989) who was replaced back again by Mr. Jaime Cleofe (1989). From 1989 to present, Mr. Ponciano P. Mortera Jr. took over as Barangay Captain and was re – elcted twice in a row 1994 and 1997.
     BARANGAY TAGUMPAY
     Our Barangay was a civic Barrio in the came of “Barrio Tagumpay” which was created last June 25, 1975 in the leadership of the appointed Mr. Juanito B. Alfaro as the Barangay Captain. But before it was created then, the Tinyente del Barrio, as the old name call for Barangay Captain, it was in the leadership of “Floro Gonzales” who surrendered his power to Juanito Alfaro. At the time of Floro Gonzales, the population was more or less 150 families only, during Alfaro’s time, there was less than 500 families (estimate only).
     BARANGAY UGONG
     Ugong – batuhan are the popular names. Ugong is derived from loud noise made by the merry makers in the past. Batuhan got its name from the stoney land of the place. It was established in 1986. the 1st Teniente del barrio is Patricio Legaspi.
     BAGONG LIPUNAN NG CRAME
     It was created as a simple sitio in 1962, headed by Flor Cristobal who was then appointed as Tenyente del Barrio by Councilor Fred Montilla. Mayor Ignacio Diaz was then the city mayor.
     In 1972, the Barangay Bagong Lipunan ng Crame was created thru a Presidential Decree of the late Pres. Ferdinand Marcos. Its name was derived from the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan of then First Lady Imelda Marcos.
     BOTOCAN
     In the beginning, 1960, Barangay Botocan is a civic Barrio headed by Aresio Erediano and some constituents who were members of 'TANGLAW NG NAYON'. A community organization.
     It was created after the name of Botocan Transmission Line, with 50 families residing on the said Civic Barrio, now Barangay Botocan.
     It was declared Barangay Botocan in 1964, through Mayor Norberto Amoranto.
     DON MANUEL
     On March 23, 1973, pursuant to Presidential decrees no. 86 and 210, Barangay Don Manuel was created and established, under executive order no. 31 and Resolution no. 9202 series of 1972. It was named after President Manuel L. Quezon, father of Philippine Independence and Founder of Quezon City.
     Its territorial boundary then extended up to Barangay Dona Josefa, excluding the portion east of Cordillera Street.
     KRUS NA LIGAS
     The history of Krus na Ligas dates back in the 19th century. A bureau of land report dated June 3, 1974 indicated that birth certificates dating as far back in 1850 and copies of tax declarations on real properties of barrio folks duly accomplished and receipted for the years 1920. 30 attested to the existence of a community of some original 30 families who occupied and tilted over 200 hectares of land in the area.
     Stories handed down from generation to generation tell of a Spanish soldier who was passing by the village. He inquired from a villager the name of a place gesturing towards a poison ivy tree (ligas) presently the site of 200 year old chapel which grew in a cross (Krus) formation. Thinking that the Spaniard was asking the name of the tree, he answere “Krus na Ligas”. The name stuck on to this day.
     In 1934, Don Severino Tuazon had claims to the land by virtue of original certificate of title no. 730 and forced the inhabitants to pay a 10% of their harvests in the form of land tax.
     After the war, on March 3, 1949, Pres. Elpidio Quirino sold, transferred and conveyed eight parcels of land registered under the Commonwealth of the Philippines (TCT No. 36048) in favor of U.P.. Later on, this title was cancelled and after a sub-division survey (PSD 174313), TCT No. 192690 was issued which now included lots 40 and 41, covering some 43 hectares of the present Krus Na Ligas.
     The residents of Barangay Krus na Ligas filed a petition to the Office of the President for the exclusion from the titled property of U.P. Lots no. 40 and 41.
     BARANGAY IMMACULATE CONCEPTION
     The original name was derived from OUR LADY OF IMMACULATE CONCEPTION, which became the patroness of the barangay.
     It was created under the Barangay Election Act of 1982, which expressly provided that “Barangay” included all then existing barangays and those which had been organized pursuant to laws passed prior to March 25, 1982. Local barangay officials then, instead of being appointed was made elective. The manner of creation was made by direct operation of law, through the passage of Barangay Election Act of 1982.
     Before the enactment of Barangay Election Act of 1982, On March 25, 1982, Barangay Immaculate Conception has been formerly under the status of a Civic Barrio, pursuant to the Barrio Charter Act of Republic Act No. 3590, as amended. Under the operation of this law, barangay officials were duly appointed as Barrio Concilmen, insteqad of being called Kagawads, as it is called today.
     BARANGAY PINYAHAN
     On June 22, 1963, RA 3590 known as the Revised Barrio Charter amending RA 2370 was enacted expanding the scope of the barrio power. Membership in the council was increased to include a barrio executive as Barrio Captain and six councilmen and granting powers to the barrio offcials.
     Barangay Pinyahan has been originally a part of Central District Diliman and Central District was divided into two which became Barangay Central and Pinyahan. The area of Pinyahan was been popularly known as a place for growing abundant pineapples since the early 1930's until it was subdivided in 1948 by the PHHC.
     BARANGAY ROXAS
     Barangay roxas as popularly known today used to be known as People's Homesite. This area is the first project undertaken by then PHHC in compliance with an Executive order of the President.
     This barangay came into being in 1949 and was named after President Manuel Roxas, First President of the Republic after the Philippine Commonwealth. This Homesite was created for the first batch of government employees from different government offices. The original number of government employees that moved into this homesite numbered about less than 1000.
     The streets of this barangay were named after national flowers to be distinct from other projects that were created during the later years.
     During the Martial law years, this barangay was also transformed into a civic barrio.
     BARANGAY SAN MARTIN DE PORRES
     The original name of this barangay was Isidro Labrador. This barangay was created because of the influx of people from various regions of the Philippines from 1945 to 1972. Most of the residents here are informal settlers. It was created by virtue of Executive Order No. 32 of the Mayor Amoranto, dated June 23, 1975.
     BARANGAY SANTOL
     Barangay Santol is one of the 38 barangays in the fourth district of Quezon City. It was created way back in 1956.
     It was a part of a vast tract of land and was allegedly owned by the original residents whose claim to ownership was fortified by Spanish titles. In 1957, Tuazon Estate, administered by the Araneta's ererged as the land owner and started sub-dividing the land and sold it to the present residents. Thru a court case, the Tuazon estate won over the original owners which are being recognized up to the present time.
     In 1953, a portion of the area was named Barangay Santol and its boundaries were well-defined only in the early sixties.
     BARANGAY TEACHER'S VILLAGE WEST
     Originally, it was called Teacher's Village Barangay. It was so called because the lots were subdivided and awarded to all Teachers of Manila by the national Housing Authority. In 1977, this barangay was divided into two barnagays, namely: Teacher's Village West and Teacher's Village East.
     BARANGAY BAESA
     Barangay name Baesa was created in 1910 and was derived from a woman who was the first inhabitant of the place. This was was once a forest with big trees and bamboos. According to history, in this forested place, there lived a woman who lived alone, which mean “Babaing Mag-iisa”, which later on became “Baesa”, as others relayed; there was once a Spaniard who can not speak tahgalog well. That instead of saying “Babaing Nag-iisa”, he pronounced it “BA-ISA.” Until the present time, the place was called Baesa from its orignal word of B-is, except of its spelling which is “Baesa.”
     Baesa was once a part of Caloocan, but when Quezon City was created, and some of its parts were sliced to form part of Quezon City, including Baesa. Until it was developed, and became the center of business entities. All the farms that were once tilled by the farmers were contructed to subdivisions.
     BARANGAY BALON-BATO
     Barangay Balon-Bato was a former civic barrio, of the second district in Apolonio Samson. It was detached from the said district and constituted into a district and independent barangay without affecting in any manner the existence of the mother barnagay Apolonio Samsaon. It was created by virtue of Presidential decree No. 1316 signed by then President Marcos on March 26, 1978.
     The name Balon-Bato was derived form wells. It was said that all houses of this barangay had wells build purely of stone from top to bottom. The place is also stony, and these wells were their only source of water for the household consumption and other purposes. The name “Balon” means a well, and “bato” means “stone”, thus, put together, “Balon-Bato”.
     BARANGAY CAPRI
     Long before its creation as an independent barangay, Barangay Capri was a ricefield area and was then a place for the proposed Quezon City Jail. It was officially created as an independent Barangay pursuant ot Batas Pambansa Blg. 784 approved on April 27, 1984, by then Pres. Marcos. By virtue of this law, Barnagay Capri was separated from its mother barangay (Nagkaisang Nayon) and became an independent barnagay which was subsequently ratified by a majority of the votes casted in the prebiscite held on May 14, 1984 by the Commission on Elections.
     It is situated in the Novaliches District of Quezon City, about one kilometer from the Novaliches (Bayan) Proper. It is bounded on the North and Northwest by a tributary of the Tullahan River, on the west, South and Southwest by Tullahan River and on the West, South by the Don Enrique Subdivision and a road of Barangay Nagkaisang nayon. It is one of the smallest barangays of Queozn City, with a land area of less than 10 hectares.
     BARANGAY COMMONWEALTH
     It was created by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 557 dated September 21, 1974. It has a total land area of 444 hectares excluded for the government center.
     BARANGAY GULOD
     Gulod means “Uphill”, and is a part of the Novaliches District. The areas within its jurisdiction were called “sitios” in the early years of its creation, as follows:
     A. Kay Bukot – was the name taken after the person who first established a home in the place.
     B. Paso ni Beranda – This was taken after the person who made a trail leading to her house.
     C. Paso ni Tandang Itang- this was a trail made by the old who first lived in the place.
     D. Maugat – This sitio is characterized by the presence of big roots of trees found in it.
     BARANGAY KALIGAYAHAN
     Formerly known as Barrio Binugsok, then on March 5, 1962, under the City Ordinance no. 5000, Barnagay Kaligayahan was created. Its name was derived from the work “Ligaya”, name of spouse of Mr. Mamerto Miranda, the known leader of the Barrio, at that time, then the name “Ligaya” was transformed to “Kaligayahan”, meaning “Happiness.”
     GREATER LAGRO
     Greater Lagro is a new barnagay created in 1996 by the splitting of the former barangay Pasong Putik in three barangays through a city ordinance sponsored by Councilor Godofredo Liban II. It started its operation on June1, 1997. The barnagay encompasses La Mesa Dam, Hilltop subdivision, Sitio Milan of Neopolitan Subdivision, and Lagro Subdivision, which is the biggest and the center of government.
     NEW ERA
     Barangay New Era was created on January 2, 1981, pursuant to Presidential decree No. 1760, issued by Pres. Marcos, in response to the clamor of the residents led by the natural community leaders, in order to insure closer supervision of the execution of development programs of the locality and the attainment of a self-relant status of the community.
     It is bounded on the North and Northeast by Tandang Sora Avenue, on the East by the same avenue, on the Southeast by commonwealth Avenue, on the South by Central Avenue, on the Southwest by Sitio Mabilog, and the West by Lots no. 689, 680, 678 and 687 of the Piedad Estate and by San Antonio Subdivision.
     BARANGAY NOVALICHES PROPER
     When Quezon City was declared as the Capital of the Philippines on October 22, 1949, Novaliches was annexed to Queozn City due to its expanded territory.
     It was created on June25, 1978, thru P.D. no. 210, with a land area of 59,286 hectares and with a total population of 14,051 in 1995.
     BARANGAY PASONG TAMO
     The name “Pasong Tamo” was derived from the wild plants “Tamo” thickly growing along major paths cutting through and or from the eastern parts to the western exits of this are. Bonifacio the “revolutionists” so named the place.
     The name dates back from the time of the Spanish times. The barrio now barnagay was formally named from its original name through Ordinance No. 4992 dated March 1, 1962. Legal boundaries were so established during the incumbency of the late Mayor Amoranto in the presence of the neighboring Teniente Del Barrio who was called for a conference.
     During the first formal barrio officials’ tenure of office, the place was barely populated.
     BARANGAY SANGANDAAN
     Its original name was taken from the Sanga – Sangang Daan, sometime in the year 1964. It was fornely a civic barrio. Its population then was about 500. Its present population now ranges from 21, 000.
     The Barangay Officials then was Gregorio Labudahon, as Barangay Chairman, and then followed by: Jun Santos as Officer in charge; Bienvinido Angeles; Officer in Charge; lucio Galguerra as Barangay Captain; Jose Labudahon as Barangay Captain and Johny J. bayot as a present Barangay Captain of Sangandaan.
     SAN BARTOLOME
     The exact date of this district was extablished could not be determined because of the lack of records or resource person in the lace who could specify the exact date. But natives of the place have this to say:
     The patron saint of the place is San Bartolome. The image of this patron saint was first seen in a hollow of a “Dapdap” tree in a yard owned by Mr. Manuel Bartolome and at present owned by Mr. Urbano Roque. Different priest from different towns and provinces trkied to get the image of this patron saint but failed. At last, the priest of San Bartolome de Malabon succeeded in removing the said image from the hollow of the tree. Thus the place was named San Bartolome.
     Sitios included are; San Bartolome Matanda, San Bartolome Bata, Bagbag.
     STA. LUCIA
     Described as a place “so near but yet so far”, Sta. Lucia is indeed so close yet rather inaccessible to San Bartolome, Cubao, and the busting center of Novaliches. Bounded on the north by a winding creek and rolling hills, on the south by ricefields, on the east by the Fairview Subdivision and on the west by patches of grasslands of the Chuidian Subdivision, it occupies an area of about 329, 245 sq.m and holds a population of no less than 5,700 individualism.
     The barrio Sta. Lucia is a part of Novaliches which is a district of Queaon City Metro Manila. The Community is a close to highways, factories, markets and schools. Residents enjoy the convenience of ectrical and other appliances. Most of the people are employed in factories and commercial establishments as well as private and public offices.
     An overall physical view of bArrio Sta. Lucia makes up a rural impression. Ricefields, meadows, orchards, and dirt roads are complemented with the sight of farmers, work animals, stray animals and make shift shelters wich mean home to many poor families. Barrio Sta. Lucia has been declared a depressed area by Mayor Adelina Rodriguez of Quezon City. However, it could be proudly so.
     Formerly, Sta. Lucia was a part of the Gabriel Estate, a forested area with some Riceland, sold to defunct PHHC in 1955. Lots were awarded in 1959 to landless families in Quezon City and the suburban areas, and to the squatters ejected from the Meralco compound in Kamuning. Through the initiative of the barrio folks, a resolution was sent to the City Council of Quezon City Council of Quezon City petitioning in the recognition of Sta. Lucia as a separate barrio.
     There were no feeder roads and the dwellers had to negotiate several kilometer of muddy pathways to the highway by foot. Life was difficult due to lack of transportation. In 1967, the first feeder was constructed by the very through intercession of then President Carlos P. Garcia. There came a rapid influx of people from Manila area and the provinces.
     Meanwhile, some farmlands in the barrio had given way to subdivisions which had somewhat changed aspects of the barrio. Owner, the rual and rustic atmosphere of the place has remained.
     BARANGAY UNANG SIGAW
     The original name of this Barangay was Barrio Unang Sigaw which was created thru Ordinance with at least 500 populations dated May 11, 1951. During the Marcos regime all legal barrios was declared Barangays dated September 11, 1971 and so this formerly named Barrio is now Barangay Unang Sigaw. Since 1951 said Barrio was lead by the so called “Tinyente del Barrio” and the following Officials then were as follows:
     1951 to 1955 : Ricardo Pilares
     1955 to 1958 : Daniel Pilares
     1958 to 1962 : Ricardo Pilares
     1962to 1965 : Julian Duran
     1965 to 1968 : Ricardo Pilares
     1968 to 1971 : Daniel Pilares
     1971 to 1986 : Renato Lacad
     1986 to 1989 : OIC – Domingo Batimana
     1989 to present : Roladno F. Gajudo
     VASRA
     It was originally a neighborhood association namely, the Visayas Avenue Subdivision Residents’ Association. The Founding President of the Neighborhood Association was Mr. Rafael Hernandez, and it comprised of residents, coming from Visayas Avenue (with was only up to Culiat Creek then), Forestry Street, Fisheries Street, DANR Street, Plant Industry Street, Soil Street, Mine Street, Lands Street most of the residents there then were high-ranking government officials of different government agencies, such as Bureau of Soils, Forestry, Mines and Lands, etc.
     Vasra was officially created as a Barangay through Quezon City Ordinance No. 60-4342, introduced then by Council Diamonon. According to the Ordinance, the area comprising Project X-6 of the Peoples Homesite and Housing Corporation including the two lots occupied by the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, commonly known as DANR Compound, re constituted into a Barrio to be known as Barrio Vasra.
     The Ordinance creating Vasra was approved on January 22, 1960 and was signed by Hon. Vicente Novales, the Vice-Mayor and Presiding Officer at the time.
     VETERAN’S VILLAGE
     Project 7 originally occupied 42 hectare lot and this like a hillock, with tall talahibs and some rice paddies, which gave rustic picture. This scenery was before the construction of the houses in Project 7 materialized. It was supposed to be occupied by the squatters from Manila. However, the Philippine Housing Corporation (PHHC) divided it into 2 parts. The first part was called the North Bago Bantay, while was occupied by the squatters from Manila, while the other was known as the South Bago Bantay, where Project 7 now resides.
     This project was done through the arrangement of three agencies namely; Internt’l. Corp Agency, (ICA), Nat’l. Econ. Council (NEC), and PHHC, the former shall finance the constructionof the toilets of Project 7 amounting to P1,700,000.
     While doing the construction of the housing units, the Social Welfare Administration (SWA) was busy notifying Army Veterans and low-income people in Manila and other suburban areas who are qualified to be given priorities in the approval of their application for units in this project.
     At first, PHHC wanted to call this place as the Magsaysay District in honor of President Magsaysay, who was then the Chief Magistrate of the land. The President declined the honor, so this place was named Project 7. The Quezon City Council passed a Resolution in 1956 naming it officially as Veteran’s Village, Quezon City. The new and official name made the veterans’ living in this community very happy.
     In 1957, nealy all units were occupied, and the number of civic and organizations increased. The Project 7 occupants, together with their families have joined hands in finding solutions to the problems encountered, such as home and street-lighting, conveniences, school accommodations and other needs of the community.
     As a result of the hard work and perseverance of the church construction committee, Holy Fame Society, Catholic Women’s League and other organizations, ther Project 7 Christ the King Church was formally inaugurated and blessed on July 2, 1961, which serves to enhance the spiritual growth of the community.
     Due to the continuing efforts to improve the status of the community, the Nat’l. Housing Authority gave apart of land to the Quezon City Government, to which the Project 7 branch public library will be situated. It was since July 2, 1966, the birthdate of the said public library, that provides educational and informational awareness to the Project 7 residents as well as to the other neighboring communities.
     The Barrio Charter as provided for Rep. Act No. 1408, which gave birth to the creation of the barrio government composed of an elective barrio council which can set up development plans in the implementation of this plans for the benefit of its consitituents. The first Barrio Lieutenant was Mr. Matero Pevo. After his term, Bgy. Capt. Alejandro Costales took over his position up to May 31, 1997.
     As time goes by, the Project 7 community seeks to improve more and this can be seen through its various development. The place has a public school within its vicinity which is the Esteban Abada Elementary School, the newly-constructed Health Center, the ongoing construction of Barangay Hall, and other business establishments.
     The Project 7 of the Veteran’s Village presently occupies a 52.7114 hectare of land, with a population of 19,538 persons.
     WEST TRIANGLE
     Barangay West Triangle is a duly created barangay pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 557 dated September 21, 1974, PD No. 86, 260 and Executive Order No. 21 dated June 25, 1975 of the Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto. In the early part of the 1950’s this community with a land area of two (2) square meters is composed of the followed land titles, to wit: Phil Housing and Homesite Commission (PHHC), Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP), Morellos’ Compound, and Embassy Garden Homes formerly owned by the Phil, Women’s University (PWU)
     When Barangay West Triangle was created pursuant of PD No. 557 dated September 21, 1974, PD No. 86, 260 and Executive Order No. 21 dated June 25, 1975, the above-mentioned housing projects were integrated into one Barrio West Triangle and subsequently thereafter in 1982, “Barangay West Triangle.”
     BARANGAY ALICIA
     The barangay was created on January 9, 1961, through the power of Ordinance 61-4621. Originally, its name was Barrio Bago Bantay, a legal barrio created under Barrio Charter #2370, after Election of Officers, which was submitted to the Quezon City Council, and then disapproved in the ground that the area covered was so big.
     Another Barrio was created comprising the areas of the present Barangay Alicia. Residents of Central Bago Bantay headed by Mr. Fernando Hosanna, Mr. Macario Tibay, Mr. Antonio Cabrillas, met and created a barrio with definite boundaries named Barrio Dona Alicia, after the name of Mrs. Quirino. This was submitted to the Quezon City Council, and this was sponsored by Quezon City Councilor Sioson. This was approved by the Quezon City Council under Ordinance No. 61-4621 on January 9, 1961. Election of officers was held sometime in February 1961.
     Since then, every 9th of January, its Foundation Day always being celebrated, and it was in the history that Barrio Dona Alicia was the first barrio approved in Bago Bantay. After two to three years later, Sto Cristo was created, and a year after, the remaining area was also created as Barrio Ramon Magsaysay.
     BAHAY – TORO
     Noong unang panahon, ang lugar na kintatayuan ng malawak na barangay na ito ay bukirin, na kung saan ang pangunahing trabaho ng mga tao ay pagsasaka. Marami silang mga alagang kalabaw at baka, na kinilala sa taguring toro, dahil sa mga sungay nito. Kung kaya’t ang barangay na ito ay tinawag na Bahay ng mga Toro o sa pinaikling salita ay “BAHAY TORO.”
     BUNGAD
     Original Name : Bungad
     How it was derived : Last Residential area of Frisco
     Where it was derived : Bungad meaning “frontage”
     Manner of creation: Legislative creation, one of the first 44 legal Barrios
     DAMAR
     Damar is the abbreviation of Dona Margarita Roxas Soriano, mother of the late Col.Andres Soriano, Sr. The area used to be an experimental farm for B-Meg factory of San Miguel Brewery with poultry, piggery, goats and even horses. Sometime in the early 60’s, Don Andres was being induced as to into real estate development, and create model communities with plants of San Miguel and other Soriano enterprises, especially the new ones to be put up, as nucleus. Land tract area is 21,04695 hectares, developed into saleable lots with a total area of 152,059 square meters. Roads with a total length of 3.8 kims., and a total area of 46,000 square meters. A chapel with a site of 1,888 square meters. The community center is developed with an Association clubhouse, office Barangay Hall, Playgrounds, a basketball court, pelota court, handball court, tennis court and other facilities. The tennis and pelota courts were constructed with contributions from the villagers. Developers – width of roads area 12,15 and 20 meters with concrete roadways, curbs, gutters, sidewalks and underground drainage systems, street and park lights on concrete poles; planting strips planted with shady and fruit-bearing trees at regular intervals. It has its own water system with deep well, pump and 60,000 gallon reservoir. The project was approved by the City Council Resolution No. 61-5898 dated September 25, 1961. Certificate of completion of all required improvements was issued by the Office of the City Engineer on November 10, 1964 and August 5, 1965. Cancellation of the performance bond to guarantee completion of required improvements was authorized on September 29, 1965.
     DAMAYAN
     More than a year ago, this barrio came into existence and was recognized on January 18, 1962, by Honorable Council of Quezon City by virtue of City Ordinance No. 62-4953 – in accordance with the provisions of Republic Act No. 2370, also known as the barrio charter, as the 26th Barrio of this City.
     The culmination of this reality is like a dream – somewhat awe-inspiring endowed with civic-spiritedness and having felt the imperative need for local government autonomy, a selected group of persons composed of Messrs. Antonio F. Evardoni, Greg M. Felipe, Jr., Ricardo A. Navarro, Ignacio Vidal and Gregorio Celi, breached together the idea of creating a barrio in a small restaurant along Roosevelt Avenue, and barrio was born through the manifestations of the enthusiastic response and concern of the barrio constituents – the befitted name Damayan conceived by Mr. Isidro Avendano – symbolic of the bayanihan traits of the Filipino.
     The first set of Barrio Officials was elected by popular ballots in an election held on January 28, 1962. Proclaimed duly elected Barrio Officials were Messrs. Ricardo A. Navarro, Bo. Lt., Isidro S. Avendano, Treasurer, Ernesto B. Casaje, Gregorio M. Felipe, Jr., Efren S. Panganiban, Gregorio P. Celi, Barrio Councilors, Jose Cazar, Angel Dela Cruz, Rodolfo Enducta, Juan Evangelista, Pedro Benzon, Valentino Aliwalas, Jesus R. Franco, Quintin Gambol, Benjamin Peralta and Felicisimo Macapagal, Vice-Barrio Lieutenents, respectively, for the ten (10) sitios comprising the Barrio.
     Imbued with the self-dedication to public service, the members of the Barrio Council pulled their resources together and left no stone unturned in working for their community’s progress. Putting modesty aside, it was the only barrio in Quezon City last year to issue both class A & B Residence Tax Certificates to its constituents and to the adjacent barrios. It also constructed a garbage receptacle of hollow blocks near the public market and made representation with the Quezon City Council for its streets lights improvements and for the repairs, repaving, paving of its main thoroughfares. Foremost, among its projects, was the construction of a multipurpose Barrio Hall, which was inaugurated last November 4, 1962 in the presence of City Officials.
     To enliven and instill the fervor of patriotism, the Barrio celebrated Independence ay last June and took part in the floral offering ceremony to venerate the memory of Dr. Rizal held on December 30, 1962 at the main building of San Francisco Elementary School.
     As a philantrophic gesture it dole out from its barrio funds 10% share 350.00, to derray the cost of a conference table and 12 chairs to furnish the remodeled Dungao annex school library for the teachers and schoolchildren’s utility. Moreover, itself as the moving spirit behind the bloodletting donation campaign of the Quezon City Chapter of the Philippine National Red Cross held in this District few months ago.
     Laudable projects of the various civic within the barrio were also sanctioned after careful scrutiny and took many others, which eventually would redound the benefits of the barrio folks. To say the least, the barrio council also participated in both the seminars convoked the Quezon City Federation of barrio Officials and the Barrio Lieutenant’s Association of the Philippines under Mr. Virgilio Hilario.
     Such achievement for so short a time bespeak of the worthy trust and confidence bestowed upon its Barrio Officials in consonance with the mandates of the local residents. And through their untiring and whole-hearted cooperation, Damayan Barrio Council shall carry on!
     DEL MONTE
     Ang San Francisco del Monte ay isang pook na nasa hilaga ng paunlad nang paunlad na Lungsod ng Quezon. Isang pook itong ang angking mga tanawin ay nakalulugod sa puso at nakaaakit. Sa kayamanan ng mga tanawin sa pook na ito ay makikita ang mga makata ng isang libo’t isang tulain. Ang totoo, ang San Francisco del Monte ay pinagpala ng kamay ng kalikasan at ni Bathala. Ang hanging ay umaawit, ang kristal na tubig sa batisan ay nangungusap, malalago ang mga halaman, luntian ang damo at nanunungong langit ay maganda at kaakit-akit. Sa sinapupunan ng San Francisco del Monte ay matatagpuan ang ganap na katahimikan at katiwasayan ng buhay.
     Sa loob ng daan-daang taon, bago napasakamay ng mga Amerikano ang Pilipinas, ang San Francisco del Monte ay isang dukhang bahagi lamang ng purok ng Sampalok, Maynila. Gaya ng ibang mga pook sa Pilipinas, ang Sampalok ay pinamahalaan noon ng isang Punong ang tawag ay Gobernadorcillo, at ang San Francisco del Monte naman ay nasa ilalim ng isang Tiniente ng Nayon o Tiniente del Barrio. Kabilang sa mga unang naging Tiniente del Barrio ay ang mga sumusunod : Francisco Manuel, Mateo Rivera at Pioquiento Guillermo. Ang mga sumusunod naman, ang mga batis na sinasalukan ng kabuhayan ng mga mamamayan sa pook ng San Francisco del monte noong araw : pagsasaka at pagkakawayan.
     Sa pasimula, ang buong pook ay pag-aari lamang ng 12 kataong nakatira sa nasabing pook. Datapwa’t bagpatuloy ang pagdami ng mga nakaibig sa pook na ito na manirahan kaya’t dumating ang panahon na nagkaroon ng 70 buhay sa pook.
     Ang San Francisco del Monte, dahil sa iba’t-ibang kadahilanan, ay naging pook na siyang pinagtatapunan sa mga kurang Kastila na may masasamang gawain at pamamalakad.
     Nang ang Pilipinas ay masakop ng mga Amerikano, ang pook na ito, ay napahiwalay sa purok ng Sampalok at napaanib sa bayan ng San Juan del Monte, lalawigan ng Rizal. Hindi nagtagal ang kanyang pagiging bahagi ng bayan SanJuan, sapagka’t nang pagtibayin ng batasang Bansa ng Malasariling Pamahalaan (Commonwealth Government) Blg. 502 na lumilikha ng Lunsod ng Quezon, ang San Francisco del Monte ay kasama sa lupaing bumubuo sa bagong siyudad o lunsod.
     Ang pook na ngayon ay San Francisco del Monte ay ipinagkaloob sa mga Pransiskanong kura noong ika – 17 ng Pebrero, 1590 ng gobernador Santiago de Vera sa pangalan ng Haring Felipe II ng Espana. Ito ay isang pook na mataas na may limang kilometro ang layo sa Maynila, napiling tirahan ng mga relihiyoso upang pagdausan ng Santos Ehersisyos at ang pangalan ng pook ay “San Pedro Bautista”, pangalang parangal sa mga pagpapakasakit niya sa mga relihiyoso.
     Ang pangalang ito ay di nagtagal at napalitan ng pangalang “Nuesta Senora de Montecelli’, at ang pook ay pinasakop sa lalawigang San Gregorio na ngayon ay tinatawag na Rizal.
     Noong taong 1593 ay binago na naman ang pangalan at ang pook ay tinawag na San Francisco del Monte. Ngayon nga’y San Francisco del Monte ay isang bahaging mahalaga at makabuluhan ng Lungsod Quezon na paunlad ng paunlad. Hindi siya ang dating malungkot at dukhang nayon ng Sampalok, ang tapunan ng di-kanais-nais na mga kura…. Hindi rin siya ang pook na hamak na bahagi lamang ng bayan ng San Juan del Monte, lalawigan ng Rizal. Sa kasalukuyang panahon, siya ay isang baying maunlad at pasulong nang pasulong. Ang mga daan ay maluluwang at maayos. Ang mga gusali ay malalaki at magaganda. Maraming-marami na ang mga taong naninirahan at lubhang marami pa ang may nais namanirahan ditto. Ngayon ito’y nagiging pugad na ng mga komersiyo at hanap-buhay. Tungkol sa pagpapatalino sa mga kabataan na magiging matitinong mamamayan sa araw ng bukas, ito ay mga paaralang-bayan at paaralang pribado, na mga bukas ang pinto sa lahat ng naghahangad matuto at tumalino upang maging mamamayan sa araw ng bukas.
     Ito ang kasaysayan at pag-unlad ng San Francisco del Monte sa pahalaw. Sa maikling mga talang ito, ay masisinag ang pagbangon sa malapit na hinaharap ng isang bayang San Francisco na maunlad, mayaman, matalino, marangal, matahimik, payapa at ipagkakapuri ng mga pinuno at mamamayan hindi lang sa Lunsod ng Quezon kundi sa buong Pilipinas.
     KATIPUNAN
     The name of Barangay Katipunan has no clear origin. It is believed that the first Punong Barabgay, Esmeraldo Beltran, decided to name it such because he believed that many “Katipuneros´lived in the area during the Spanish era, and the fact that this barangay is just a few stones throw away from Balingasa and Apolonio Samson in Balintawak, gives some truth to his claim.
     The barangay itself was formally established during the term of Mayor Adelina Rodriguez sometime in the late 1970’s. Its first Barangay Captain was Esmeraldo L. Beltran, Man Dandong as he was commonly called by the residents in those times. It consists only of 3 major streets, Ricardo St., San Antonio Ext., and Mangga St., some portion of Roosevelt Ave. and EDSA belong to its jurisdiction, comprising the approximately 136,152 square meters of land area the barangay occupies.
     The barangay is also surrounded by 3 major waterways, Dario River to its South side, Culiat Creek to its North side and Halang St. to its East side. Its immediate neighboring barangays are Barangay San Antonio, Bahay Toro and Apolonio Samson.
     In its entire history of being established, Barangay Katipunan has only had 3 Punong Barangays, Esmeraldo E. Beltran, Antonio C. Quinto and Bayani E. Secillano, the present Punong Barangay.
     LOURDES
     This barangay was created pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 86 and 210 on June 25, 1975. Its total population as of May 1990 is 1,045.
     MANRESA
     The barangay,Manresa, was created at the time of 1960, at the time of creation when it was still called a barrio. After the February revolution in 1986, it was created as a barangay based on the Local Government Code, Republic Act No. 7160. At the time of its creation, the population was more or less 2,000 estimated only and now at present, the population is estimated more or less 30,000.
     BARANGAY CAPTAIN ATTY. ADA, TAGAPAGTANGGOL NG MANRESA
     Unang naitatag ang Barangay Manresa noong Pebrero 4, 1960 sa ilalim ng Ordinansa bilang 60-4350
     Sumasakop ito sa 82.0735 hektarya ng lupain sa Unang Distrito ng Lungsod Quezon at naiipit ito ng apat na pook na kinabibilangan ng(North) Balintawak – San Jose District; (East) G. Araneta Avenue; (west) D. Tuazon Street at (South) Del Monte Avenue.
     Ito ay amy 7,821 registered voters as of May 2001 puwera pa rito ang 382 registed voters ng SK as of May 2001.
     Ang nasbing barangay na pinamumunuan ng magiting na abogadong tinaguriang “Taga-pagtanggol ng Brgy. Manresa na si Attorney Cicero Beltran Ada, ay makalawang-ulit nang nahalal dahil sa magaganda nitong gawain bilang isan tunay at makatotohanang public servant.
     Dahil sa ipinakita ni Atty. Ada ang kanyang pagmamahal sa kanyang constituents kung kaya’t sinuklian itong ibayong pagtitiwala ng mga residente ng Barangay Manresa.
     Ang kanilang barangay ay matatagpuan sa panulukan ng Biak na Bato at Makaturing Street, Quezon City kug saan ay sumasakop sa 469 business establishments.
     Simula noong 2002 ay puspusan ang pagpapatupad at pagpapatapos ng mga proyekto ni Atty. Ada sa tulong ng kanyang mga Brgy. Kagawad na sina Reynaldo Q. Atip, Erwin C. Del Rosario, Nestor R. Sapino, Wilson C. , Wilson C. Young, Ofelia T.Lim, Andy C. Batula at Corazon B. Garcia.
     Ang mga proyektong kinabibilangan ng massive barangay clean-up; fogging & fumigation; de-clogging of canals; medical & dental mission; SK sports festivals; palarong pambarangay at street lighting.
     Hindi sinayang ni Atty. Ada ang mga panahon kung kaya’t agad nitong isinagawa ng mga proyekto nang pumasok ang taong 2003 na kinabibilanganng construction of Multi-Purpose Hall, construction of BSDO headquarters, installation of waiting shed; construction of health station with ther assistance of Councilor Tila Beth Delarmente, repainting of Day Care Center, rehabilitation of covered court, renovation of barangay hall, de-clogging of drainage and canals & change of culvert covers, fogging & fumigation on selected areas, medical & dental mission, hepatitis B vaccination in cooperation with Lingap Kapwa, hispeed sewing, meat processing (ham making) in cooperation with the office of Councilor Wilma Amoranto-Sariano, anti-drug forum in cooperation with PDEA, massive barangayclean-up, simot at hakot basura every last Sunday of the month and first Halloween costume party na inialay ni Atty. Ada pra sa mga residente ng kanyang barangay.
     Nakiisa rin sa administrasyon ni Atty. Ada ang mga magigitingat masisipag na barangayopisyal na sina Leonida T. Abrilla – brgy, kalihim; Nida T. Samudio – ingatyaman; Alma S. Balita – admin. Asst. Joelou A. Milla – asst. secretary; Amelia A. Posiquit – brgy. Clerk; Rex C. Quias – driver; Teresita Ibanez – brgy. Utility worker;Melchor A. Flores – brgy.caretaker; Paz B. Lacutab – brgy. Health worker at mga Barangay Security.
     Development Officers na pinamumunuanng magiting n executive officer at mga tanod.”Ang Dapat ay magkaisa tungo sa bagong anresa´ang panuntunan at slogan ni Atty. Ada, ang tagapagtanggol ng Barangay Manresa.
     MARIBLO
     The original name of Barangay Mariblo is Maria Diablo, as per available records in the barangay file, Barangay (Barrio Mariblo) in Quezon City was created under Ordinance No. 5014 as amended by Ordinance No. 5301, S-63.
     The population at the time of creation is not seen available in the barangay file but based in the records as of 1980, the total population is 2,685 only and now the present as of survey of the National Statistics Office as of September 1, 1995, the total population of Barangay Mariblo is 3,534.
     The Barangay Officials at the time of creation namely; Abelardo M. Esperanzilla – Bargy. Capt.; Brgy. Councilmen: Manuel M. Banao, Sergio C. Villanueva, Sr., Gorgonio S. Santos, Mario C. Aranzaso, Victoriano C. Cabanilla, Juan P. Castillo, Joseph H. Espaldon – Secretary, Pedro O. Galang – Treasurer.
     MASAMBONG
     Masambong is a very old community which was created even before the creation of Quezon City itself. The name was derived from a medicinal plant called “Sambong,” which was abundant in the locally during those times. Later the locality was included with Sta. Mesa Heights Subdivision, before the coming of the Americans. The old location of this barangay is not the present location. This barangay was formerly found within the boundaries of Banaue St., Hon. Gregorio Roxas (formerly Wayan), Calamba, and G. Araneta Avenue. Masambong was a sitio of San Francisco del Monte during those days, which was still an integral part of Caloocan. After the Japanese occupation, G. Araneta & Tuason developed Sta. Mesa Heights which was within the first district of Quezon City, and the old residents were transferred to the new lots alloted to them on a lot called Sitio Langka. However, they retained the old name Masambong, which was in the year 1949. The progress of the new barrio became fast during the 1960’s. And the developer has the existing lots asphalted. A small chapel was constructed on Malac St. The same was done thru the sacrifices of the Samahang Katoliko ng Masambong, a catholic organization which was first to sprout in the locality. Factories and other commercial establishments followed. And then Masambong Elementary School was established in 1965. It was the former annex of San Francisco Elementary School consisting of five buildings. The premises of the school was transferred to the school in 1969.
     In the early 1970’s a playground was established near the chapel thru the help of Masambong Homeowners’ Assn. The Osmena High School was transferred to the new location(present location), from the building being formerly occupied along Roosevelt Avenue. It was also during this time that the Glori Supermart was built, along with the other business establishments along Del Monte Avenue. In the early 1980’s the present Barangay Hall and Health Center was constructed. Ten, a little later, Corumi St. was cemented. It was also at this time that Osmena High School annex along Capoas St. was constructed. But it was in the early 50’s when Masambong was recognized as a barrio. The first Teniente del Barrio was Marciano Villanueva, kagawads were Amado Jose, Nicomedes Dionisio, Cipriano Ferrer, Anong dela Cruz, Jose Cruz and G. Belmonte. But the barrio got its legal personality in 1969 thru enactment of an Ordinance by the Quezon City Council. The first election was during the same year. The first Barangay Captain was Francisco Ocampo, a well-known civic leader, boy scout and businessman. The elected councilmen were Eusebio de Vera, Edmundo Aldover, Ramon Geronimo, Ceferino Eleasar, Benjamin Falcon and Lolito Payawal. And during the declaration of Martial Law, election was suspended for more than 10 years. After the return of election in 1980, one would notice that the residents wanted a change. In 1982, Benjamin Falcon was elected Barangay Captain, with kagawads, Elmer Bilog, Rita Ebarvia, Tagumpay de Guzman, Abner Espino, Eusebio de Vera & Alberto Santiago.
     The clamor for more changes began with the EDSA revolution in 1986. A newly elected Barangay Captain came in the person of Nicanor Mendoza, with his new council kagawads, Benjamin Falcon, Leonardo Escasinas, Rafael Espena, Tagumpay de Guzman & Alberto Santiago. During the time of Nick Mendoza, there were 7 elected barangay kagawads, and the one who garnered the highest vote automatically became the Barangay Captain, and Nick Mendoza became the Barangay Captain. He finished his term and ran as City Councilor of the first district, but unfortunately he wa not included in the Magic 6. The next Barangay Captain was Leonardo Escasinas who only served for 6 months due to untimely demise. First Kagawad, Joselit Pangan took over in January 13, 1995. During the barangay election May 9, 1994, Pangan got an overwhelming vote over Rolly Estepa, his only opponent during the race. The councilmen were Meliton Almonina, Rene de Leon, Peter Mendoza, Angelito Ocampo, Engr. Fernando Santos, Eusebio de Vera and the only lady kagawad was Nenita Escasinas. Of the originalo 6, aside from Joselito Pangan, during the term of the late Leonardo Escasinas, only Meliton Amonina & Fusebio de Vera were able to hurdle in the elections. The rest, Tammy Sarmiento, Tagumpay de Guzman, Rafael Espena, Alberto Santiago & Enrique Estepa failed it to the Magic 7.
     Sa kasalukuyang pamunuan ng barangay government, inaasahan ng marami na malaki ang magaganap n pag-unlad ng Masambong.
     N.S. AMORANTO
     The barangay is bounded in the north by N.S. Amoranto, east by Mayon, West by Calamba and south by Blumenttrit Extension. It has a land area of 21,000 hectares, total population of 20,000 (as of 1997), registered voters of 7,458 (as of May 1998), SK Voters of 500, exact address at # 50-C Don Manuel St. La Loma, Q.C. Its barangay fiesta is being celebrated on the 3rd Sunday of May, with patron Saint Nuestra Senora de Salvacion. It has 200 business establishment, a police station, a fire station. Its depressed families is estimated to be at least 3,000 specified at Blumentrit Extension. It has a chapel (Nuestra Senora de Salvacion).
     PALTOK
     The word “Paltok” means highland. The very wide area covered by the district San Francisco del Monte (SFDM) was then sub-divided into several barrios or barangays which are now existing surrounding Barangay Paltok. Barangay Paltok was created by legislation thru Quezon City Ordinance on March 17, 1961. Considering the length of over 30 years from creation into a legal barrio or barangay, records of the first barangay officials could not be found due to the typhoon and floods and no permanent barangay building and lack of proper offices with equipment to preserve the documents.
     As of 1990 General Census undertaking pursuant to the provisions of Commonwealth Act 1 & II, the barangay had a population density of 32,704 persons per square kilometer. The figure indicates 226/098 0/0 higher density and 162.34 0/0 higher than Metro Manila or 2.62 times the regional average.
     Based on the census of population and households of 1990 conducted by the National Statistics Office, Barangay Paltok registered total number of 21,187 individuals and approximately 1.20/0 of Quezon City’s total population.
     On several occasions in the past, Barangay Paltok has been chosen or selected as model barangay in the aspect of Anti-Drug Abuse Campaign; selected by the DILG and the University of the Philippines College of Public Administration as center and implementor of the maximum basic needs (MBN) in consonance with the Presidential Executive Order establishing the Social Reform Agenda (SRA) which has been progressively ongoing since 1994.
     So much so, that Provincial Officials and Municipal Mayors throughout the Philippines conducted seminar and workshop on the Social Reform Agenda being undertaken by Barangay Paltok in the first part of 1997.
     PARAISO
     Barangay Paraiso was derived from the name Paraiso street, and it was organized as a civic barrio, which was founded by Mr. Gregorio Felipe, who was then a member of the Katipunan ng mga Nayon of District 1 (now Liga ng mga Barangay).
     On March 31, 1973, during Marial Law, the manner of creation was compsed of survey and preparation of area of population, composed of 8,882, which the total area is 15 hectares, the taxable lots and properties 12 hectares, with the estimate income from the real estate is more or less 300,000.
     Under Presidential Decree No. 86 and 86-A, dated June 21, 1973, the founder and the organizer Mr. Gregorio Felipe, was then appointed as Barangay Chairman by the late Honorable Norberto S. Amoranto.
     Likewise, on February 10, 1974, the first set of appointed Barrio Council of Barangay Paraiso are as follows: Victor General, Carmen Asuncion, Victor Evangelista, Brig. Gen. Ireneo Pascua, Col. Hilarion Valeriano and Francisco Isip.
     On May 9, 1974. Gen. Ireneo Pascua was then appointed by Mayor Amoranto, upon the recommendation of outgoing chairman Mr. Felipe, who was promoted as Chief of Sanitary Inspector, with the same barrio Council.
     PHIL-AM
     Barangay Philam was originally Phil-Am Life Homes, a first class residential subdivision at the corner of West Avenue and EDSA, formerly referred to as Highway 54. It was converted into a barangay during the term of the late President Ferdinand E. Marcos, in line with the creation of the New Society or the Bagong Lipunan. At the time it was converted into a barangay, it had a population of more or less 3,000, in about 600 homes, sprawled over an area of 54 hectares. A.D. Narcisco was first appointed Barangay Captain by then Mayor Amoranto, and took his Oath in an appropriate ceremony. He was then the President of Phil-Am Life Homeowners Association. Brgy. Capt. Narcisso put up the barangay hall and the security headquarters without the use of any government funds. He borrowed P27,000.00 from the Manila Banking Corporation and asked few civic-minded friends to lend him some money without interest. All of these borrowed money had been duly paid for with members’ contributions and assistance from the PHAI. Today Philam’s population is estimated at about 6,000.
     BASIC SOCIAL DEMOGRAPHY:
     As a community, it became established in the summer of 1955. As a barangay, it was first recognized by Malacanang thru President Marcos who appointed in 1974 two (2) Barangay Captains, namely Benjamin F. Estrella and Narcisso, for each two zones as a civic barrio. Later on, it was consolidated in the hands of Sabino R. de Leon, Jr. as the President of the Philam Life Homeowners’ Association Incorporated. By 1979, he petitioned, together with 200 constituents, for his relief as Bgy. Capt. In favor of Benjamin Estrella, who, forthwith, was sworn in by the Quezon City Mayor Adelina S. Rodriguez. Also inducted with him were Apolonio V. Dionisio as Councilman and Antonio T. Llantada as the Barangay Secretary. With the other members of the Barangay Council namely, Eustacio Orobia, Benjamin Santos, Jose A. Diaz, Remigio A. Santos, Arturo Marin and Diodoro Evangelista as a Barangay Treasurer, there were formal and regular sessions held monthly at the Barangay Hall, originally caused to be constructed on the western side of Sta. Rita De Cascia Parish Church, by then Bgy. Chairman Narcisso when he was President of the PHAI. By 1982, the barangay system, as mandated by the Batasan Pambansa became elective, no longer appointive, for its members and the Head became known as Punong Barangay, and so after the 1982 election, for all units of the Barangay System, the constituency in Bgy. Recognized the incumbent Bgy. Capt. Benjamin Estrella as the duly elected Punong Barangay. By 1989, the barangay election saw Councilor Benjamin Santos became the Punong Barangay, after the interm Chairman Remigio Santos had served for two months. The new members of the Sangguniang Barangay were Jesus Sison and Josefa Saddul. The Secretary is James Villafranca and the Treasurer is Aurelia Sulit, succeeding Guillermo Enriquez who returned to his Aklan native town. The 1994 election brought in new Kagawads Pilar Perez and Emilio Constantino, who both filled the new no. 7th seat and the vacancy created by the retirement of Apolonio Dionisio.
     PROJECT 6
     Project 6 was created as a Barangay under PD No. 86 dated December 31, 1972 and Executive Order No. 25 dated June 25, 1975 of then Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto issued pursuant to PD No. 557 dated September 21, 1974 declaring all barrios and citizens assemblies in the Philippines as barangays. Barangay Project 6 was originally Low-Cost Housing Project No. 6 and X-6 (now barangay Vasra).
     Low-cost Housing Project 6 was formally opened in 1957 or forty years ago. Multiplying 1,301 units by 6 which is the average family size, we get 7,806 estimated population. Assuming that the original population is 31,224, more or less. Barangay Officials, chronologically listed : 1st Carlos Rances (elected), 2nd Lamberto I. Manrique (elected), 3rd Castor P. Dizon (appointed), 4th Vicente Honorio C. Llamas V (elected), 5th Vicente Honorio C. V (re-elected) and 6th Vicente Honorio C. Llamas V (re-elected).
     RAMON MAGSAYSAY
     The development of Bago Bantay had started in the early 50’s during the administration of Pres. Quirino. An Executive Order was issued by the then President which converted Bago Bantay into a resettlement site. The settlers were the squatter families who were ejected from Intramuros, Paco, Tondo and Singalong all in Manila and from Tatalon in Quezon City. As government beneficiaries and considered the first settlers of Bago Bantay, they were allocated a piece of residential lots sold at lower price. But due to be influence from their previous residences and also became of their different backgrounds in life, the settlers turned Bago Bantay into a troubled resettlement area. As the situation worsened, it was better known notoriously as the “Tondon of Quezon City” because rampant criminalities and vices were daily occurrence which were perpetrated by the hardened members of Oxo, Sigue-Sigue and Bahala Na Gang members. For years, they terrorized Bago Bntay into bloody gang wars. Another backgrounder, long before the Quirino Administration there was already a place called Bago Bantayan which means new outpost. It was an outpost where Andres Bonifacio used during 1896 Philippine Revolution. It was strategically located and capable of easily detecting the presence of enemy nearby areas. Spanish troops coming from San Juan and its neighboring towns then was easily detected and notices were given the Katipuneros who were then stationed in Bahay Toro, Pugad Lawin and parts of Balintawak. The rest is history. Prior to the declaration of Martial Law in 1972, Bago Bantay was originally composed of barrios Ramon Magsaysay, Alicia and Sto. Cristo. It had a total land area of 51.2/3 hectares. From the 3 barrios, Ramon Magsaysay is the biggest in terms of population, land area and developed mostly as a commercial community along EDSA fronting the progressive Project 7 and Munoz Market not to mention now the presence of SM City where a part of it belongs to Bgy. Ramon Magsdaysay.
     Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay is the “gateway” to0 Bago Bantay . Its accessibility by land transportation was the first factor for government projects in the are. From EDSA, before one could reach barangays Alicia or Sto. Cristo, his first “stop-over” is and always will be Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay. It can be recalled that despite the ugly image and negative reports that described the past community particularly in Ramon Magsaysay, the residents then did not lose hope to attain peace, order, development & progress in the years to come. They asked in prayers the intervention of Almighty God for the eradication of criminalities and vices around Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay. Spiritual strength and Divine guidance was their weapon against those bad elements who terrorized Bago Bantay. They built a small wooden chapel and dedicated all their prayers and requested to God. Its first patron was the Mother of Perpetual Help but in 1962, the patron of the chapel was changed to Sto. Nino as generally requested by the residents. The next requested of the residents was to have their own parish priest. So on May 3, 1967, the Archbishop of Manila, the late Rufino Cardinal Santos appointed the late Monsignor Miguel P. Nuguid as their first parish priest. This marked the beginning of continuous reformation and development in the lives of the residents of Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay. When Fr. Nuguid was the head of the wooden chapel, he encountered different problems of the residents and the first thathe solved was that of peace and order. He persuaded the “tough guys” to lead a new life that is meaningful and productive. A life where peace, order, cooperation and love of fellowmen should reign in their hearts and souls. For Fr. Nuguid, unity between the church and community is very important in attaining peace and order. Through his dynamic and unselfish leadership, the parish of Sto. Nino grew wonderfully in spirituality, Christian renewal, socialization and economic development became the mode of that time. Through the active involvement of the Holy Name Society, the religious activities of the residents were totally enlightened and further strengthened. Church organizations were formed such as; Cursillos in Christianity, Mga Anak ng Nazareno, Adoracion Nocturna Filipina, Friends of Sto. Nino, the Parish Council and others. Because of this phenomenon, the population in Ramon Magsaysay increased in which Fr. Nuguid felt and saw the need to build a new big church to accommodate the increasing residents. He then informed and appealed to the residents of Bago Bantay of his plans to build a new church as a landmark of Bago Bantay, the first of its name, the Sto. Nino of Bago Bantay.
     So on December 1978, the construction started wit a minimal budget of P500,000.00 only. Additional funds were indeed hard to secure. But to the highly religious, dedicated and determined Fr. Nuguid and with the blessings of the Almighty God, he initiated and engaged in fund raising activities thru the Miss Flower Festival and Princesita ng Bago Bantay. These activities raised funds mostly from donations of the residents and others for the continuous construction of the shrine of Sto. Nino until its completion. On January 14, 1983, the Shrine of the Sto. Nino of Bago Bantay was completely finished and later on was adjudged as the “Most Beautiful Church” in Quezon City. Millions of pesos had been spend and most of the credit went to the painstaking hardwork and dedication of Fr. Nuguid. But unfortunately, Fr. Nuguid failed to see the completion of his “brain-child” because he died of a heart attack on March 1981. In any way, he died not in vain because the residents of Bago Bantay, particularly in Ramon Magsaysay have benefited from the fruits of his endeavors. They because good citizens, religious, God-fearing, peace-loving, law-abiding, industrious and educated because Fr. Nuguid trained them to be. For the residents, he was their “forever” father, and a great pioneering leader nd architect for the development and progress of Bago Bantay.
     Today, Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay stands as a booming community which sets an impressive example of other barangays. Where once it was a mere Katipunan outpost and a forest, now it is a modernizing barangay. Where once it was a gangland of vices, criminalities and street fighting, now it is a community of peace where the church, government, residents and non-government organizations work as once. Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay was created on January 9, 1969 thru an Ordinance of Quezon City Council No. 61-4621. It is bounded on the North by Ilocos Norte St. and South boundary line of Bgy. Alicia, East by Samar St., Nueva Ecija St., and SM Annex. West by Samar St. up to the boundary line of Bgy. Sto Cristo and South by EDSA up to the boundary line of Bahay-Toro. It has a total land area of 34,145.8 hectares. Eversince the clamor of the residents of Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay, is to have a good Barangay Captain who is educated and well-qualified to serve his constituents satisfactory. Several so-called leaders came and gone while others have outlived their usefulness. There were Barrio Lieutenants to Barrio Captains and now Barangay Captains who tried to serve their best for Ramon Magsaysay, but as they finished their respective terms of office, nothing or only a few accomplishements could be seen and used by the residents. For the incumbent Bgy. Capt. Engr. Eduardo “Epoy” Firmalino, it becomes a fact that under his Administration (1994-1997), better changes, development and progress eventually appeared and felt and used by the residents. As one resident said : “Bakit kailangan pa natin gn Barangay Election sa May 12, 1997? Maganda naman ang mga nagawa ni Kapitan Epoy, tapat siya sa kanyang tungkulin at may mataas na pinag-aralan pa. Hindi siya dapat palitan sa kanyang pagka-Kapitan”.
     As to the physical facilities of the barangay, it has 12 asphalted roads, 2 alleys which land transportation is coursed by public utilities and private vehicles. The housing conditions of the barangay are dwelling units consist of houses varying from shanties to bungalow, upa and down houses, apartments, 3-4 storey houses and commercial buildings. With regards to the residents, majority of them are gainfully employed in government and private offices, business establishments, factories and home industries. The barangay has a population of more than 38,000 in which 85% of whom are Catholics. It has more than 8,000 number of gouseholds; more than 10,000 registed voters and it has 63 voting precincts. Within the community is the Ramon Magsaysay Government. The Executive and Administrative and other powers are vested with the office of the Barangay Captain. The legislative power is lodged with the Barangay Council and the Office of the Sangguniang Kabataan is under the supervision and control of the SK Chairman and the SK Kagawads. The barangay has 15 Lupon Members for effective implementation of barangay jusrice system.
     In the maintenance of peace and order in the barngay, the new Cops on the Block at Bgy. Bagong Pag-Asa is assigned for immediate response. On fire-fighting, the barangay is assigned to the Roosevelt Fire Station. For internal peace and security of Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay there are 12 regular BSDO volunteers. Prominent offices, buildings and institutions are notable like : the new Multi-Purpose Barangay Hall at Cagayan St; Daycare Center located at Abra corner Corregidor Sts., Multi-Purpose Building at Bukidnon St; Bago Bantay Elementary School; San Francisco High School; Quezon City Academy; Axis Market; Congressional Shopping Arcade; Security Bank; BPI-Family Bank; PCI Bank; Banco de Oro; Imelda Park along Cagayan corner Ilocos Sur Sts., J.P. Sioson Colleges and Caltex Gas Stations at EDSA/Corregidor and along Congressional Ave.In the maintenance of peace and order in the barngay, the new Cops on the Block at Bgy. Bagong Pag-Asa is assigned for immediate response. On fire-fighting, the barangay is assigned to the Roosevelt Fire Station. For internal peace and security of Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay there are 12 regular BSDO volunteers. Prominent offices, buildings and institutions are notable like : the new Multi-Purpose Barangay Hall at Cagayan St; Daycare Center located at Abra corner Corregidor Sts., Multi-Purpose Building at Bukidnon St; Bago Bantay Elementary School; San Francisco High School; Quezon City Academy; Axis Market; Congressional Shopping Arcade; Security Bank; BPI-Family Bank; PCI Bank; Banco de Oro; Imelda Park along Cagayan corner Ilocos Sur Sts., J.P. Sioson Colleges and Caltex Gas Stations at EDSA/Corregidor and along Congressional Ave.
     To touch on the fute of Bgy. Bago Bantay, for better or for worse, it all depends upon the quality of leaders who will manage the affairs of the barangay. The youth of today could be the promising leaders of tomorrow. For future leaders of the barangay, the best way to attain a more developed and progressive Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay is to follow and improve the good things done by the present leadership, which for concerned residents, are intended for the general welfare of the resident of Bgy. Ramon Magsaysay.
     SALVACION
     Ang Mahal na Birheng Nuestra Senora de Salvacion ay nagsimula sa kapilya ng Aglipay sa Penafrancia, Paco, Maynila noong 1923. Ang nasabing birhen ay lagging ipinadadala ni G. Quitin Ong kay Gng. Severa Barican, Cabeza de Barangay ng Paang Bundok, na matalik nilang kaibigan at pinagkakatiwalaan. Ipinagdiriwang ang kapistahan ng Birhen tuwing ikatlong Linggo ng Mayo. Ito ay ipinuprusisyon at pinagnonobenahan sa bayan na tinaguriang Paang Bundok (ngayon), na lalong kilala sa tawag na La Loma, Lungsod Quezon. Si Isabelo delos Reyes na pinuno ng Aglipay ang siyang nagputong ng korona sa Mahal na Birhen. Noong 1930, ang imahen ay bininyagan sa simbahang katoliko at itinira sa isang kapilya sa A. Bonifacio hanggang 1939. Tuwing sasapit ang pista ng Nuestra Senora de Salvacion, ito ay dinadala sa kapilya ng Retiro, na pag-aari ni G. Corpuz. Nang sumakabilang-buhay na si Gng. Severina Barican noong 1942, ang birhen ay naiwan sa kalinga ng kanyang mga apo. Dahil noon ay panahon ng digmaan, ang pangangalaga ay pansamantalang inilipat kay Bonifacio Cruz sa Paco at di nagtagal ay nalipat naman kay Gng.Martinez sa Retiro. Noong 1946, si G. Alcantara ang siyang naging pangkalahatang Pangulo ng kapistahan ng La Loma. Sa pakikipagtulungan ni Cruz at iba pang kasamahan, ang Mahal na Birhen ay nabalik sa dating kapilya nito sa Retiro. Noong 1952, ang pangangalaga sa Mahal na Birhen ay inihabilin ni Gng. Carmen Martinez kay Patrocinio Reyes, nakipagtulungan si G. Alcantara at naging matagumpay naman sila sa pagdiriwang ng pistang bayan. Sa pagsusumikap ni G. Alcantara at mga kasamahan at pakikipagtulungan ng dating punong lungsod Amoranto at ng kanyang may-bahay na si Asisola Amoranto, kasama ng La Loma Ladies Assn., atmga taong-bayan ay nakabili ng lupa ang mga ito. Nakapagtayo ng sariling tahanan ng Mahal na Birhen sa Don Manuel, La Loma noong 1967.
     At nang maghati-hati na ang buong La Loma at natatag ang mga barangay, ang kinatatayuan ng Birhen Nuestra Senora de Salvacion ay kinilalang Barangay Salvacion. Ang unang Barangay Captain ay si Dr. Sofronio Soquenio, sinundan ni Pedro Miranda (RIP) at Ernesto Baltazar. At nitong 1994, nagkaroon ng halaga at nanalo si Fernando “Ding” Tan, at nang siya’t mapasok sa piitan, ang acting barangay captain ay si Kagawad Eseng Cabarliza, hanggang sa kasalukuyan.
     SAN ANTONIO
     Formerly called Barrio Bodega, Barangay San Antonio was created on August 28, 1961, by virtue of Quezon City Ordinance No 61-4827 and amended by City Ordinance No. 61-4872 as approved on October 30, 1961.
     In December 1961, the first Barrio Elections was held and Mr. Gerardo Pasco emerged as the winning candidate for the position of the Barrio Lieutenant. The Barrio Council was composed of Atty. Alfredo Pineda, Atty. Cesar Solis, Mr. Solomon Saprid and Mr. Cesar Celis. Besides them, Vice-Barrio Lieutenents were also elected to head the ten sitios of Barrio San Antonionamely; Sitio 1 – Mr. Angel Mercado, Sitio 2 – Mr. Abraham Taligatos, Sitio 3 – Mr. Renato Camacho, Sitio 4 – Mr. Jesus Villanueva, Sitio 5 – Mr. Tiburcio Ramos, Sitio 6 – Mr. Oscar Guillermo, Sitio 7 – Mr. Edgardo Gatdula, Sitio 8 – Mr. Simplicio Dino, Sitio 9 – Mr. Rizalino Galauran, Sitio 10 – Mr. Angeles Cagsawa. Miss Rosalie Antonio was appointed Secretary / Treasurer.
     In November 1969, the late Mayor Norberto Amoranto appointed Mr. Gerardo Pasco as Barrio Captain of Barrio San Antonio.
     SAN ISIDRO LABRADOR
     The barangay was first identified through zoning, and named after San Isidro Labrador. Formerly, it was Barrio Malamig and then named after the patron saint in 1974, with a population of 2,000. Barangay Officials – Salvacio Atienza as the Barangay Captain, Kagawads were, Patria Chan, Loreto Santos, Mercedes Pamintuan, Ricardo Barican, Mr. Diaz, Roberto Villanueva, Ernesto Alfonso and Benny Jornada.
     SAN JOSE
     Barangay San Jose was formerly called a Barrio of La Loma during the time that it was a part of Caloocan in the 1930’s. In 1946, it was called a barrio when the elders requested to the government then to be called a Barrio San Jose. It was a civic barrio with a population of 200 families, headed by a tiniente del barrio, by the name of Sixto Benin.
     In 1968, also a civic barrio the late Mayor Amoranto appointed a Barrio Captain by the name of Brigido A. Velasco, who also was at the first Barangay Captain elected since 1982 up to now and yet still existing, undefeated Barangay Captain of Barangay San Jose, whom he was popularly known as THE LIVING LEGEND.
     STA. CRUZ
     Way back in 1947, Barangay Sta. Cruz was created. It was then called Barrio Sta. Cruz upon the insistence and petition from the resident of the said community due to the fact that the residents had been holding annual Santacruzan festivities. The Barrio was then headed by a Barrio Lieutenant “Teniente del Barrio” and four (4) Councilmen. During that time, the member of households was 400, with a population of 4,000, and over 1,550 voters comprising the 12 voting precinets.
     The major structures erected in the barangay were the Philippine Maritime Institute (PMI Colleges), one preparatory school, a bank, two chapels and 2 gasoline stations.
     SIENA
     Taking the importance and rule of the barangay in the service on the basic needs of the constituents after the Martial Law declaration, a group of concerned (voluntary) citizens – headed by incumbent Barangay Captain Tomas Castor Jr., Hon. Marcelino Torrente (RIP), Hon. Eng. Proceso Fernandez and other sitio leader duly assembled, discussed and created the first Resolution instituting this subdivision as one barangay. It was also the same group, who unanimously voted with the assistance of the constituents of this sector, - BARANGAY SIENA, which was derived specifically because of the main proponent was the school SIENA COLLEGE, which was situated in the “Heart of the sector.” The year of this conception was in 1972, just a few months after the proclamation of 1081 – Barangay Siena was created. Then Hon. Mayor Amoranto recommended Tomas Castor, Prosceso Fernandez, Momoy, Mr. Santos (RIP) & Mr. Torrente (RIP). They received not a single peso, and inspite of that, they did their duty painstakingly. The actual population at the time of creation could not be determined by the new administration due to lack of data/records, but the present population is approximately 12,000 as of 1995.
     ST. PETER
     Long before, the area was a rice field and classified as an agricultural land. At that time, the place was inhabited only by 2 families, and their houses were very far apart at a distance of more or less one kilometer, and still they called themselves neighbors. When the area was converted into a residential place and the people grow in numbers, they constructed a make-shift chapel where they could honro God and practice their catholic faith. A certain Pedro Medalla, who was a prominent resident of the community, donated the image of St. Peter to the chapel. And so the name of the barangay was called after the saint, during the time that the barangay was establishing different barangays in the country. This was done during the early years of Martial Law regime adopting the pre-hispanic era form of government.
     STO. CRISTO
     Nakalulunos ang kalagayan noon ng mga squatters sa iba’t-ibang dako ng Maynila, lalo na sa Tondo, San Marcelino, Dapitan, Blumentritt, Lealtad.
     Nang panahong yaon ay nagsisimula pa lamang manungkulan ang yumaong Pangulo Elpidio Quirino noong 1949. Lubos na nadarama ni Pang. Quirino and malungkot at nakakaawa na kalagayan ng mga squatters at ipinalipat niya ang malaking bilang ng mga ito sa nakatiwangwang na mga lupain ng Bago Bantay, Quezon City noong 1950.
     Sa simula hanggang sa loob ng pitong taon mahina ang pag-unlad ng Bago Bantay, sanhi ng kakulangan ng mga pangunahing kailangan, gaya ng tubig, ilaw, mga lansangan at sentrong pangkalusugan. Di lamang iyon, and isa pang naging suliranin ni dating Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto ay ang “Peace & Order” situation sa Bago Bantay. Laganap ang labanan ng iba’t-ibang pangkat ng mga masasamang tao. Marami ang harangan at patayan, kaya nga’t maski mga pulis ay takot na sumaklolo o magresponde sa mga ganong pangyayari.
     Noong 1960, alinsunod sa bagong carta ng baryo (Republic Act. 2370), ang Quezon City Government ay nagsimulang magtatag ng mga baryo sa lungsod. Ang Bago Bantay ay nagkaroon ng tatlong baryo : Sto. Cristo, Alicia at Magsaysay. Ang Sto. Cristo ay iminungkahing ipangalan ni G. Damaso Barnal, na isang matandang miyembro at tagapayo ng SAMAHANG LABAGOSIL. Naisip niya ito sapagkat maraming magugulong tao ang tila wala nang takot at pag-galang sa Diyos. Inaasahan niyang magbabago ng Konseho ng Lungsod Quezon ang isang City Ordinance No. 61-4718, bilang isang hiwalay ng Barrio Sto. Cristo sa tulong nina Hepe Rollie Villacorte, Edmundo E. Leynes ng “Baryo Government Office.”
     Ang mga unang halal na pinuno ng Sangguniang Baryo Sto. Cristo ay sina : Julio Judith bilang Teniente del Barrio, mga Bise- Teniente, sina Ireneo Daet, Conrado P. Baclig, Paz Ortega, Carlos Avelino at Roberto Verdon. Ang mga Barrio Konsehal ay sina : Mario Ordonez, Lucy Perez, E. Regalario at Gg. Putian. Ang populasyon noon ay 5,000.
     Nang sumunod na mga halal noong 1965 ay sina G. Alfredo Abella bilang Teniente del Barrio, G. Hilario Valmonte, Pedro Navarro,Jr., Gg. Telesfora Asoy, G. Carlos Avelino, Galicano Singson, mga Konsehal ng Barrio, si Gng. Virginia Baclig ay nahirang na Kalihim at Gng. Angelita Castro bilang Ingat-Yamat ng Barrio.
     Sa ilalim ng pangangasiwa ni Teniente del Barrio Abella nagsimula ang pagtatayo ng “Multi-Purpose Barrio Hall”, bagamat ito ay kulang sa kayarian. Sa di inaasahang pagkamatay ni Teniente Abella noong 1969, pinaupo sa tungkulin si Hilario Valmonte, bilang kahaliling Teniente del Barrio. Sa taong ding ito nadestino si Padre Miguel Nuguid sa simbahan ng Sto. Nino sa buong Bago Bantay. Malaki ang naitulong niya sa katahimikan at kapayapaan ng mga naninirahan. Inakit niya ang mga tao na mag-mahal sa kapwa, makipagtulungan sa isa’t-isa at maging mabuting tagasunod sa Diyos. Ang proyektong pagpapatayo ng Barrio Hall ay ipinagpatuloy ni G. Hilario Valmonte. Bukod dito’y nakapagpagawa siya ng mga artesian wells at naipaispalto niya ang Fort Santiago Street. Sa kanyang mabuting pamamahala ay unti-unting nasugpo ang mga gawain ng masasamang tao sa Barrio. Nang magkaroon ng halalan noong ika-9 ng Enero 1972 ng pinangangasiwaan ni G. Leynes, ay si G. Navarro, Jr. ang nahalal na Teniente del Barrio na tuloy na naging Barrio Kapitan bilang pagsunod sa Bagong Barrio Charter (RA No. 3590). Ang mga nna Konsehal ay sina: Conrado Baclig, Angelita Barnardo, Ireneo Daet, S. Ambrosio Martin at David Benavidez. Nahirang na kalihim ay si Virginia Baclig at Ingat-Yaman si Rustico Songcog.
     Nang iproklama ang Martial Law noong September 21, 1972, ang Kapitan ay tinawag na Barangay Captain, mga Baryo Konsehal ay Barangay Councilmen o Kagawad, Kalihim ng Barrio sa Barangay Secretary o Kalihim, Ingat-Yaman o Bangay Treasurer, at marami pang iba. Ang lahat ng ito ay bisa ng Presidnetial Decree No. 557. Nang isaayos ni dating Mayor Amoranto noong 1975 ang lahat na mga barangay sa Quezon City, alinsunod sa PD No. 86 at PD No. 86-A at ang dating mga baryo ay naging barangay sang-ayon din sa PD No. 557. Nagkaroon din ng pagbabago ang hangganan o boundaries ng mga barangay. Ipinadala ni Mayor Amoranto noong December 9, 1975 kay Jose Rono, at kinumpirmahan niya bilang Kalihim ng Dept. pf Local Government and Community Development ang Executive Order No. 25 to 36 noong February 6, 1976. Ang kaunting pagbabago sa boundary ng Barangay Sto. Cristo ay ang mga sumusunod : On the North-Culiat River, East-Palawan St., extending towards boundaryline; South-EDSA and North Ave., and West-Samar St. up to Culiat Creek.
     Noong Mayo 17, 1982 ay nagkaroon ng halalan ang mga barangay at dito’y muling nahalal na Punong Barangay si G. Pedro Navarro, Jr., at kasama niyang nahalal bilang mga Kagawad sina Conrado Baclig, Celedonio Escano, Jr. Alicia Saludez, Florentino Tan, Eduardo Barnabe at Ireneo Daet. Muling nahirang na Kalihim si Virginia Daet at Alicia Valerio bilang Ingat-Yaman. Hanggang sa dumating ang “EDSA Revolution” noong February 25, 1986 at si Bgy. Capt. Pedro Navarro, Jr. ay inalis sa tungkulin at ang ipinalit sa kanya ay si Dr. Enrique Dela Rosa, bilang OIC-Bgy. Capt. di naman nagtagal, umalis si Dr. Dela Rosa papuntang America. Ang humalili ay si Kagawad Conrado Baclig, bilang OIC-Bgy. Capt. at hinirang sina Rudy Asoy, Pablo Garcia at Bartolome Saludez bilang mga kagawad. Dahil sa kasipagan ay nagkasakit si Kagawad Ireneo Daet at namatay siya sa pagtupad sa tungkulin, noong Enero 31, 1988.
     Dumating ang halalan ng barangay noong March 28, 1989, kung saan ang lahat ng kandidato ay pawing mga kagawad at walang Kapitan. Ang nanguna sa nasabing halalan ay si Florentino Tan, kung kaya’t siya ang naproklamang Barangay Captain. Ang mga kasama niyang nahalal ay sina Rudy Ubales, Conrado Baclig, Bartolome Saludez, Ben Valerio, Pablo Garcia at Isidro Perez. Nang tumulak patungong America si Kapitan Tan noong October 12, 1992 ay gumanap bilang Bgy. Capt. Si Rudy Ubales. Hingi nagtagal at nag-resign si Kapitan Tan at nanumpa bilang bagong Bgy.Capt. si Rudy Ubales noong May 10, 1993. Maraming nagawa at marami pang ibang binalak na isakatuparan ang pinagtutulungan ng buong Konseho sa Barangay sa masigasig na pamumuno ni Kapitan Ubales sa ngayon. Ang pag-seminar ng mga naninirahan sa barangay sa “Cooperative” project. Sa katahimikan naman ay nabawasan naang mga nakawan at gumanda na ang kalagayan ng katahimikan ngayon sa Sto. Cristo at maunlad na adminstrasyon ni Mayor Ismael Mathay, Jr. Sa pagtatagumpay ng lahat ng ito ay dahil sa mga “civic organization” na tumutulong sa pag-unlad ng katahimikan tulad ng Palawan-Romblon Organization “87 (PRO ’87), ang sariling sikap at “Lakas Damayan ng Iloilo corner Pampanga Sts.” Lalo na ang mga regular at volunteer BSDO’s. Kaya’t ang lahat ng pagbabago ay tanda ng mga residente ng Barangay na may disiplina at pagkakaisa tungo sa ikauunlad ng Barangay Sto. Cristo.

CHAPTER 16

QUEZON CITY LANDMARKS

     STO. DOMINGO

Sto. Domingo Church.

     The history of Sto. Domingo is always connected with Tatalon Estate. After the end of the second World War, there was a rapid increase of population in Quezon City, and the 2 barrio became the ideal place of settlement of people from different areas in Manila and the suburbs. In 1961, an Ordinance No. 61-4762 was enacted, and Matalahib became a barrio through the help of then Councilor Carlos Albert & Rolly Villacorte. The term barrios changed to barangay in 1974, pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 557. Antonio Mercader assumed office as Teniente del Barrio after which to Kapitan del Barrio who served Barrio Matalahib for 20 years. After is demise, the late Alicia Vergel, a moview actress was appointed and took over as the Barangay Captain. In the first Barangay Election 1982, she was elected as Barangay Captain and thru her initiative, the name of Matalahib was changed to Sto. Domingo, in honor of the patron saint of the barangay St. Dominic, due to her untimely death on 1992, the first kagawad, Jose Valdez took over and assumed position as Barangay Captain up to present.
     The church was inaugurated on Sunday, October 10, 1954 at Quezon Boulevard Extension. The sixth of its kind since 1587, when the first Dominican Church (of wood) was constructed on the South Bank of the Pasig River; its cost three million pesos. It’s tower soars to about 114 feet to the skies. The church was blessed with the Most Holy Reverend Rufino J. Santos, Archbishop of Manila, officiating. The solemn event was attended by about 500,000 devotees, most of whom stayed in the church all day to wait for the celebrated La Naval de Manila procession, during which the image of the lovingly revered Nuestra Señora de Santissimo Rosario was transferred from the Santissimo Rosario Church in the University of Sto. Tomas. It had been kept with great fondness in UST, after its former home, the Santo Domingo Church in Intramuros was bombed by the Japanese in December 1941.
     Architectural Design of Sto. Domingo
     The Sunday Time Magazine, on October 17, 1954, described the Massive New Dominican Shrine. “The solid looking Mass of Concrete Cut along Spanish Colonial and Modern lines of the new Church is completely different from the Gothic lines of the Old Church. Where delicate filigree works crown the latter, simple straight lines mark the roof of the former. In place of the ornate Greco-Roman windows designed by Don Felix Roxas in 1864, the new building has long windows placed by Architect Jose Zaragoza, with an eye for effective ventilation where brick and wood graced the old, mosaic stones, glass and pre-cost ornaments are used to beautify the exterior of the new. Broader, taller and longer, the new speaks of a wider-spread religious devotion and a more intensive faith in the face of war and rumors of war”.
     According to father Augusto Antonio, O.P. one of the most dearly respected Dominicans who has been one of the most directly involved in the La Nava celebrations through the years he says that only the best Filipino artists were commissioned to do the magnificent art pieces in the Church. Galo Ocampo, noted painter, made the designs of the attractive stained glass windows, which were executed by Krant Art – Glass Neon; Carlos V. Francisco, fondly called Botong painted the eight panels under the cupola, which depicts the life of St. Dominic, Founder of the Order of Preachers; while the paintings of the four Evangeline’s, just above the Francisco murals, were done by Antonio Damask. The crucifixion done in wood at the altar was made by the celebrated Pampango sculptor, Nepomuceno, and the picture of St. Dominic behind the altar is up to this day, the largest mosaic in the Philippines unknown to many. One of the most precious treasures of the Church, aside from the incalculably valuable image of the Nuestra Señora de “La Naval” and her jewels is the bronze tabernacle with exquisite sculpture inside and outside, and decorated with semi-precious stones. It weighs more than a ton and was made in Spain. Archbishop Santos donated it to the shrine.
     The La Naval celebration in this new church became Quezon City’s most popular feast; the Quezon City Council adopted resolution No.9645-S73 enacted on August 21, 1973, which adopted our Lady Queen of the most Holy Rosary of “La Naval” as the patroness of the Quezon City. The adoption was subsequently approved by the Vatican HISTORY OF OUR LADY QUEEN of the most Holy Rosary of “La Naval”.
     The ivory image of Our Lady, was a gift of Governor Luis Perez Dasmariñas in 1595.
     Before World War II, the Sto. Domingo was located in Intramuros and it was there that the ivory image of Our Lady was enshrined. Before the ivory image of Our Lady was donated by Governor Dasmariñas in 1595, a wooden image has been brought to the church by a group of Dominican Missionaries. This was installed atop of the façade of Sto. Domingo Church in Intramuros and remained exposed until it perished together with the entire building when it was hit by Japanese bombs during the early of the war in December 1941. But the ivory image inside the church was miraculously saved for future generations of Filipinos who now consider it a precious treasure of their faith.
     General Douglas McArthur though not a Catholic, had gone several times to the Sto. Domingo Church at its old site in Intramuros before the war to see the venerable image of the Blessed Virgin. He knew it’s history and how it had inspired battle cries that he adopted, therefore was “REMEMBER STO. DOMINGO”.

     MABUHAY ROTONDA

Mabuhay Rotonda

     The gateway to Quezon City and Manila was designed in 1948 by City Arch. Luciano V. Aquino in the Office of then Mayor Ponciano Bernardo.

     ARANETA COLISEUM

Araneta Colliseum

     Recognized as the world’s biggest domed coliseum with a seating capacity of 36,000, it has witnessed renowned international events like the Ali-Frazier title fight in October 1975, the Holiday on ice and Miss Asia Quest.

     ANDRES BONIFACIO MONUMENT

     The Bonifacio Monument stands just a stone’s throw away from the cloverleaf bridge in BAlintawak. It was on this spot where the great Plebeian Launched the Philippine Revolution against the Spaniards in 1896. On August 23, 1896 in Barrio Pugad Lawin and Balintawak, Andres Bonifacio, Founder of the KAtipunan tore his cedula, a sign of his opposition to the Spanish administration that started the fight between the Filipinos and the Spaniards. The uprising was called the “Cry of Balintawak”.

     UNIVERSITY OF THE PHILIPINES

University of the Philippines

     The state-owned University of the Philippines, the country’s institute of higher learning and considered the finest in the Far East, is found in Diliman, Quezon City sprawled over a 450 hectare site. In the Above photo, the “oblation” a stone “statue” of a naked man which speaks of mankind’s thirst for knowledge,” is an imposing edifice in front of the Administration Building. Many of the country’s top professional, Business and political leaders, including President Marcos are graduates of the University.
     BERNARDO PARK
     Bernardo Park was conceptualized by Mayor Bernardo like what he had done in Burnham Park when he was working in Baguio as City Engineer. He conceptualized the park to have a skating rink, an artificial lagoon, a zoo, and other features that could give the residents of Quezon City even more than what the Monument could offer in the Luneta. An appropriation of P19,000.00 was given to the building of this park which was carved out of a hill; and which now bears Mayor Bernardo’s name. The design of it was a work of an 18-year-old but capable UST Architecture student who had attracted Mayor Bernardo’s attention in the City Engineer’s Office. The young Man’s name was Luciano Aquino; he would be working in Quezon City through all the ensuing years and he was soon to be Architect.
     The Park was inaugurated on February 19, 1948.

     ATOMIC REACTOR

Philippine Nuclear Reseach Institute

     The igloo-shaped reactor symbolizes the Philippines entry into Atomic age. It is the only one of its kind in the country. It is located at the Philippines Atomic Energy Commission along Commonwealth Avenue, near the University of the Philippines. The Philippine reactor was one megawatt called a “baryde” or “swimming pool” type and was the kind known for safety, simplicity and versatility. The P2 million-reactor was acquired from the United States in a bilateral agreement signed on July 27, 1955. It would be administered and operated by the Philippine Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC). According to its Commission Col. Francisco Medina, assured the public that “no harmful radio-active wastes of gases will be emitted by the reactor. All liquids, gases, and other elements produced in the reactor site are properly monitored and altered before being disposed of. Contrary to popular belief, the reactor will not produce heat energy for the manufacture of electricity, much less is it capable of producing atomic bombs.
     With the reactor, Filipino Atomic Scientists would be able to do researches in the fields of agriculture – “ears of corn as long as a man’s arm and as thick as his legs, triple and full harvest and rice lands – to be able to produce cheaper drugs and medicines in engineering to find better and cheaper ways of building and lasting homes and edifices; and to the physical sceneries – opportunity for the native talents to gain world reknown.”

     OBLATION

Oblation

     Complete cost 267.3 x 500.3 x 321.3 cm Guillermo Tolentino Administration Building, University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman, Quezon City.
     The oblation is a reproduction cast by Tolentino himself in 1958 from his original which stands at the lobby of the third floor of the UP Main Building.
     This shows a standing nude male figure looking up to heaven with arms outstretched. Following the classical canon of proportions, the total height of the figure is equal to eight times its head. The sculpture, however, is more romantic than classical and sensibility.
     The outreached pose and full nakedness of the figure symbolizes a fervent and unprejudiced pursuit of truth and knowledge while the complete offering of youth to country is seen in the strained up tilt of the head and taut ripple of muscles in the arms and torso, giving expression to Padre Florentino’s apostrophe to the youth in Rizal’s El Filibusterismo (subersion) “where are the youth who will generously pour out their blood to wash away so much shame, so much crime so much abomination. Pure and spotless must the victim be that the sacrifice may be acceptable.
     A spray of kataka leaves at the foot of the figure also stands for heroic self-sacrifice.
     AMORANTO STADIUM
     This athletic stadium was constructed on a 5.8 hectares government owned site along Roces Avenue. The complex consists of a grandstand, and eight-lane track and field oval, bleachers and a gymnasium. It was built at a cost of P2milion. It was inaugurated in 1966 by then President Ferdinand E. Marcos, and since then its had been the scene of many important national and city-wide athletic events.
     The stadium was named after Mayor Norberto S. Amoranto.

     LUNG CENTER OF THE PHILIPPINES

Lung Center of the Philippines>

     Located along Quezon Avenue. It was inaugurated on January 23, 1982. The hospital provides special care for lung diseases.

     NATIONAL KIDNEY INSTITUTE

National Kidney and Transplant Institute

     (Formerly National Kidney Foundation of the Philippines) inaugurated on January 16, 1981, it became the National Kidney Institute in November 1986. The hospital houses modern equipment and facilities for kidney and pancreas transplants. It is also located along East Avenue, near the Lung Center of the Philippines.

     NINOY AQUINO PARKS and WILDLIFE CENTER

Quezon Ave. Entrance

     Formerly Parks and Wildlife, the park was constructed on July 5, 1954 in 80 hectare woodland best for family gatherings complete with a children’s playground and man-made lagoon for boating. The park boasts of its various specimens of the country’s fauna and flora with its famous monkey-eating eagle. On March 1986, the government named the park after the late Senator Benigno S. Aquino.

     SAN PEDRO BAUTISTA CHURCH
     The second oldest church in the country, this was built in 1699 and was renovated in 1932. It is located in San Francisco Del Monte. The church was named after Father Pedro Bautista who was canonized and buried inside the church. Parts of the old altar still exist.

     SOCIAL SECURITY SYSTEM

Social Security System

     The Social Security System is to private employees what the Government Service Insurance System is to government personnel. Its building in East Avenue, Quezon City is visited by thousands everyday following up claims for benefits offered by the System.
     BARRIO BANLAT
     The birthplace of Tandang Sora (Melchora Aquino) on January 6, 1812, mother of the Katipunan and official heroine of Quezon City.
     HIMLAYANG PILIPINO
     The place where bones of bones of Tandang Sora were transferred and buried as a tribute to the heroine of Quezon City.
     MENTAL HEALTH CENTER
     The Philppine Mental Health Association Building is located along East Avenue, Quezon City. The PMHA pioneered the nationwide movement in fostering and promoting mental health activities. The Association has pursued this activity relentlessly since 1950. it instituted the first Community Mental Health Clinic in the country which offered free services to the general public. It also pioneered in the rehabilitation of the mentally ill.
     QUIRINO MONUMENT
     Located at Anonas Street in front of Quirino Elementary School, the father of the Low Housing Project for government low salaried employees in 1950 Projects 2, 3 and 4 in this district of Quezon City.
     LA LOMA COCKPIT
     The La Loma Cockpit is one of the biggest and possibly one of the oldest in the country. Founded in 1903 by Don Tomas Gulson, the establishment is being supervised up to the present by the Gulson heirs. It is the site of cockfighting every Sunday and holiday. Tourists and foreign visitors complete the sojourn in the Philippine when they are able to witness one of the typical native sports, locally known as sabong (cockfighting).

     QUEZON MEMORIAL CIRCLE

Quezon Memorial Circle

     Rising more than a hundred feet to the sky and towering in the 27 hectare rotunda park, the Quezon City obelisk at Quezon Memorial Circle is the City’s famous landmark. This imposing memorial to a great man, the late President Manuel L. Quezon, has been the site of the historic mass official led by His Holiness Pope VI on November 27, 1970. The three angel status perched at the pylons represent Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.
     QUEZON CITY MUSEUM
     Satiated at the base stricture of the Quezon Monument also known as Quezon Memorial Shrine where a precious collection of Quezon memorabilia covering epochal periods in the life of its founder and the evolution of the City.
     KRUS NA LIGAS CHAPEL
     Krus Na Ligas is situated on the southwestern skirt of the University of the Philippines. Its most important landmark and chief point of local interest is the bisita or small chapel located at the plaza which is the center of the (barrio) barangay.
     The bisita of the barangay is a 200-year old chapel build o flimestone, hard wood and galvanized iron. Old residents of the place claim that the barrio people themselves took turn in building it. The exact spot on which the bisita is now ground is supposed to be the place where a big tree called ligas grew and its branches formed the shape of a cross. Hence, the barrio became known as Krus Na Ligas.

     BATASANG PAMBANSA

House of Representatives

     Now the seat of the House of Representative, the building which was completely finished in March 1978, stands on Batasan Hills with its breathtaking backdrop of mountains and valleys.

     CENTRAL BANK OF THE PHILIPPINES

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

     The complex, composed of five inter-connected buildings has an approximate floor area of 62,210 sq.m. build along East Ave., with a total land area of 57,300 sq.m. The Security Plant Complex consists of the security Printing Plan, Mint and Gold Refinery, and office of the General Services; It was inaugurated on September 7, 1978.
     CLOVERLEAF MARKET
     Located in Balintawak, the gateway to Metro Manila from the North, the cloverleaf or the Balintawak Transmission Complex was believed to be the site of the “First Cry of Balintawak. The celebrated Bonifacio Monument temporarily stood at the UP Campus until returned to Pugad Lawin upon completion of the construction of the north diversion road.

     FARMERS MARKET

Farmer's Market

     One of the biggest markets in the City found within the vicinity of Araneta Center the plaza was razed by fire in 1986 and was later reconstructed and is currently in operation.

     OUR LADY OF EDSA SHRINE

Our Lady of EDSA Shrine

     Built by a greatfull Filipino people in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary for her protection and guidance during the people power EDSA Revolution. It is located at the corner of EDSA and Ortigas Avenue.

     BALARA PARK FILTER PLANT

Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System

     The Balara complex is a combination of offices, employees housing, park with swimming pools, and filter plant for the water supply of the Metro Manila. It is located along Katipunan Road.

     INC CENTRAL (IGLESIA NI CRISTO)

Iglesia ni Cristo Central Temple

     The main headquarters of the Iglesia ni Cristo, the biggest non-Catholic religious group in the Country. The sect holds its rites in the national language and promotes membership assistance to one another. INC Central is situated along Commonwealth Avenue.

 
QC Flag

Quezon City Government
 www.quezoncity.gov.ph